Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Truly invaluable
Lucille and Geoffrey Leader are expert clinicians in the field of PD and neurological disorders. This book is essential for all patients and practitioners of PD. There is nothing available quite like it that deals with PD so practically and comprehensively, yet does not overwhelm. Thus it is perfect for the patient as well as the busy clinician. Not only does the book...
Published on 9 Dec 2009 by Adam Thornton

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Parkinson's Disease. Reducing Symptons with Nutrition and Drugs
Not very informative, or helpful. I find that it seems to be incomplete - too much editing. Might be alright for people with early stages of Parkinson's, but not for those who have had this condition for some time.
Published 23 months ago by Richard Seddon


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Truly invaluable, 9 Dec 2009
This review is from: Parkinsons Disease Reducing Symptoms with Nutrition and Drugs. Revised Edition (Paperback)
Lucille and Geoffrey Leader are expert clinicians in the field of PD and neurological disorders. This book is essential for all patients and practitioners of PD. There is nothing available quite like it that deals with PD so practically and comprehensively, yet does not overwhelm. Thus it is perfect for the patient as well as the busy clinician. Not only does the book consider issues directly related to PD but also goes further and reveals areas practitioners may not have considered yet have a dramatic effect on the progress and wellbeing of the patient. It is truly invaluable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Parkinson's Disease. Reducing Symptons with Nutrition and Drugs, 20 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Parkinsons Disease Reducing Symptoms with Nutrition and Drugs. Revised Edition (Paperback)
Not very informative, or helpful. I find that it seems to be incomplete - too much editing. Might be alright for people with early stages of Parkinson's, but not for those who have had this condition for some time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good for nutritional therapist and client, 28 July 2009
By 
Sunette Van Zyl (Dublin, Ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Parkinsons Disease Reducing Symptoms with Nutrition and Drugs. Revised Edition (Paperback)
As a nutritional therapist I found this book a a great addition to what was covered for Parkinsons in my nutrition course. The hollistic approach is fantastic, there are a lot of references in each chapter and subjects are discussed with empathy and understanding.

I appreciate that some topics have technical details as required by the therapist, but it is also explained in simpler terms which will be more accessible to the person with Parkinsons.

The only reason I gave 4 stars and not 5 is that there are no guidelines for dosages with the supplements. I know this is very individual and is probably ommited to prevent "self-prescription", but it does leave a gap in formulating a treatment plan
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars This is an excellent book which has changed my life, 12 Nov 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Parkinsons Disease Reducing Symptoms with Nutrition and Drugs. Revised Edition (Paperback)
This is an excellent book which has changed my life, I have Parkinson's and, until I read this book I was unaware that any other help was available to me, apart from taking increasing amounts of the drug L-Dopa and various other dopamine-imitating drugs. Don't get me wrong; I would be living an appalling life without L-Dopa. However, what I hadn't realised was that the efficacy of the Parkinson's drugs depends on my nutrition and that by altering what I eat and drink and when I eat and drink it, can make the difference between my being very disabled and leading a comparatively normal life. I would urge anyone with Parkinson's or connected with Parkinson's to, at least read this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent info for serious sufferers of PD, 22 May 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Parkinsons Disease Reducing Symptoms with Nutrition and Drugs. Revised Edition (Paperback)
These people tell you things you will never pick up from any busy doctor or specialist, about Parkinson's disease. It is easy to understand and a must for anyone who has the slightest inclination to help his/her self. If you don't read it, you are the loser.
Testimonial by carer for 22 years.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Too clinical, 21 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Parkinsons Disease Reducing Symptoms with Nutrition and Drugs. Revised Edition (Paperback)
It was a good read but as with a lot of these books very technical.
There was a lot of info on Parkinsons and treatments with less on the diet apart from avoiding cheese, sorry protein. I think you'll get more help from Parkinsons' nurse or dietitian.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Not like most books about coping with PD, 29 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Parkinsons Disease Reducing Symptoms with Nutrition and Drugs. Revised Edition (Paperback)
It was very unlike most books about PD which contain many anecdotes. Ths is almost all theory, and I did think the occasional example might help illustrate their points.
I thought it a pity that it was SO concise - as I would have liked to hear more that these very knowledgeable people thought.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great news for Parkinson's sufferers, 8 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Parkinsons Disease Reducing Symptoms with Nutrition and Drugs. Revised Edition (Paperback)
Bought this book on the recommendation of my nutritionist - 18 months since symptons started, 12 months since diagnosis and still not on tablets - alternative therapy rules!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Book, 27 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Parkinsons Disease Reducing Symptoms with Nutrition and Drugs. Revised Edition (Paperback)
Informative book, clinical but accessible. Recommend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Inspiring and full of hope, 14 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Parkinsons Disease Reducing Symptoms with Nutrition and Drugs. Revised Edition (Paperback)
My husband, who was recently diagnosed with PD, found this book really helpful and it inspired him to keep with his exercise routine and jobs in the garden. Also, he keeps a very healthy diet in line with a Japanese type of diet.

Mr. Pepper's determination and hope is very well transmitted in his book.

We are both very grateful to him and his editors for having published such important information.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Parkinsons Disease Reducing Symptoms with Nutrition and Drugs.  Revised Edition
£15.59
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews