Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Touching Cloud-Base, The Complete Guide To Paragliding 5th edition
This new and expanded edition of 'Touching Cloud-Base' should be, in my opinion, required reading for all those interested in the exciting sport of Paragliding. It covers all aspects of the sport, choosing suitable equipment, basic meterology, site assessment, how a wing flies, controlling the wing on the ground & in the air, details the BHPA pilot rating system etc.,...
Published on 1 May 2012 by parapensioner2

versus
3 of 6 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars a waste of money, for me
I was looking for a book that while not too technical, is a beginners book. One which explains how to fly. This isn't it.
Sure, the author explains that in the introduction, but you have to buy the book to find that out. He does call it "The complete guide to ...", and then says in the intro that it isn't !!
This book is more of a coffee-table type book which...
Published on 19 Jun 2012 by Ian Joiner


Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Touching Cloud-Base, The Complete Guide To Paragliding 5th edition, 1 May 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Touching Cloudbase: The Complete Guide to Paragliding (Paperback)
This new and expanded edition of 'Touching Cloud-Base' should be, in my opinion, required reading for all those interested in the exciting sport of Paragliding. It covers all aspects of the sport, choosing suitable equipment, basic meterology, site assessment, how a wing flies, controlling the wing on the ground & in the air, details the BHPA pilot rating system etc., etc.
It is, however, as the author makes clear in his introduction, NOT a teach yourself manual.
After reading Touching Cloud-Base, any new comer to the sport will be better able to make an informed choice regarding choice of equipment, necessary training etc.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars As it says.... complete guide, 7 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Touching Cloudbase: The Complete Guide to Paragliding (Paperback)
A very good read.

It's the sort of book that I have just read before training for EP and once I have my Elementary Pilot's licence, I KNOW that a second read will give me so much more when going for my CP (Club Pilot) licence.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Touching Cloud Base, 29 Jun 2013
By 
Roger Boyle (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Touching Cloudbase: The Complete Guide to Paragliding (Paperback)
After having a tandem flight I thought I'd read a bit about this fascinating type of aviation
The book is clear, well written and gives good details about UK paragliding
You can't learn to paraglide with this alone but it does give good general advice
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good primer for beginners and interested readers, 1 Oct 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Touching Cloudbase: The Complete Guide to Paragliding (Paperback)
As someone interested in learning more about Paragliding, and not having tried it yet, I find this to be a very good book to inform and offer insight into all the key aspects of paragliding. The book offers the level of detail that the initially curious reader might not think about, whilst they are daydreaming about flying at 1000 meters with the cool breezy air beneath ones feet! The book reveals what is involved - what it means to live with the sport: the gear to use, the training, safety, air law, meteorology and others - while piquing ones interest and fueling the visual appeal with good colour photos of daring do and breath-taking vistas from the air.

It is NOT a teach-yourself book: and there are none. This is a serious sport; while having fun and enjoying the incredible freedom of paragliding (as I anticipate it to be!), the underlying message of this book is to develop as a pilot with ones intelligent use of risk-mitigating planning, anticipation and safe practice. You can have a fantastic time in flying to reach the base of clouds, soaring on thermals and experiencing life in a new and enriching way, while at the same time being in control, and aware of the incumbent 'downside' of human flight. The book brings home the fact that this sport is not of the same casualness of kite-flying on the beach: it is about piloting a vehicle in the skies.

The book covers about 40 short chapters that cover each topic neatly and permits quick reference to refresh the reader's memory. It is a good door-opener to see what paragliding involves, aside from what someone in my experience has - just to see them on the slopes and in the sky from a distance.

The next steps after reading this book would be a taster flight in tandem with an instructor to see if the feelings and sensations match ones mental 'hype'. If flying remains appealing, aside from pilot training, I would recommend a good book on meteorology for aircraft as paragliding is very dependent upon local weather systems.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Arrived promptly. Present for hubby, he is enjoying ..., 1 May 2014
By 
This review is from: Touching Cloudbase: The Complete Guide to Paragliding (Paperback)
Arrived promptly. Present for hubby, he is enjoying reading it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 6 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars a waste of money, for me, 19 Jun 2012
By 
Ian Joiner (Chamonix, France) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Touching Cloudbase: The Complete Guide to Paragliding (Paperback)
I was looking for a book that while not too technical, is a beginners book. One which explains how to fly. This isn't it.
Sure, the author explains that in the introduction, but you have to buy the book to find that out. He does call it "The complete guide to ...", and then says in the intro that it isn't !!
This book is more of a coffee-table type book which leaves your instructor to explain everything -It gives a more general overview of the sport with a lot of pretty photos; but few diagrams and some of those of little use. The book provides very little back-up or reinforcement to what an instructor will be saying.
Sadly, for me, money wasted.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Touching Cloudbase: The Complete Guide to Paragliding
Touching Cloudbase: The Complete Guide to Paragliding by Ian Currer (Paperback - 1 Oct 2011)
17.65
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews