Customer Reviews


27 Reviews
5 star:
 (16)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent reading and learning
This book started my journey in learning Traditional Shotokan karate and has proved to be vital in my personal development acompanied with instruction.
Prior to training and gradings it helps provide a structure to analysing your own technique through Sensei John Van Weeenen's step by step guide and helps develops the karateka from basics to Kumite and...
Published on 27 Feb 2003 by Frank

versus
11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Beginner to black belt - not quite
The book has been around for many years and is invaluable as a training aid. It shows katas (up to purple/white belt), kumite, self defence techniques, sylabus, basic techniques and an A - Z of karate terms.
First, the section on katas is very good. Showing all the moves in clear black & white photos although there is no text to accompany them. Katas covered are from...
Published on 20 Jan 2004


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Beginners Guide To Shotokan Karate, 25 Aug 2011
This book has already been such a help to me. At 47 years of age it's sometimes difficult to learn something so alien, yet John Van Weenan makes it all seem so easy when combined with lessons from a good instructor.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great reference material, 7 April 2010
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A great book. First bought it when I was 14 and unable to find a decent club to train at. This book was a perfect training companion for someone who just needed to know the basics. When I later started training in Shotokan I found it invaluable. Many years later, after training in many other martial arts I find myself drifting back to Karate and have found that the lessons first taught to me in this book are still very much valuable and easy to get back into again. Definitely the best reference book on Karate that I have read. There is only one other one that I would recommend. The only sad thing is that no one has persuaded John to make a video / DVD companion to it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A very good book., 18 Mar 2010
I reccomend this book 100 per cent if you are a begginer or kyu grade. I'm a secound kyu and of the 100's of books I own this is the one book that is always close to hand. A must for anyone who needs reference for the first stages of karate.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars best I have read on this discipline, 31 Oct 1999
I have practised shotokan for about eight years and have often found instruction books lacking or confusing. This book is comprehensive and clear and I think it deserves strong recomendation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best beginners' guide to date, 16 Jan 2003
By A Customer
With around 80% of the 280 pages in Jon Van Weenen's book dedicated to photographic tuition, it's no surprise to find this one of the best books around for anyone who wants to PRACTICE Shotokan rather than just read about it. Individual moves, kata and practical application are all mapped out in photographic detail - all accompanied with foot plans so you don't lose where you are. Highly recommended. Read this in your tracksuit!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 8 Mar 2005
Whoever left the one star rating does not have a clue what hes talking about John is probably one of the leading shotokan experts in this country and was one of the people responsible for bringing it here, and the guy who left 3 stars since when has the first kata been called kihon which means basics. The first kata is called taikyoku shodan. An excellent buy especially at amazons brilliant price!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 7 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Unable to pass any comment as the item has yet to be delivered, 21 Jun 2009
By 
R. Pearce "Anoy-Ed" (uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Firefox333 is an appauling user of amazons secondhand sales facility- much more reliable & trust worthy people on ebay, NEVER by anything from this person
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Beginners' Guide to Shotokan Karate: Beginner to Black Belt
Beginners' Guide to Shotokan Karate: Beginner to Black Belt by John Van Weenen (Paperback - Aug 1992)
Used & New from: 0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews