Customer Reviews


25 Reviews
5 star:
 (24)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars English Rocky
Bloody brilliant.

Crime classic - from the wrong side of the street to Mr Good Guy - a rollercoaster ride of emotion, highs and lows.

Bloody brilliant insight into a real-life tough guy - a hard-hitting story with a happy ending.

This book confirms the old saying thatr real `tough guys dont hurt women or pick on kids`

A bible...
Published on 29 Mar 2007 by Ricky Hyde

versus
3 of 6 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars warning biased reviews
I posted a critical review. I've read this book and it isnt very good. I'm surprised that my review was deleted. make of that what you will.

The book is poorly written, over priced and my copy practically fell to bits - it's that badly made. My adivce is: don't buy.
Published on 18 April 2008 by Garner


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars English Rocky, 29 Mar 2007
This review is from: Thugs, Mugs and Violence (Paperback)
Bloody brilliant.

Crime classic - from the wrong side of the street to Mr Good Guy - a rollercoaster ride of emotion, highs and lows.

Bloody brilliant insight into a real-life tough guy - a hard-hitting story with a happy ending.

This book confirms the old saying thatr real `tough guys dont hurt women or pick on kids`

A bible for the CHAV generation - they read and learn from the great man Jamie O` Keefe...

I loook forward to his next book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Sparkle without the Shine!, 6 April 2001
This review is from: Thugs, Mugs and Violence (Paperback)
Having Read Thugs mugs and violence as my first O'keefe book, I knew that I just had to read each and every one of them after that. Many people when accounting for their lifes exploits tend to shine over their own "Sparkle" in an attempt to make you gasp in awe of their excellence. Jamie on the other hand has produced a no nonsense rollercoaster ride through his early years right up to present day, leaving the sparkle out. This is a documentary of a book, a written fly on the wall account of how a bullied school kid took his own destiny in his hands and became the man he wished to be. I was totally enthralled from the front cover till the last! Infact I wish there were 200 more pages. This is one book that has to be read!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Violence is Glorious (Not), 29 Sep 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Thugs, Mugs and Violence (Paperback)
Although I usually only put pen to paper to review music for American Upstart magazine, I recently came across and read a book from England that I liked a great deal and decided a a book review was in order.'Thugs' is basically the life story of a man who grew up around violence and hardship yet still managed to make the most of himself. As a young Mod in the East End of London, and one of the original members of the Mod gang "The Glory Boys", the author experienced a great deal. The book tracks his progession from Mod hooligan, to nightclub bouncer, martial arts instructor, father, and finally to author. I identified with many aspects of this book, particularly his remorse at some of the things he has done in his life. Rather than denying it though, he exposes these events in the hope that you and I might learn from them. This should be required reading for young thugs and hooligans who think all mindless violence is glorious.
James Cabel Correctional Officer Federal Maximum Security Prison Colorado U.S.A.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a touching and yet harrowing account of a real person, 23 Oct 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: Thugs, Mugs and Violence (Paperback)
i havn't ever read a book that i couldn't put down, this book made me do just that. It is a book that makes me want to read more from the author Jamie.I have never met Jamie but because of his way of writing i feel i know him already. It is a REAL life story of one human being that is not made up for excitment nor is it just written for the sake of it , it is written to give asn insight in to the authors world and after reading it , you realise just what a good teacher the author has turned in to as every person can go away having learnt something ( perhaphs different on each occasion) just from the different accounts and encounters. To sum up i would say that this book is a must read so buy it today.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A MAN OF GROWTH, 5 Dec 1998
By A Customer
This review is from: Thugs, Mugs and Violence (Paperback)
I am very selective when it comes to giving interviews and editorials and rarely give book reviews, however, having read Jamie O'Keefe's latest book 'Thugs, Mugs And Violence' I felt the urge to put pen to paper. I do this for many reasons, it's written in plain understandable in your face English, it tells the truth about martial arts and it touched a nerve as I have lived a similar lifestyle and this book made me think about myself, not many books can do this.
You may think that this in itself does not necessarily make a good book, but this is where Jamie is different. He highlights martial arts as a sense of belonging, be it good or bad martial arts, the belonging can help some people through times of hardship. His book gives hope and understanding in as much that no matter how bad things are there is always something or someone to guide you on to better things.
All the above although good and useful is not the main reason I decided to review Jamie's book, as many people I know have similar stories to tell. What I took pleasure from was that this man made mistakes and learnt from them, for me this is a book about growth. Jamie started with nothing and throughout his life had problems and yet when opportunities came he took them, some were beneficial and some were not, nevertheless he took them.
He re-educated himself, and now he educates others and this book gives inspiration to anyone who thinks life is hard and has passed them by. I respect Jamie for having the 'bottle' to change and improve his life and also for taking the time to write an account of his past without falling into the ego trip that others fall into when writing about themselves. I hope another book on his life will be written in ten years time to show how much more growth is still within him, especially when he finally loses what's left of the anger inside him.
STEVE TAPPIN 5th Degree for Latosa-Escrima UK-EWTO Representative
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars ***** IF YOUR GOING TO GET 1 BOOK THIS YEAR MAKE SURE IT`S THIS ONE *****, 2 Feb 2009
By 
M. Nesbitt "` nezzy`" (gods country: newcastle.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Thugs, Mugs and Violence (Paperback)
THUGS, MUGS & violence....
What can i say about this book and jamie that has not already been said.
I first heard of jamie a long long time ago threw different martial arts publications when i was growing up in newcastle, it was a hard life for a martial arts practitioner growing up in the northeast known all of the good teachers were down south.
As i religiously read combat, martial arts illustrated and any other martial arts mags i could get a hold of, one name kept popping up jamie okeefe, as i watched him grow in martial arts stature over the years i hoped i would meet the man that who in my eyes became a legend.
i have known of his autobiography for a few years now and was always meaning to get a copy but never seemed to get down to it.
when i eventually received a copy threw the mail i couldnt wait in anticipation to read it after all these years.
And boy was i not disappointed as i read threw page after page the hardships and struggles jamie has went threw over the years really makes you take a step back and think about your own life.
For a man to go threw life with disopointment and hurt of 5 men and come out the other end is amazing to say the least.
Heres me expecting a martial arts biography and i get a book that actually made me cry was a bit of a shock.
Jamie has proven that no matter what life throws at you, you can come threw it and be ok, i just wish i was half the man he is.
thugs, mugs & violence is not a martial arts book or a book on crime but a true and honest account of one mans struggle and will appeal to every reader be it man or women, trust me when i say IF YOUR GOING TO BUY 1 BOOK THIS YEAR....MAKE SURE ITS THIS ONE.... you will not be dissapionted.
i hope jamie will write a follow up to thugs and mugs as i really think he has a lot more to tell about his life, and this time i will be first in line to buy a copie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Admiration!! You can feel the honesty!, 24 Jan 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Thugs, Mugs and Violence (Paperback)
Reliving difficult times are never easy especially from a few years ago. You think, wince, and put on the rose coloured spectacles. Not Jamie. He opens up and describes schoolyears and those tricky late teens. Bottom line 16-19 or so, we're talking rowing and old bill! However we're also talking THE best times. Jamie, with his early firm made mod history, Glory Boys, Secret Affair, Jam, the whole country followed!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a true triumph over adversity!, 3 Mar 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Thugs, Mugs and Violence (Paperback)
all i can say is jamie o'keefe must be one tough man.this is a guy who has gone through so much hardship and adversity and has still come out in one piece.thugs is an honest REAL book about a man struggling and overcoming external obstacles and inner demons.if you think you've had it bad in life you should read jamie's book and after you finish it all your problems will seem trivial in comparison.get this book and make sure others read it too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars There isn't a trace of a saint here.., 31 Jan 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Thugs, Mugs and Violence (Paperback)
It's hard to recommend this book without using worn-out cliches like "couldn't put it down", "must read", "page-turner", etc etc. But that is just what this book is. It's an account of an ordinary persons' extraordinary life. You have to remind yourself that this is not fictional writing. Essentially it's a fight between good and evil. Good guy v. Bad guys. But I promise you, there isn't a trace of a saint here. Every evil of human nature has battled Jamie O'Keefe, more so than most of us, and it's inspirational to know you can fight and, more importantly, survive what's thrown at you in life. The writing is plain and graphic which delivers maximum impact. But the humour of the author remains constant throughout the book too. Buy, borrow or steal this book and read it. As soon as you do, you'll want to read it again, buy the t-shirt and go see the film. Ms C Topp
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brutally honest book, 24 Jan 2012
By 
Charles - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Thugs, Mugs and Violence (Paperback)
He talks very honestly about his life and there are very interesting stories such as "Farting Martin" the bouncer that farts all the time and always disappears when trouble pops up.

Of all the people who taught crappy martial arts the author is one of the few that is honest enough to say yes I taught people things I know would not work because "that's how things were done back then" and he was making good money out of it.

He discusses verbal distraction tricks used by criminals to confuse a victim before they are attacked,
this kind of stuff is only just starting to be understood by the martial arts world even though criminals have been doing it for decades.

This is very good book and I recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Thugs, Mugs and Violence
Thugs, Mugs and Violence by Jamie O'Keefe (Paperback - Sep 1998)
Used & New from: 5.36
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews