Shop now Shop now Shop now Up to 70% off Fashion Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Amazon Fire TV Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen in Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars74
4.8 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 10 August 2008
I can only agree with the previous reviewers. This modestly priced guide is also an outstanding work and a spin off from the excellent 'Field Guide to Moths...' by the same authors.

There are over 20,000 species of insect in the UK and over 2000 are moths. Not surprisingly, many books cover only selected species (and try to conceal this shortcoming) leaving one wondering if they are going to give a reliable identification. This book gets as close as one can to covering all the bases, as it has all the 'macro' moths (about 900 species, generally 1cm-2cm long and upwards).

The images are so much clearer in this book than those I remember from years ago (e.g. Richard South's two volume 'Moths of the British Isles'). These are hand drawn and coloured, which is superior to photography, where lighting can make species look different between the eye and the camera. Moreover, they mostly show the moths in their resting pose, as one would find them in the field, rather than in 'display case mode'; killed then spreadeagled with a pin stuck through them.

My only criticism is trivial. One assumes that most illustrations are meant to be life size , and the occasional image is marked as magnified, but this is not made awfully clear in the book. The necessarily terse text entries do give forewing length; well that's what I think it means because the abbreviation 'FW' is not explained either, as far as I can tell.

For good measure, the publishers have finished this book with a waterproof cover and wire ring binding. It is nice to see such care going into a useful book. There's absolutely nothing to match it for the price (or several times the price for that matter). Even if you don't want to go out moth spotting just leafing through the beautiful illustrations is joy enough.
0Comment74 of 74 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 September 2007
For those who do not already own the superb field guide, here is a portable (and cheaper!) ring-bound version consisting of the original plates together with their brief facing text. In fact, this version includes one additional species. Covers almost all c900 species of "macro" moth of Britain and Ireland. The plates are quite simply stunning - not just for their wealth of observed detail, but also because of their intrinsic beauty.

I still prefer to have the original version, but I can imagine that this ring-bound edition will be very popular.

Chris Sharpe, 26 September 2007. ISBN: 0953139964
0Comment30 of 30 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 August 2009
Concise Guide to the Moths of Great Britain and Ireland
I love photographing butterflies and moths, but am very poor at identifying them. I wanted a book that allowed me to look up all the moths I might see in Britain and have a chance of finding the correct one. This book does that better than any other I have heard of. In addition I can get basic information about any moth identified.
Being spiral bound, it is very easy to turn to the page you require.
The book seems excellent value and does what I want it to do.
0Comment15 of 15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 October 2009
The Field Guide to Moths of Great Britain
and Ireland is essential for moth enthusiasts
but a little heavy to cart around.
The Concise Guide is a third the size whilst
retaining most of the useful information with
an excellent layout.
Highly recommended......
0Comment9 of 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 August 2010
I already had Michael Chinnery's Collins Field Guide to insects, which is a great starting place for anyone interested in insects and gives a small selection of moths. The Townsend Field Guide to Moths has beutifully illustrated images and very clear notes on all UK macro-species, distribution and distinguishing marks and species comparisons. It's slimline form and plastic cover makes it very easy for field use and I have been using it weekly to identify the moths locally. Its a great hobby and I reccomend this book highly.
0Comment6 of 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 August 2010
I've had them all - South's 2 volumes,Skinner - this is the best.
Clear illustrations of moths as we see them not pegged on a board.The price is fantastic compared with the original Field Guide of 2003 and the wiro binding makes turning the pages so much easier. If you are looking for a field guide you won't do better than this.
0Comment7 of 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 October 2009
Have found this book really practical for the identification of moths. Particularly like the pictures in resting positions, and the simple way of checking Habitat and Flying Season.
0Comment8 of 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 August 2010
We have the more detailed book by the same Authors but this one has the pictures and text on the same 'spread' which makes it much easier to work with
0Comment8 of 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 July 2010
This is a very comprehensive and easy to use guide for both the beginner and the expert. I was "hooked" by a visit to an insect day and this book was on show - illustrations are clear and beautifully painted, and its spiral bound format makes it lie flat when in use. A very good buy.
0Comment4 of 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 October 2011
As an amateur wildlife photographer I needed a reference source so that I could identify moths that I had photographed. After discussion with a local expert, this was the book that she recommended to cover the majority of the moths that I was likely to photograph. An excellent choice!!
0Comment3 of 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse