Customer Reviews


30 Reviews
5 star:
 (18)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (9)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars he and his family were really nice people. It really hurts to think what might ...
Very emotional to read this book. First bought in Kyrenia, Cyprus a few years ago but lost it. So I bought this one and read it again. There was a large house in Limassol which was mentioned in the book. We lived next to that house in 1961/62, but then moved house until we left in 1963.So to read what took place in that area, which I knew as a child of 12/13, when the...
Published 7 days ago by Mr. Gerry Brown

versus
29 of 42 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Beware the Greeks
This book should bring home to readers that there is more than one side, the Greek side, to the Cyprus impasse. Had the Turkish army not come to the rescue of the Turkish Cypriots in 1974 there would now be no Turks on the island. It also shows up the impotence of the United Nations when a favoured nation (Greece over Turkey)is the agressor.
As a regular visitor to...
Published on 22 Feb 2002 by Lindsey Freeman


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars he and his family were really nice people. It really hurts to think what might ..., 14 Oct 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Genocide Files (Hardcover)
Very emotional to read this book. First bought in Kyrenia, Cyprus a few years ago but lost it. So I bought this one and read it again. There was a large house in Limassol which was mentioned in the book. We lived next to that house in 1961/62, but then moved house until we left in 1963.So to read what took place in that area, which I knew as a child of 12/13, when the Greek-Cypriots rounded up the Turkish community, was heart breaking. Our landlord was Turkish, he and his family were really nice people. It really hurts to think what might have happened to them! The troubles started in Nicosia about 3 months after we returned to U.K., a few days before Xmas. What a lot of people don't realise is, it was the Greeks who instigated all that slaughter because they wanted "Enosis", which means 'Union with Greece'. The Turks had to be eliminated!! All this started in 1955 when the Greek terrorist organisation, EOKA fought to get rid of the British Forces and the Turkish community. This lasted until 1959 when things calmed down and both communities lived together in relative peace. Then Makarios stirred it all up again a few days before Xmas 1963!! Then after some years of fighting and slaughter, the Turkish forces went in to PROTECT THEIR OWN! THEY DID NOT INVADE Cyprus as such. Now it's peaceful, thank God. What I can't accept is the world leaders saying Turkey was to blame, and they sided with the Greeks. But the Greeks lied and lied and lied again, and STILL lie about what happened. More people should read this book, for the truth!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars At last! The truth is out there....., 25 Dec 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: The Genocide Files (Hardcover)
How on earth the Turkish-Cypriots have been able to keep such a dignified silence, and how the politicians that know can keep these horrible truths hidden is beyond me. It's about time that the real truth was told. Mr Scott-Gibbons should receive the keys to the entire North.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


29 of 40 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Should be made compulsory reading for every European, 15 Jun 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: The Genocide Files (Hardcover)
This book should be read by every person planning a visit to Cyprus, south or the northern part of the island, Greece or Turkey.
There is a lot of turcophobia in Europe, initiated by Greek Cypriots and Greeks. This book should be made compulsory reading for every European who wants to know more about Cyprus.
It seems that as long as a genocide is initiated by the Christians against Turks, it is accepted silently. "Euro-genocide"? Modern day crusades? How many Euro-parlamentarians have seen this book? I guess none.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars There are two sides to every coin!, 26 Nov 1998
By A Customer
This review is from: The Genocide Files (Hardcover)
I bought this book after having watched an interview with Harry Scott Gibbons on SKY 1. The Genocide Files provides a different and accurate review of what happened in Cyprus. It offers the reader a different side of the coin to which the general public are vulnerable to from Greek Cypriot/Greek propoganda. It is so moving, and horrifying at times, that after a while I had to give up reading it a bed time. As you read it you get so involoved you feel like you've lived through the whole incident.
It consists of 3 'books', the second of which is pretty heavy going, but very historically informative. I would recommend it to anyone who is interested in reading about Cyprus.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Truth will always come out, 3 Feb 2013
This review is from: The Genocide Files (Hardcover)
In 2004, I had to literally drop everything and fly out to Cyprus and I was not particularly looking forward to my trip. I had memories of Cyprus seeing British Soldiers having a gun shoved into the back their head and having their head blasted into pieces in crowded shopping areas. The people around then claiming not to have seen anything. Terribly myopic people then and now. I recall how in th early 1970's I had seen a village surrounded and the people murdered by armed men - some of whom were in uniform yet now that massacre never happened. Strange that the units MO signed lots of death certificates! One young woman had been clearly raped and her attackers had mutilated her body. There was worse. The world clearly had either forgotten or didn't want to know. Yet at last someone has told the truth about what happened, why Turkey - fed up with procrastination and empty promises, intervened in the name of humanity. Even today the south cannot accept what it's people did. I have since visited the south and been told "It is our land they can *** off," the Greeks miss out the letter "C." If the Turkish army ever left he blood letting would start again because the Akritas Plan still lives. Buy, read and be educated. Then you will understand and when the Greek Cypriots tell you "We were such good friends and don't understand why Turkey intervened" tell them murder is a crime and that mass murder of a people is genocide and they did it. In my opinion Turkey made one mistake when it intervened. They should have pushed right across the island and forced every Greek out of Cyprus. The Genocide Files explains in incredible detail what happened before Turkey intervened. Oh aska Greek Cypriot about EOKA B, never existed is the reply! They call it "selective amnesia" and "amnesia" is a Greek word! How appropriate.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


29 of 42 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Beware the Greeks, 22 Feb 2002
By 
Lindsey Freeman (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Genocide Files (Hardcover)
This book should bring home to readers that there is more than one side, the Greek side, to the Cyprus impasse. Had the Turkish army not come to the rescue of the Turkish Cypriots in 1974 there would now be no Turks on the island. It also shows up the impotence of the United Nations when a favoured nation (Greece over Turkey)is the agressor.
As a regular visitor to the island from the mid 60's thro' to the present I can see how the Turkish Cypriots have progressed from a suppressed people to at last enjoying a freedom, cohesion, and a relatively well off society, which I think would have been denied them but for mainland Turkish intervention. I can see no reason for insisting the island becomes 'unified'. The Greeks would surely dominate again. Each side of the island as it currently stands is unified and peaceful. Going back to the past is not an option.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 28 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Truth Hurts, 24 May 2005
By A Customer
This review is from: The Genocide Files (Hardcover)
The Genocide Files is a complete account of the horrific atrocities commited by Greek terrorists on innocent Turks. This attempted ethnic cleansing occured between 1960 and 1974 while the whole world stood by and did nothing. Nothing, that is, until Turkey sent in a peacekeeping force and undertook to do what the U.N should have done long before. Now, because of continuing Greek propaganda, Turkey has been made to look the guilty party and the Greek authorities are using their european contacts to pile pressure on Turkey to leave the island. This book tells it as it was. It is based on fact. It has been written by a recognised English journalist who diligently put what he saw and learnt into writing. On reading 'The Genocide Files' you will realise the plight of the innocent Turks at the hands of EOKA terrorists in their quest for ENOSIS, which means the uniting of Cyprus with Greece. The Greek dream of Enosis still lives today and is also called for by the Greek Orthodox Church. More information on this subject can be read on [...]
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars you cant deny what is true....., 16 Jan 2007
This review is from: The Genocide Files (Hardcover)
I am truly thankful that there is actually someone with a 'neutral' background has actually been able to come forward and speak up for the turkish cypriots. I am not somebody who enjoys the fact that Cyprus has a 'problem' and i believe in peace and unity. But growing up in the UK i have only ever seen the turks portrayed as the bad guys. come on they advertised north cyprus on the side of a london bus and the greek cypriots were going crazy. At the end of the day this man has written a book about the atrocities commited to the turkish cypriots. If anyone doubts the authenticity of his claims there are many people i know who can verify his claims and the goings on in cyprus pre 1974 when the regime to rid cyprus of turks, led by archbishop makarios. If it wasnt for turkey's so called 'invasion' i wouldnt be alive today. As someone who as lost family members pre 1974 and during the war, i hope this is some relief to their souls that finally someone has spoken out on our behalf. And submitted the truth. read this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Delegate of Cyprus @ United Nations Online, 5 May 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: The Genocide Files (Hardcover)
One of my friend suggested that I should read this book. But thinking that it would have been any other books on Cyprus, I just ignored it. One day I was so bored and started having a look in the shelf and found 'the Genocide Files'. I simply could not put it down, had to read it all at once. Over and over again...picturing the events that took place in that beautiful island of Mediterranean Sea. This book should be read by anyone who would like to understand the Cyprus Issue. I would like to thank Mr. Gibbsons for his invaluable work.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 36 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A very very Compulsory read for "Kofi Annan", 31 May 2005
By 
Meh Metcik (London England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Genocide Files (Hardcover)
Before someone like "kofi Anan" makes a plan to unite an island he knows nothing about (Cyprus) and favour the greek cypriots in their every desire to banquish all turks and others off the island and completely strip the Turkish Cypriots of the most basic of human rights he should sit down and read this book!
It upsets me tremendously that as a turkish cypriot i have been told stories when i was younger, always thinking they were exagerated, and finding the actualities of the events within this book. What hold have the greeks on the european nation that everybody turns a blind eye. It's very obvious that the interest America and England have in the island has influenced other european nations. It's so sad that the propaganda is not only being allowed but believed.
If there was a way of letting everyone know what really went on in cyprus from the beginning of the 1900's to the present day then the public concensus would be very different to what it is today. The greeks would be very humbled indeed. The question is "Why are the English and Americans trying so hard to not only hide but eliminate the truth?"
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Genocide Files
The Genocide Files by Harry Scott Gibbons (Hardcover - Dec 1997)
Used & New from: £7.90
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews