Customer Reviews


49 Reviews
5 star:
 (42)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


125 of 129 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great for Britain
In a short time, I've learnt to ID Britain's butterflies with only this book and a pair of close-focusing binoculars - it's all you need.

Lewington's illustrations (of all four life stages) are wonderful; that perfect marriage of science and art that makes such a field guide a thing of beauty as well as of use.

The supporting text, angled towards...
Published on 23 July 2006 by Andy

versus
0 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Pocket guide to the Butterflies of Great Britain and Ireland
This pocket guide to the butterflies of Great Britain and Ireland is handy to carry around. The pictures and descriptions are good. Pity it has no photos.
Published on 3 Nov. 2012 by Brigg


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

125 of 129 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great for Britain, 23 July 2006
This review is from: Pocket Guide to the Butterflies of Great Britain and Ireland (Paperback)
In a short time, I've learnt to ID Britain's butterflies with only this book and a pair of close-focusing binoculars - it's all you need.

Lewington's illustrations (of all four life stages) are wonderful; that perfect marriage of science and art that makes such a field guide a thing of beauty as well as of use.

The supporting text, angled towards finding and identifying, provides a good amount of information for a guide of this size.

Other butterfly guides are burdened by European butterflies (440) that you wont see on this island; this book contains just the UK species (59) making it's SO much easier to ID stuff.

The one-page-per-butterfly format works perfectly and includes a distribution map and a chart showing when each of the stages is active.

I own quite a few field guides that I use for Britain, but in a house fire, this would be the one I'd grab on the way out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


64 of 66 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A fantastic field guide, 13 April 2007
By 
Brida "izumi" (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Pocket Guide to the Butterflies of Great Britain and Ireland (Paperback)
I have only recently decided to take my interest in butterflies further by trying to learn more about them, and to attempt to identify them on sight alone. Because of this, I quickly started looking for a handy guide to the butterflies of Britain, and finally decided upon this one. I am glad I chose this as my beginning in discovering and learning more about these beautiful creatures.

The guide is put together very well. Each butterfly has 2 pages devoted to it. Information included about each butterfly consisits of a small map of Great Britain to show where the butterfly can be found, colour illustrations of both the male and the female, as well as showing the colours and markings of the underside of the wings, as well as details of what stage they are in during which months of the year.

At the beginning of the guide, the structure of a butterfly is descibed and illustrated, along with information about the life cycle.

The author has also explained the butterfly families, as each butterfly is to be found within their family group.

For a small book, this has lots of valuable information. I am sure that I shall quickly pick up the skills to identify them and that I shall soon be on the way to knowing more about them - their eating and mating habits for example.

Although I chose this guide so as to introduce me slowly to butterflies by just concentrating on my own country, it has certainly helped to even further my interest and want to learn more about butterflies throughout the world.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


37 of 38 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Can't fault it at all, 15 July 2009
By 
Andrew Campbell (London, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Pocket Guide to the Butterflies of Great Britain and Ireland (Paperback)
Speaking as a birdwatcher who started on insects one summer when all the birds were abroad, this book is excellent. The illustrations are clear for every stage of the lifecycle, the distribution maps are immensely useful and unlike the Collins, the number of butterflies isn't overwhelming. This guide concentrates on Great Britain and Ireland, and as a result it can afford to go into quite a bit of detail on each species while still being small enough to carry round as a field guide.

There are also a couple of useful sections on Rare Migrant/Extinct species, and the more common day-flying moths. The thing about insects is that there are millions of them and not many people watching, so there's always a chance you'll be the first to see something unexpected.

As a field guide generally, this is among the best I've ever owned. I've mentioned the illustrations, but there is a section at the start which explains the characteristics of the different families and gives you a bit of background. Very useful and very high quality. I have no fear that this will fall apart out in the field.

All in all, a very deserving 5/5. Would recommend to anyone as a book for both the field and the kitchen window sill.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Essential for British Butterfly ID, 21 Feb. 2010
By 
This review is from: Pocket Guide to the Butterflies of Great Britain and Ireland (Paperback)
Bought this book summer 2009 -- plenty of butterflies around. The great thing about this book is that it's not full of clutter! Butterflies are illustrated in life-size. Has good description and clear area of distribution. As it is for UK only, not too many species, and a nice slim book to carry in knapsack whilst walking. Well worth the moneyPocket Guide to the Butterflies of Great Britain and Ireland
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Just the right size, 17 Nov. 2009
By 
E. Rees "ex libris" (Penn, Bucks) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Pocket Guide to the Butterflies of Great Britain and Ireland (Paperback)
This is just what we were looking for. Just the right size for the pocket when out walking. Good colour illustrations and size indicators for the entire life cycle. Identifying one chrysalis on the day we received it, to have it confirmed within a few days when we watched the new butterfly take wing, was enough to get us going.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Comprehensive and genuinely fits your pocket!, 16 Dec. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Pocket Guide to the Butterflies of Great Britain and Ireland (Paperback)
For a highly informative guide with beautiful illustrations of larval stages, male and female butterflies, distribution maps and highly readable text you should look no further. I'm by no means an expert and this suited me perfectly. I daresay those more familiar through to fully fledged lepidopterists will find something here.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars review, 19 Jun. 2009
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Pocket Guide to the Butterflies of Great Britain and Ireland (Paperback)
Excellent butterfly book, if you are interested in the butterflies of Britain then this is for you!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautifully illustrated guide, 2 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Pocket Guide to the Butterflies of Great Britain and Ireland (Paperback)
Covers all the british butterflies with concise notes on habitat and caterpillar food plants plus many other tips on differentiating closely related species.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Handy Reference of British Butterlies, 6 Sept. 2011
By 
S. Baldwin (East Sussex, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Pocket Guide to the Butterflies of Great Britain and Ireland (Paperback)
This was the book recommended by experts accompanying us on a NT butterfly discovery walk. The book is a concise guide to all the varieties seen in Britain, leaving out the European ones not seen in the UK. For each type it shows life size colour views of M and F adults (both upper and under wing views), and egg, crysalis and caterpiller stages. It shows the locality and when you will see each of them. Nevertheless there are still around a hundred shown including a few daytime flying moths to aid in recognition.
The bewildering task of identification is considerably simplified with this book by allowing you to greatly reduce the list of possibilities depending on time of year, habitat and location. As a bonus there is an included loose-leaf sheet of illustrations if you don't want to take the book with you. Even if you don't want to go out looking for butterflies, this book will help you identify those you see in your garden or perhaps tell you which variety a chrysalis will develop into.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Pocket Guide to Butterflies of Great Britain & Ireland, 8 Aug. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Pocket Guide to the Butterflies of Great Britain and Ireland (Paperback)
Great little book to take out into the field with superb illustrations by Richard Lewington and just the right amount of text. Just as I expected it to be, really can't think of anything negative to say about it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Pocket Guide to the Butterflies of Great Britain and Ireland
Pocket Guide to the Butterflies of Great Britain and Ireland by Richard Lewington (Paperback - 1 Jun. 2003)
£8.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews