Customer Reviews


62 Reviews
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


70 of 70 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Comprehensive, beautifully illustrated and modestly priced
I can only agree with the previous reviewers. This modestly priced guide is also an outstanding work and a spin off from the excellent 'Field Guide to Moths...' by the same authors.

There are over 20,000 species of insect in the UK and over 2000 are moths. Not surprisingly, many books cover only selected species (and try to conceal this shortcoming) leaving one...
Published on 10 Aug. 2008 by Dr. Keith A. Moseley

versus
11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Nice book but ...
I'm clearly bucking a trend given all the 5-star reviews. This must be very personal but, every time I (try) to open this book to attempt to match a photograph of a moth, the spiral binding drives me nuts. My experience is that, unless you are in the centre of the book, the pages snag and it doesn't open well. So much so that I fear for its longevity. The spiral binding...
Published on 7 May 2011 by J. Curd


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

70 of 70 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Comprehensive, beautifully illustrated and modestly priced, 10 Aug. 2008
By 
Dr. Keith A. Moseley (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Concise Guide to the Moths of Great Britain and Ireland (Spiral-bound)
I can only agree with the previous reviewers. This modestly priced guide is also an outstanding work and a spin off from the excellent 'Field Guide to Moths...' by the same authors.

There are over 20,000 species of insect in the UK and over 2000 are moths. Not surprisingly, many books cover only selected species (and try to conceal this shortcoming) leaving one wondering if they are going to give a reliable identification. This book gets as close as one can to covering all the bases, as it has all the 'macro' moths (about 900 species, generally 1cm-2cm long and upwards).

The images are so much clearer in this book than those I remember from years ago (e.g. Richard South's two volume 'Moths of the British Isles'). These are hand drawn and coloured, which is superior to photography, where lighting can make species look different between the eye and the camera. Moreover, they mostly show the moths in their resting pose, as one would find them in the field, rather than in 'display case mode'; killed then spreadeagled with a pin stuck through them.

My only criticism is trivial. One assumes that most illustrations are meant to be life size , and the occasional image is marked as magnified, but this is not made awfully clear in the book. The necessarily terse text entries do give forewing length; well that's what I think it means because the abbreviation 'FW' is not explained either, as far as I can tell.

For good measure, the publishers have finished this book with a waterproof cover and wire ring binding. It is nice to see such care going into a useful book. There's absolutely nothing to match it for the price (or several times the price for that matter). Even if you don't want to go out moth spotting just leafing through the beautiful illustrations is joy enough.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


27 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The plates from the standard field guide to British moths, 26 Sept. 2007
By 
Christopher J. Sharpe "Chris Sharpe" (Caracas, Venezuela) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Concise Guide to the Moths of Great Britain and Ireland (Spiral-bound)
For those who do not already own the superb field guide, here is a portable (and cheaper!) ring-bound version consisting of the original plates together with their brief facing text. In fact, this version includes one additional species. Covers almost all c900 species of "macro" moth of Britain and Ireland. The plates are quite simply stunning - not just for their wealth of observed detail, but also because of their intrinsic beauty.

I still prefer to have the original version, but I can imagine that this ring-bound edition will be very popular.

Chris Sharpe, 26 September 2007. ISBN: 0953139964
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beginners view, 19 Aug. 2009
By 
L. Catchick (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Concise Guide to the Moths of Great Britain and Ireland (Spiral-bound)
Concise Guide to the Moths of Great Britain and Ireland
I love photographing butterflies and moths, but am very poor at identifying them. I wanted a book that allowed me to look up all the moths I might see in Britain and have a chance of finding the correct one. This book does that better than any other I have heard of. In addition I can get basic information about any moth identified.
Being spiral bound, it is very easy to turn to the page you require.
The book seems excellent value and does what I want it to do.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Essential Guide for Lepidopterists, 26 Oct. 2009
By 
C. Fletcher - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Concise Guide to the Moths of Great Britain and Ireland (Spiral-bound)
The Field Guide to Moths of Great Britain
and Ireland is essential for moth enthusiasts
but a little heavy to cart around.
The Concise Guide is a third the size whilst
retaining most of the useful information with
an excellent layout.
Highly recommended......
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars brilliant, 1 Aug. 2010
By 
mothman (pembrokeshire) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Concise Guide to the Moths of Great Britain and Ireland (Spiral-bound)
I've had them all - South's 2 volumes,Skinner - this is the best.
Clear illustrations of moths as we see them not pegged on a board.The price is fantastic compared with the original Field Guide of 2003 and the wiro binding makes turning the pages so much easier. If you are looking for a field guide you won't do better than this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great for beginners, 12 Aug. 2010
This review is from: Concise Guide to the Moths of Great Britain and Ireland (Spiral-bound)
I already had Michael Chinnery's Collins Field Guide to insects, which is a great starting place for anyone interested in insects and gives a small selection of moths. The Townsend Field Guide to Moths has beutifully illustrated images and very clear notes on all UK macro-species, distribution and distinguishing marks and species comparisons. It's slimline form and plastic cover makes it very easy for field use and I have been using it weekly to identify the moths locally. Its a great hobby and I reccomend this book highly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars short cut to moths, 7 Aug. 2010
By 
Mrs. M. S. Scattergood "Sheelagh" (cumbria UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Concise Guide to the Moths of Great Britain and Ireland (Spiral-bound)
We have the more detailed book by the same Authors but this one has the pictures and text on the same 'spread' which makes it much easier to work with
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Really Excellent Book, 20 Oct. 2009
This review is from: Concise Guide to the Moths of Great Britain and Ireland (Spiral-bound)
Have found this book really practical for the identification of moths. Particularly like the pictures in resting positions, and the simple way of checking Habitat and Flying Season.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautifully illustrated and easy to use, 29 July 2010
By 
Mrs. S. L. Clarke "Sue Clarke" (Derbyshire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Concise Guide to the Moths of Great Britain and Ireland (Spiral-bound)
This is a very comprehensive and easy to use guide for both the beginner and the expert. I was "hooked" by a visit to an insect day and this book was on show - illustrations are clear and beautifully painted, and its spiral bound format makes it lie flat when in use. A very good buy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent reference source, 12 Oct. 2011
This review is from: Concise Guide to the Moths of Great Britain and Ireland (Spiral-bound)
As an amateur wildlife photographer I needed a reference source so that I could identify moths that I had photographed. After discussion with a local expert, this was the book that she recommended to cover the majority of the moths that I was likely to photograph. An excellent choice!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Concise Guide to the Moths of Great Britain and Ireland
Concise Guide to the Moths of Great Britain and Ireland by Paul Waring (Spiral-bound - 31 May 2007)
Used & New from: £130.15
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews