Customer Reviews


22 Reviews
5 star:
 (18)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

58 of 58 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Still the best Dragonfly guide for use in Britain., 13 Jan 2007
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Field Guide to the Dragonflies and Damselflies of Great Britain and Ireland (Paperback)
Although the price may seem a little steep for a book which is half the size as Dijkstra & Lewingtons Guide to the Dragonflies of Britain and Europe (and costs almost as much), this is still the book that I recommend to anyone who is just starting to take an interest in British Dragonflies.

All of the regular species, and most of the vagrants, that have been recorded in Britain are covered in the revised edition. (If you are thinking of buying a secondhand copy the 1st edition does not include the Small Red-eyed Damselfly, which was first recorded in Britain in 1999 and is now found at sites all over south-east England - and is still spreading).

Although the illustrations are the same as in the European Guide, each species is covered in slightly more detail with notes on 'Status & conservation' and 'Ecology and behaviour' included. Flight periods quoted refer to those recorded in Britain, rather than a broader period covering 'northern Europe' (or the whole of Europe), so give a more accurate indication of when each species is likely to be seen. The maps, although often slightly out of date because many species are gradually spreading northwards, are also more detailed as Britain is four times the size as in the European guide!

The book also includes brief descriptions of the life cycle of dragonflies, a key to the identification of larve, and a county by county round up of sites to visit (including OS grid references).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


93 of 95 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars More than a field guide, 22 Jun 2002
By 
mothsareus (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Field Guide to the Dragonflies and Damselflies of Great Britain and Ireland (Paperback)
The first thing that strike you is what an attractive and well-produced book this is. The illustrations and colour photos are of a very high quality; the maps are clear and the lay-out is pleasing and easy to follow. But does it do the job for which it was primarily designed--to enable an observer to identify the 38 species of Odonata that occur in Britain and Ireland regularly or as vagrants?
I write as someone with a long-term interest in birds who has only focused on dragon- and damselflies since recently constructing a garden pond. Within weeks of its completion various damselflies appeared on the aquatic vegetation, and a dragonfly (broad-bodied chaser) appeared in the garden. I also noticed two species of damselfly--the beautiful and the banded demoiselles--by a stream that runs through our part of Surrey. This book is certainly adequate for identifying the species seen--not that it necessarily makes identification easy; as with birds the differences between species are sometimes subtle and there is variability within species. The book also addresses the tricky identification of the larvae of the different dragonfly species.
Richard Lewington's illustrations are crisp and pleasing throughout.
As well as the identification section the book contains excellent introductory chapters on the life history of dragonflies (which I found fascinating), dragonfly habitats, distribution and their legal status. I was surprised to read, for example, that Steve Brooks advises capturing specimens for identification--not something that would be seen in a book on British birds.
If I have one quibble, it is that a larger type size for the body text would have been better for this 160-page book.
Kenneth Noble.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


28 of 30 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 27 May 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Field Guide to the Dragonflies and Damselflies of Great Britain and Ireland (Paperback)
Richard Lewington's plates are brilliant, sharp and accurate.
The maps and text for each species excellent, and the added bonus of the section on site details makes it even better than
the competion.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent book, why buy anything else, 21 Mar 2005
By 
A. Winser - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Field Guide to the Dragonflies and Damselflies of Great Britain and Ireland (Paperback)
Originally I baulked at the price and when I saw the size of it I wondered if I had been ripped off. However, the quality of the illustration alone is worth the price in my eyes.
The text is very informative and I look forward to getting the most out of it this summer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Dragonfly identification on a plate!!, 12 Oct 2011
This review is from: Field Guide to the Dragonflies and Damselflies of Great Britain and Ireland (Paperback)
This is by far the best book that I have found that allows me to identify the dragonflies and damselflies that I have photographed. The illustrations are superb and the text makes the differences, however small, between the species abundantly clear. There should be no mistakes using this book as a definitive reference source.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Field Guide to the Dragonflies and Damselflies of Great Britain and Ireland, 9 Aug 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Field Guide to the Dragonflies and Damselflies of Great Britain and Ireland (Paperback)
If you are like me and love the outdoors and want to identfy those Dragonflies that flit passed then this is the book for you. From where to find the different species to how to identify them clearly set out. The plus is the the wonderful illustations by Richard Lewington which makes identification so easy, much better that photographs and that's coming from a photographer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Thrilled, 3 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Field Guide to the Dragonflies and Damselflies of Great Britain and Ireland (Paperback)
My husband was thrilled with this book on Christmas day, It has been well read. He can't wait to be out and about.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Field Guide, 18 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Field Guide to the Dragonflies and Damselflies of Great Britain and Ireland (Paperback)
An excellent little book; very detailed and very well illustrated. If you have an interest in Dragonflies, then this is a great book to have.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Wildlife guide, 26 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Field Guide to the Dragonflies and Damselflies of Great Britain and Ireland (Paperback)
Having acquired a large garden with pond in the past year we were interested to know what insects and other wildlife was visiting. This guide is very useful in identifying the extraordinarily wide range of damsels and dragons we have been lucky enough to see.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars field guide to dragonflies,by steve brooks, 25 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Field Guide to the Dragonflies and Damselflies of Great Britain and Ireland (Paperback)
I chose this book above all the other field guides to dragonflies & damselflies because of all the good reviews I'd read, the book is excellent,the reviews said it was the best and it certainly is.very happy with my purchase and the fast delivery.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Field Guide to the Dragonflies and Damselflies of Great Britain and Ireland
Used & New from: 21.21
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews