Customer Reviews


18 Reviews
5 star:
 (16)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


34 of 35 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent verse and illustration - a bargain buy
This is an imaginative and entertaining children's book. For those already familiar with this or any of the other Moomintroll books, this edition is also beautifully produced. The text is in the form of rhyming poetry, which has been newly re-composed in English by Sophie Hannah from a literal translation. This verse and the pictures have held my 5-year old son...
Published on 12 Oct. 2001 by caradocp@aol.com

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars
Love the illustrations but the book is printed on really thin paper so feels a bit cheap...
Published 4 months ago by Jana


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

34 of 35 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent verse and illustration - a bargain buy, 12 Oct. 2001
This review is from: The Book About Moomin, Mymble and Little My (Hardcover)
This is an imaginative and entertaining children's book. For those already familiar with this or any of the other Moomintroll books, this edition is also beautifully produced. The text is in the form of rhyming poetry, which has been newly re-composed in English by Sophie Hannah from a literal translation. This verse and the pictures have held my 5-year old son enthralled, and he frequently asks to have it read to him again and again. This is a bargain purchase that does not simply rely on the cult status of the Moomintrolls!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars favourite all time, 14 Sept. 2006
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Book About Moomin, Mymble and Little My (Hardcover)
When i was little i probably read this 1000 times and never got tired.

It's fun trying to work out what is going to be on the next page as each page has a small cutout bit where you can view the next. Done very cleverly.

Have always loved the moomins and this is one of the best kids books about them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Look through the holes, 24 Nov. 2001
By 
This review is from: The Book About Moomin, Mymble and Little My (Hardcover)
The thing that I like best about this book is that it has holes cut in each page so that you get a look at what's to come. But it is done in such a way that it's as if you are peering through trees in the woods. Nothing is out of place. Apart from the magic of Tove, the shaped pages give this book something really special.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


28 of 30 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lovely tale of friendship and adventure, 21 Aug. 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: The Book About Moomin, Mymble and Little My (Hardcover)
When Moomin and Mymble get lost in the woods looking for Mymbles little sister My, they meet both scary and wonderful adventures. In Tove Jansson's world one can easily be eaten up by a vacuum cleaner but after an exciting day you'll be sure to be drinking juice on a sunny porch, surrounded by friends and the family Moomin. The books original titel, "What happened next?" describes the world of Moominland: there you are always eager to find out what is hidden behind the next tree or bush. And even if at times you are a bit lost or even scared (look out for that big Hemul!) you'll always have your friends with you to share the excitement with. This is truly a classical childrens book, filled with all those wonderful feelings connected with childhood that one has almost forgotten as an adult!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Marvellous Moomin, 22 April 2003
This review is from: The Book About Moomin, Mymble and Little My (Hardcover)
A truly beautifully designed, written and die-cut book that amuses my 19-month-old son as much as it does us - the rhymes are brilliantly translated, quirky and flow fantastically when read aloud; and the illustrations have a gorgeous, graphic feel. Aesthetically and aurally, this has got to be my number one children's book of all times.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It's a children's book for an adult audience!, 14 Nov. 1998
By A Customer
Having grown up in Scandinavia this was one of the first books I ever read, and I have read it many times since. It is a poetic wonderfully bizarre book, and when you read it along with the rest of Tove Jansson's books you realize that her magical world of mumins isn't really all that different from the one we live in. Best of all, Tove Jansson opens a window to the reader's soul in her writing, and you recognize yourself in her books.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars quirky and original, 9 Mar. 2009
By 
This review is from: The Book About Moomin, Mymble and Little My (Hardcover)
My girls found this book quirky and unusual if a little spooky but it kind of grows on them. It is fun because the pages are cut away or have holes in them so it is interactive. It makes a refreshing change to the quite dull English picture books that you dread your child wanting you to read so that you hide them under the bed!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Georgeous book, 8 Aug. 2010
By 
S Riaz "S Riaz" (England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 10 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Book About Moomin, Mymble and Little My (Hardcover)
This has a wonderful retro feel to it. Very nicely produced and good quality. Although, in essence, a picture book, it is for the slightly older child - or those with a good attention span, as the story is fairly long. That is not a criticism though, just be aware that if you have a younger child (below 3) there are some nice new picture books which might be a more suitable introduction. For over three's though, this is lovely addition to the bookshelves.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Better than ever, 15 May 2011
This review is from: The Book About Moomin, Mymble and Little My (Hardcover)
I loved this book when I was a child. It is a Moomin classic with just the right mix of magic, beauty, danger and adventure. I would spend hours soaking in the details of the drawings. It is important to know about rivers that run with cherry juice and how to avoid being electrocuted by certain creatures when you are 3.

50 years on, I bought it again and presented it to a six and an eight year old. I told them it was going to be brilliant and wondered it it really would have stood the test of time. It turned out to be even better. It was great to see these children pouring over it, even though this inevitably turned into a fight. I could have said squabble, but it was worse than that. It is a really lovely book and should be standard issue for everybody over 1.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A charming introduction to the characters of Moomin Valley, 17 Aug. 1998
By A Customer
I discovered the Moomins in adulthood. They lack the saccharine, must-teach-a-lesson, dreariness of other childrens' books. With its many die-cut pages, this book is a sort of anti-pop-up book. It is artistic and charming and provides just a taste of the wackiness that goes on in Moomin Valley. My only quibble is that if truly meant for children (and perhaps it is not) the book's construction will lead to immediate destruction with the first sticky-fingered read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Book About Moomin, Mymble and Little My
The Book About Moomin, Mymble and Little My by Sophie Hannah (Hardcover - 14 Sept. 2005)
£9.98
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews