Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


20 of 21 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Nice little booklet
Frogs, cows, bunnies, ducks, kittens, cats, hedgehogs... Very detailed instuctions on making the caracters but do not expect suggestions on actual cake making (the title is clear after all!!) use of modelling tools explained clearly. 4 examples of finished cakes using some of the caracthers so once instructions are given on how to make the caracter itself let your...
Published on 11 Dec. 2007 by Irene Gabellone

versus
10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Too many plugs for one particular supplier
I purchased this book to give my children (ages 7 and 8) and I some ideas on things to make with marzipan. The designs in the book are a little difficult for them at present. I found more value in just looking at the photos of marzipan creations brought up by doing a google search.
One of the things that iritated me about the book was the frequent plugs for one...
Published on 19 Oct. 2009 by Richard


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

20 of 21 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Nice little booklet, 11 Dec. 2007
By 
Irene Gabellone "Eneri" (Italy) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Marzipan Magic: Animal Modelling Made Easy (Paperback)
Frogs, cows, bunnies, ducks, kittens, cats, hedgehogs... Very detailed instuctions on making the caracters but do not expect suggestions on actual cake making (the title is clear after all!!) use of modelling tools explained clearly. 4 examples of finished cakes using some of the caracthers so once instructions are given on how to make the caracter itself let your imagination take advantage to create beautiful and sweet cakes. It's a good starting point for modelling. Recommended
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great Reference Book, 12 Aug. 2008
This review is from: Marzipan Magic: Animal Modelling Made Easy (Paperback)
I make cakes for a living and own all of Maisie's books. This is a little paperback which I find a great reference source if I just need to pop a few cows or a cheeky sheep or duck on a cake. Recommended one for the book shelf which will come in handy for years.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Marzipan Magic is just that!!, 2 April 2009
By 
Amazon Customer (St.Helens England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Marzipan Magic: Animal Modelling Made Easy (Paperback)
I am new to cake decorating due to my little boy having an allergy to milk i can only use powdered,sterilized or dairy free ingredients and he cannot have shop bought cakes and biscuits. he is only 3 years old and i have to make him a birthday cake in August. I bought this book because of the price and modelling ideas. I made my own marzipan first time and the results were drastic, however i added more almond to the mix and i was astonished at how easy the book was to follow and the end result quite impressive for a novice. it has inspired me to purchase more books and i even found the fireman sam cake my son had asked for but this book has definately earned its place on my cook book shelf.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Marzipan Magic, 30 Jan. 2010
By 
Mrs. L. Ramsey (Essex, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Marzipan Magic: Animal Modelling Made Easy (Paperback)
EXCELLENT book for for the beginner and the more experienced. Easy to follow, beautifully illustrated. Some lovely ideas which you can also mix and match for different celebrations. Small book containing everything you need to know - doesn't take up any valuable kitchen space! 11 out of 10 !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Marzipan Magic, 8 Dec. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Marzipan Magic: Animal Modelling Made Easy (Paperback)
Lovely models, easy for beginners and more advanced. Pity that the book does not point out that Sugar Fondant can be used just as well as Marzipan. I would recommend this book to anyone wanting to start modelling for cakes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Too many plugs for one particular supplier, 19 Oct. 2009
By 
Richard (Twickenham, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Marzipan Magic: Animal Modelling Made Easy (Paperback)
I purchased this book to give my children (ages 7 and 8) and I some ideas on things to make with marzipan. The designs in the book are a little difficult for them at present. I found more value in just looking at the photos of marzipan creations brought up by doing a google search.
One of the things that iritated me about the book was the frequent plugs for one particular supplier. It made me question the impartiality of the author.
It's also quite a small book. I was expecting something a little larger.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fun and easy, 21 Jan. 2009
By 
Ms. E. Allion "Just a girl" (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Marzipan Magic: Animal Modelling Made Easy (Paperback)
It is a very straightforward book. Nice and easy to follow. Great to use with kids too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Marzipan Magic, not so good, 30 Mar. 2010
By 
N. J. Clark (uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Marzipan Magic: Animal Modelling Made Easy (Paperback)
I bought an item on Amazon and this popped up as a requently bought item. I usually look at the reviews before buying but on this occasion the cover caught my eye so I went with it.

Very very disappointed. The book is very small, there is a lot of written instruction but not a lot to go on for making the animals. There is also a huge amount of other equipment plugged in the book and used so you can't really just get on with the modelling either.

I wouldn't recommend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great book, 16 Jun. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Marzipan Magic: Animal Modelling Made Easy (Paperback)
easy to follow instructions with really good results I have made several cakes with animals on and I would recommend this book to anybody
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 19 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Marzipan Magic: Animal Modelling Made Easy (Paperback)
Great book, enjoyed it from cover to cover. So much to see and make, just what I needed in my collection
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Marzipan Magic: Animal Modelling Made Easy
Marzipan Magic: Animal Modelling Made Easy by Maisie Parrish (Paperback - 30 Oct. 2003)
£6.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews