Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


37 of 37 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars what i needed to know!!
it isn't the normal TEFL teacher bible..this gives excellent guidelines on how to teach and how to prepare properly for a grammar class..it doesn't waste time by giving examples of exercises as this is the easy part to prepare, instead it dedicates time on what you as the teacher may need to know in order to answer the students questions..its a must have!!!
Published on 9 May 2006 by rhona murphy

versus
2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars good learning document
Has the information I require although will take time to learn.Will assist when taking course as a pre learn document.
Published on 13 Sep 2009 by Gillian Rowles


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

37 of 37 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars what i needed to know!!, 9 May 2006
This review is from: A Concise Grammar for English Language Teachers (ELT) (Paperback)
it isn't the normal TEFL teacher bible..this gives excellent guidelines on how to teach and how to prepare properly for a grammar class..it doesn't waste time by giving examples of exercises as this is the easy part to prepare, instead it dedicates time on what you as the teacher may need to know in order to answer the students questions..its a must have!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


24 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An essential tool for teachers of English, 2 Aug 2006
By 
This review is from: A Concise Grammar for English Language Teachers (ELT) (Paperback)
This book is an invaluable resource for EFL teachers. It is well laid out and has a good index, making it easy to find exactly what you are looking for. It is packed full of useful tips for teaching grammar, a subject many find difficult. I would highly recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Concise Grammar for English Language Teachers, 25 July 2009
By 
Mr. Pj Skerritt (Manchester UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: A Concise Grammar for English Language Teachers (ELT) (Paperback)
This book came in very useful, I purchased it before commencing TEFL training, I had forgoten how in depth English Grammar was, even as a native, it shows how much a native takes for granted. It even covered subjects I don't remember studying at school. Very clear and concise, it does what it says on the tin.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Concise Grammar for English Language Teachers (ELT), 15 Sep 2009
This review is from: A Concise Grammar for English Language Teachers (ELT) (Paperback)
The book that I have purchased has been very useful for my English learning course. It was a recommended purchase, and I do not regret the decision to purchase it. So far, it has proved to be very useful, especially with sentence and verb tenses and gerunds.

It is definitely a must buy for any future TEFL teachers. Highly recommended. Will be getting more use out of it, that's for sure.

A Concise Grammar for English Language Teachers (ELT)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A must have., 20 Jan 2010
This review is from: A Concise Grammar for English Language Teachers (ELT) (Paperback)
A must have if like me the education system in this country let you down a little when it came to that frightening thing called GRAMMAR.
There are a LOT of books out there devoted to this subject but I can recommend this book as a (good) basic start to understanding the structure of our GRAMMAR.
By the way.....you are not alone.....I sometimes think that half the country don't understand their own GRAMMAR and parts of it are fairly easy to pick up with a book like this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars back to basics, 17 Sep 2009
This review is from: A Concise Grammar for English Language Teachers (ELT) (Paperback)
This is excellent book for either getting back to basics or for those who are new to efl. Although if the latter applies to you, be prepared for some serious head melting. The only faults I could find were as follows: Sometimes he will mention a grammar term and not actually explain for another 2 or 3 chapters what it is. This is fine if you are only using it as a reference book, but if you are using it as a study book (like me) it is a little annoying. This works in reverse also when sometimes he mentions a description for a grammar term and he doesn't use the word that you learned a few chapters ago to describe it. There are also a few example sentences and words that are totally irrelevant and no-one would ever use. In saying all this I am really glad I bought the book and my language analysis has vastly improved
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars My first recommendation to students, 6 Aug 2013
This review is from: A Concise Grammar for English Language Teachers (ELT) (Paperback)
I first came across this book doing my CELTA course five years ago, and although I no longer teach English as a foreign language, I am now doing a PhD and I always recommend this book to my classes, as an aid in writing their essays, and to my academic colleagues.

It is still such a relief to have a succinct reference for points of grammar which come up with regularity in students' coursework whether they are native English speakers or not (it seems that grammar tuition is so bad in some areas of the U.K. that many foreign students are better than their native speaking classmates). This book is still the best for the purpose.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 12 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Concise Grammar for English Language Teachers (ELT) (Paperback)
quite a nice book worth recommending to others
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Grammar Book, 23 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Concise Grammar for English Language Teachers (ELT) (Paperback)
Excellent book, clearly explains the tenses and gives ideas for teaching as well as possible problems students may encounter. Would recommend book especially for new less confident teachers
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Very thorough, 11 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Concise Grammar for English Language Teachers (ELT) (Paperback)
Giving it four out of five as most things are explained clearly. It's very good and the exercises challenge you while helping you develop.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

A Concise Grammar for English Language Teachers (ELT)
A Concise Grammar for English Language Teachers (ELT) by Tony Penston (Paperback - 16 Nov 2005)
14.65
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews