Customer Reviews


27 Reviews
5 star:
 (21)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A light hearted dictionary of the Royal Navy's slang
"Then my oppo told this great dit about the Jimmy - they were in a drop of roughers and ... " If you've ever been confused by Jolly Jack's conversations, here's your chance to find out what it all means.
The author is (was?) a Doctor in the RN and has compiled a fairly comprehensive dictionary of the unusual and inventive vocabulary used by the sailors of...
Published on 6 Feb. 2001 by mwra

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars
Gift for someone else
Published 7 months ago by Odin


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars JACKSPEAK, 10 April 2011
By 
Mr. E. B. Cowell (UK Cambs) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Jackspeak: A Guide to British Naval Slang & Usage (Paperback)
This is the third copy of the book that I have purchased. The others were given away. It is oddly infomative and brilliantly funny. A great book for anyone interested in the language of the Navy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Jack Speak, 1 Dec. 2010
This review is from: Jackspeak: A Guide to British Naval Slang & Usage (Paperback)
My brothers an officer in the Navy and told me a friend of his had this book and had said it is so true and funny - so i brought him one! (and his mate was right it is really funny & true)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 22 Feb. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Jackspeak: A Guide to British Naval Slang & Usage (Paperback)
Rick Jolly, surgeon, and the master of compliation in the realm of naval mirth, keeps naval language alive and the use of Tugg cartoons as always raises a chuckle.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Jackspeak, 28 Aug. 2013
By 
Mr. Leslie A. Spencer (Norfolk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Jackspeak: A Guide to British Naval Slang & Usage (Paperback)
The up to date book translating Naval slang into something that everyday non-Naval people can understand. Got it wind up some Service colleagues
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Although I believe he was delighted As above, 4 Aug. 2014
This review is from: Jackspeak: A Guide to British Naval Slang & Usage (Paperback)
As this book was purchased for a family friend I personally cannot comment.
Although I believe he was delighted

As above.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Jackspeak, 11 Aug. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Jackspeak: A Guide to British Naval Slang & Usage (Paperback)
Bought this as a present for an ex-sailor. He has found loads of interest in it and says it's a book you can pick up at any spare moment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent service., 9 Jun. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Jackspeak: A Guide to British Naval Slang & Usage (Paperback)
Despatched as promised. Arrived in good time in excellent condition. DON'T KNOW WHAT MORE CAN BE ADDED HERE , A BOOK IS A BOOK
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great for a laugh., 16 Oct. 2013
By 
Mrs. M.A. McGillen (Huercal-Overa,Spain) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Jackspeak: A Guide to British Naval Slang & Usage (Paperback)
This is a great book and has kept my husband amused for hours. Well worth a read especially if you are ex-services.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Any Ex matlot will love this., 5 Sept. 2014
By 
This review is from: Jackspeak: A Guide to British Naval Slang & Usage (Paperback)
Any Ex matlot will love this... Hand it to people you work with to decipher what you are saying!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Love it. 25 away from the sea & within ..., 25 Feb. 2015
By 
Mr. W. MacDonald "Bill MacD" (Edinburgh UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Jackspeak: A Guide to British Naval Slang & Usage (Paperback)
Love it. 25 away from the sea & within 10 mins I was talking about sippers with my shippers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Jackspeak: A Guide to British Naval Slang & Usage
Jackspeak: A Guide to British Naval Slang & Usage by Rick Jolly (Paperback - 31 Dec. 2000)
Used & New from: £0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews