Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great book about this amazing woman, 13 Jun. 2005
By 
marcoscu "marcoscu" (Chorley,UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Come Play with Me: The Life and Films of Mary Millington (Paperback)
Fans of Mary and her work will enjoy this well researched biography which gives a real insight into her troubled life and the problems her free spirit gave to the anti sex brigade and to the corrupt police officers that blighted her later life.
Those of us who love Mary, remember her with affection, love and undimmed desire, and will treasure this book.
She was a pioneer of sexual freedom and this book serves her memory well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An excellent book. Sure to be a cult classic!, 19 July 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Come Play with Me: The Life and Films of Mary Millington (Paperback)
I really, really LOVED Simon Sheridan's book on Mary Millington. Extremely readable and never tacky, he writes about Mary's tragic life with dignity and respect. The book is a fantastic document of Britain in the 1970s and should be on the shelf of any self-respecting film fan! Full of wonderful pictures, colour movie stills and packed with lots of interesting stories and gossip, this book is not to be missed!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sheridan's really done his research!, 13 Aug. 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Come Play with Me: The Life and Films of Mary Millington (Paperback)
Wow, this is well researched book! Sheridan covers every aspect of Mary's life and the really rare illustrations and interviews are a real bonus. One of the best film biographies I have ever bought. I can't wait for his next book! Five stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Well researched and a great read., 6 Jan. 2000
By 
Chris O'Loughlin (Brisbane, Queensland Australia) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Come Play with Me: The Life and Films of Mary Millington (Paperback)
From the highs of Eskimo Nell to the lows of David Galaxy the British sex film was a short, prolific and, in most cases, profitable genre. Companies such as Columbia, Warner Bros and EMI even got in on the act. Sure, 90% of it was crap, but who can complain about the line-up of talent the films attracted. Unlike any other country that produced a myriad of soft-core porn product, the British producers were able to stock their casts and crews from a pool of well known and, in most cases, respected talents.
Directors such as Val Guest, Robert Young, Martin Campbell, Wolf Rilla and even Jonathan Demme switched on their megaphones to conduct the humping and comedy caperings. (Rilla replaced Demme on Secrets of A door to Door Salesman) Lighting cameramen such as Norman Warwick, Alex Thomson, Peter Hannan, Peter Sinclair and John Metcalf pulled out their light meters. Actors such as Diana Dors, John Le Mesurier, Harry H. Corbett, Jack Wild, Irene Handle, Joan Hickson, Jon Pertwee, Christopher Timothy, Alfie Bass, Ronald Fraser, Julian Orchard, Carmen Silvera, George Baker, Ian Hendry, Dandy Nichols, Dudley Sutton, Debbie Ash, Bill Kerr, Anthony Sharpe, Joanna Lumley, Nicola Pagett, Valarie Leon (never nude, unfortunately), Aimi MacDonald, Joan Collins, god, the list is endless, eagerly learnt lines from the best and worst scripts thrust through their letter boxes.
Then there was the rise of starlets such as Suzy Mandel, Nicola Austine (a real cracker in my books. I have amongst my collection an as new copy of the novel Confessions of a Driving Instructor with her chest bursting forth from the cover), Katya Wyeth, Franciose Pascal, Monika Ringwald, Jenny Westbrook, Rosemary England.
And then, of course, there was the great Mary Millington, who has now finally received the attention she deserved, and craved, in Simon Sheridan's concise, well-researched and informative book. A must for Millington fans and/or for anyone interested in the genre of films she appeared in. It would even be an interesting read for people not familiar with its subject.
Covering her life from her birth to her death by her own hand, Sheridan has produced a book that is not only well written and researched, but also crammed packed with a plethora of photos and artwork, making it a visual treat as well. He even talks about the man who designed and drew the stunning posters used to advertise the films. Now all that is left to do is for Sheridan to write a book covering the whole genre. The only one available is David McGillivray's Doing Rude Things, which I found less than stimulating.
Recommended viewing: Eskimo Nell, Confessions of a Window Cleaner, Pop Performer, Driving Instructor, From a Holiday Camp, Adventures of a Taxi Driver, Private Eye and Plumber's Mate, What's up Nurse, What's up Superdoc, *The Stud, Come Play With Me, *Up Pompeii, *The Bawdy Adventures of Tom Jones, and possibly Keep it Up Downstairs, simply for its production values, not for its mundane script.
Watch at your own peril: The Ups & Downs of a Handy Man, The Amorous Milkman, Keep it up Jack, The Playbirds, Confessions from the David Galaxy Affair, Can I Keep it Up For A Week, Secrets of a Door to Door Salesman and I'm Not Feeling Myself Tonight. Obviously there are plenty of others, but this is compiled from the ones I've seen.
Based on the quality of this book I will certainly be interested in a few other titles from FAB press.
A point of interest: Jack Wild's official web site fails to list Keep it Up Downstairs among his credits.
Further reading: Confessions of Robin Askwith, also available from Amazons UK.com.
*These films aren't usually classified along with the others but they are still sex films, just with much larger budgets and stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars I Came to Play, at last., 7 Sept. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Come Play with Me: The Life and Films of Mary Millington (Paperback)
To somebody like me, one of the early "Baby Boomers", whose life was formed in the 50s and 60s, I have to say that the 1970s were naff. Silly clothes, crazy hair, but most of all appalling music and some crappy films.

I liked Mary Millington, despite never having seen her in those two infamous movies, "Come Play with Me" and "Playbirds". I'd heard about her, and she actually came to my home town to promote one of her films. Some work colleagues were fortunate enough to meet her. No heavy-handed security, non of the "celebrity" nonsense that prevails today. Mary, they said, was a lovely lady.

I did catch a showing of the Super 8 cut-down of "Come Play with Me". I liked her cute voice, and quirky acting style, but could never figure out why I liked her over and above the established female "stars" of the day. It did amuse me that while certain Hollywood Blockbusters could just manage a week's run at our circuit cinemas, Mary's films could keep going for many weeks. And they did.

Simon Sheridan's book finally gave me the answer why I liked Mary: beneath the underwear and nudity-which I never found in the least bit offensive, was a sensitive, prim, and totally unjudgemental person. This book, together with "Keeping the British End Up" throws a light on what I have said was a "naff" decade. Made infinitely brighter by the innocent fun generated by a delicate flower who wilted far, far to soon.

I've finally caught up with "Come Play with Me" and "The Playbirds" on DVD. Okay, they are not "Citizen Kane", they are much better, unpretentious and entertaining. Mary is on-screen very little in both films, but she's the one you watch. Lovely Mary.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Must Read book., 6 Jan. 2008
This review is from: Come Play with Me: The Life and Films of Mary Millington (Paperback)
This is a great book and that has been well researched and is sometime brutality honest it is telling of the story of one of our under rated and tragic stars the UK has produced.
There is so much more to Mary than Come Play with Me and the author has done a terrific job.
Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Come Play With Me, 27 Aug. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Come Play with Me: The Life and Films of Mary Millington (Paperback)
A very well researched book by Simon Sheridan and being his first book I am looking forward to others he has penned on the movie medium.The book chronicles well before Mary Millington's conception through to her untimley self-inflicted death at the very young age of 33. He covers her careers (mainly in the porn business) throughout her life and we get an in-depth insight into her traits and personality.
Without me knowing it at the time but the first video I watched with Mary Millington in was "What's Up Superdoc?'. This would have been in the mid 80's.I thumbed through a tattered copy of the book at a bookshop and for nostalgic reasons I wanted my own unmarked copy hence my purchase from Amazon.(I live in New Zealand).
Every movie she has starred (acted) in is well reviewed and the book is filled comprehensively with black and white and coloured photos as well as movie promotional posters.
The book is an excellent addition to my collection of movie books and videos/DVD's.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The short tragic life of Mary Millington, 7 April 2011
This review is from: Come Play with Me: The Life and Films of Mary Millington (Paperback)
Come Play With Me is a well written account of the life of Mary Millington.
She was a beautiful woman, but haunted by her own private demons. Her life was blighted by depression and heavy drug usage. Come Play With Me was her most successful film and ran for over two years in a Soho cinema. She was not much of an actress and never claimed to be. From softcore photos and films she gradually drifted into doing hardcore material, which was better paid. She ended her short life with an overdose of sleeping pills, having claimed she was being persecuted by the police and the taxman.

The book is large format and well illustrated, though some of photos are sexually explicit.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing, 18 Aug. 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Come Play with Me: The Life and Films of Mary Millington (Paperback)
I was inspired to read Simon Sheridan's book after watching a Channel 4 'Sex and Fame' documentary and discovering the author's Geocities web site. On the one hand, the book is a truly moving biography, replete with wonderful memories and fascinating details. On the other, the book is an intimate and perceptive portrait of 1970's Britain, stuffed with engrossing facts and figures! Thoroughly recommendable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 10 Jun. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Come Play with Me: The Life and Films of Mary Millington (Paperback)
A really great book on the life of Mary Millington where she is given the full respect she deserves. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Come Play with Me: The Life and Films of Mary Millington
Come Play with Me: The Life and Films of Mary Millington by Simon Sheridan (Paperback - 8 July 1999)
£14.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews