Customer Reviews


33 Reviews
5 star:
 (23)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


83 of 83 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Teaching Tenses
This book is very good both for the teacher and the student. I can photocopy explanations for my students because the tenses are explained very clearly and the photocopiable section is easily adapted for use with many activities.
I would recommend this book to TEFL/TESOL students and to ESOL teachers.
Published on 15 Sept. 2005 by beck_pilkington

versus
5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars No help at all.
Just finished my CELTA course and bought this book especially to help with tenses. Found it no use whatsoever! I most certainly wouldn't recommend it to anyone. My Longman English Grammar book explained tenses better than this.
Published on 29 Dec. 2011 by Ms. J. Stephen


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

83 of 83 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Teaching Tenses, 15 Sept. 2005
This review is from: Teaching Tenses: Ideas for Presenting and Practising Tenses in English (Paperback)
This book is very good both for the teacher and the student. I can photocopy explanations for my students because the tenses are explained very clearly and the photocopiable section is easily adapted for use with many activities.
I would recommend this book to TEFL/TESOL students and to ESOL teachers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


69 of 69 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A really good book for TEFL Teachers, 18 Sept. 1999
By A Customer
If only all TEFL books were written as well as this, we would have an easier life. This book is particularly useful for native speakers (Learning English is another) in that it gives clear guidance on the seemingly chaotic rules that the English tense system follows.
For each tense, we are provided with the form and function of the tense, suggested contexts with which to introduce it, and a list of problems that foreign students often have, and means of solving them. The back of the book comprises a large set of photocopiable drawings to elicit tenses from students.
This is the one TEFL book I would not be without.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


158 of 159 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Teaching tenses without tensing up..., 19 Oct. 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Teaching Tenses: Ideas for Presenting and Practising Tenses in English (Paperback)
This book is excellent. It was the main thing that helped me get through my TEFL course. It explained tenses in a way which was so straight forward, I had no trouble understanding them myself! It also provided excellent suggestions on practical exercises to use with your students. During my course, when it fell to me to teach the second conditional, those exercises proved priceless. All new EFL teachers should have one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


114 of 115 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Must for any EFL Teacher, 7 Feb. 2004
This review is from: Teaching Tenses: Ideas for Presenting and Practising Tenses in English (Paperback)
This book is a comprehensive analysis of the English tenses. Each tense is carefully outlined with examples and uses. There is also a section about learner difficulties for each of them. Tables and timelines are included throughout.
I recommend this book to any EFL teacher. Using this book it is suddenly easy to prepare lessons where new tenses are introduced. The examples and uses make preparation a piece of cake; the section on difficulties helps you to anticipate potential problems.
I would say this is an essential EFL book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Teaching Tenses, by Rosemarie Aitken, 11 July 2013
This review is from: Teaching Tenses: Ideas for Presenting and Practising Tenses in English (Paperback)
This is an excellent book for language tutors. 'Teaching Tenses' unravels the diffences between the tenses very clearly, explaining by succinct definitions, clear examples and helpful line diagrams where necessary. The book identifes the big challenges with 'tenses' that English-language learners face. Then Rosemarie Aitken is extremely focussed in addressing these issues. She uses well-observed examples and well-considered explanations; all the time fully cognizant of (a) common learner errors and (b) the teacher's need for short punchy explanations!

'Teaching Tenses' is very comprehensive. From novice teachers to qualified and experienced tutors, all who enjoy language and have the responsibility and privilege to 'teach English' to those whose mother-tongue is not English, will find this book invaluable; an education to the teacher, and, more importantly, a comprehensive and very practical quide to teaching.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Outstanding, 31 Jan. 2009
By 
Mrs. M. Connolly (Leicester) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Teaching Tenses: Ideas for Presenting and Practising Tenses in English (Paperback)
Just what is called for, in an accessible form. Very good. Would not want to be without it.
First copy was sent minus a section of pages, but Amazon changed it and handled the whole transaction very professionally and with great understanding, as I had a piece of work to complete.
Really good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent grammar explanation book for new ESL teachers, 10 Sept. 2009
By 
ESL Newbie & Knitaholic "Lizzie" (El Puerto de Santa María, Cádiz, SPAIN) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Teaching Tenses: Ideas for Presenting and Practising Tenses in English (Paperback)
I bought this book based on the good reviews here on Amazon and I must say I am really pleased I did! Each tense is explained logically and in layman's terms. There is a lot of detail without being too heavy or dry. As a native English speaker, I also find the descriptions of learner errors particularly useful and am confident my new awareness will help improve my explanations to my Spanish students. I would highly recommend this book to ESL native English teachers who are just starting out and want a more in-depth knowledge of the English tenses. 10 out of 10!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Teaching Tenses - a teachers dream!, 4 Aug. 2009
This review is from: Teaching Tenses: Ideas for Presenting and Practising Tenses in English (Paperback)
I was recommended this book by a colleague and now I use it whenever possible! It has a simple lay-out, examples and shows how the tense is formed/structured.
A great investment which I will be using for years to come
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very comprehensive book on tenses., 3 Aug. 2012
By 
John Williams (Apeldoorn, Netherlands) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Teaching Tenses: Ideas for Presenting and Practising Tenses in English (Paperback)
At less than 200 pages this book may at first look a little lightweight, but each page is so densely packed with information and ideas that it is in fact very comprehensive indeed, serving both as a grammar book on tenses and as a resource book for teaching them. The form, meaning and function of every conceivable tense (and the English language does have an awful lot of them) is covered. Every chapter lists the various uses to which the tense can be put (with time-line graphics), and suggests contexts for teaching it, and also has a useful section on learner error which includes common mistakes in mishearing/mispronunciation. At the end of the book is a small section of photocopiable material, mostly in graphic or pictorial form, for use with learners. I am about to begin my first TEFL job, and expect to find this book very useful, especially with learners who are already at an intermediate level or above. If this turns out not to be the case, I'll let you know.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good but, bad arrangement, 11 July 2010
This review is from: Teaching Tenses: Ideas for Presenting and Practising Tenses in English (Paperback)
This book has no index and a pittiful contents section at the front, it just dives right in which makes the book a little harder to use as reference. However the actual examples and description are quite good as well as examples context and ideas for lesson plans.

There appear to be a couple of missing sections or something in the book as there are lists of things to be covered and sometimes the list is missing completely. This is frustrating because of the lack of an index you have to spend some time actually staking out if it were to find out what is in the book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Teaching Tenses: Ideas for Presenting and Practising Tenses in English
£18.40
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews