Customer Reviews


33 Reviews
5 star:
 (30)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


117 of 121 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great for Britain
In a short time, I've learnt to ID Britain's butterflies with only this book and a pair of close-focusing binoculars - it's all you need.

Lewington's illustrations (of all four life stages) are wonderful; that perfect marriage of science and art that makes such a field guide a thing of beauty as well as of use.

The supporting text, angled towards...
Published on 23 July 2006 by Andy

versus
0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Pocket guide to the Butterflies of Great Britain and Ireland
This pocket guide to the butterflies of Great Britain and Ireland is handy to carry around. The pictures and descriptions are good. Pity it has no photos.
Published 20 months ago by Brigg


Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lovely little book - very easy to follow, 9 Jan 2012
By 
Helen Prout "HelenP" (Dublin, Ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Pocket Guide to the Butterflies of Great Britain and Ireland (Paperback)
Great little book - with nice little drawings - making it very easy to distinguish different types of butterflies. One feature that I found particularly useful, is that they tell you what type of plants different butterflies prefer to feast on - making identification in my vegetable garden that much easier!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful Butterflies, 8 Jan 2012
This review is from: Pocket Guide to the Butterflies of Great Britain and Ireland (Paperback)
The book was very informative, with colour photographs and plenty of detail of the butterflies.
A gift for my daughter who was delighted.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Handy Reference of British Butterlies, 6 Sep 2011
By 
S. Baldwin (East Sussex, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Pocket Guide to the Butterflies of Great Britain and Ireland (Paperback)
This was the book recommended by experts accompanying us on a NT butterfly discovery walk. The book is a concise guide to all the varieties seen in Britain, leaving out the European ones not seen in the UK. For each type it shows life size colour views of M and F adults (both upper and under wing views), and egg, crysalis and caterpiller stages. It shows the locality and when you will see each of them. Nevertheless there are still around a hundred shown including a few daytime flying moths to aid in recognition.
The bewildering task of identification is considerably simplified with this book by allowing you to greatly reduce the list of possibilities depending on time of year, habitat and location. As a bonus there is an included loose-leaf sheet of illustrations if you don't want to take the book with you. Even if you don't want to go out looking for butterflies, this book will help you identify those you see in your garden or perhaps tell you which variety a chrysalis will develop into.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars butterfly book, 3 July 2011
This review is from: Pocket Guide to the Butterflies of Great Britain and Ireland (Paperback)
best butterfly book i have owned! for both amateur and expert this is a great guide to the butterflies of britain.
before i bought it i was worried about how good the drawings would be as they are not actual pictures however this has meant that they can clearly show every life stage and also can show the butterflies lifesize so as to better identify the insect.
great book!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Reference for Butterfly Lovers, 30 July 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Pocket Guide to the Butterflies of Great Britain and Ireland (Paperback)
I am delighted with this book as it is small enough to bring out in the field, it's illustrations are excellent, the information is concise and clear, easy for a lay person like me to understand. Well written and practical aid, great pointers to tell the difference between similiar species. Excellent reference for anyone interested in butterflies.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Pocket Guide to Butterflies, 22 Feb 2010
By 
Clifford Healey (Cleveland, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Pocket Guide to the Butterflies of Great Britain and Ireland (Paperback)
Superb book for identifying any species likely to be found on these shores (& Ireland)
Contains details of each species, showing the larvae & foodplant.
Ideal for carrying in a rucksack or camera bag whilst out in the field.
Will be my constant companion this summer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Pocket Guide to the Butterflies o Great Britain and Ireland Richard Lewington, 20 Aug 2009
By 
J. Harris (Warwickshire England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Pocket Guide to the Butterflies of Great Britain and Ireland (Paperback)
A smashing book and the book to buy even if you only have a passing interest in British Butterflies.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 1 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Pocket Guide to the Butterflies of Great Britain and Ireland (Paperback)
Just what we needed
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent little book., 7 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Pocket Guide to the Butterflies of Great Britain and Ireland (Paperback)
Covers all I need to know about Butterflies.Can easily be carried around.Plenty of detail all available on one pagor easy reference.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Pocket Guide to the Butterflies of Great Britain and Ireland, 6 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Pocket Guide to the Butterflies of Great Britain and Ireland (Paperback)
This is exactly what the title promises. It is an excellent field guide. My only criticism is the high price for such a small book. I realise that an awful lot of knowledge and skill has gone into it, but those attributes have been shared with other publications by Lewington.
I have not seen anything better on this subject and purpose.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Pocket Guide to the Butterflies of Great Britain and Ireland
Pocket Guide to the Butterflies of Great Britain and Ireland by Richard Lewington (Paperback - 1 Jun 2003)
9.95
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews