Customer Reviews


22 Reviews
5 star:
 (18)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Simply brammers
This is easily the fifteenth copy of Jackspeak that I've bought over the years, and it just gets better with every edition. It's now the standard gizzit that I give Americans so they can understand a bit more of what this Pompey Girl says. Funny, genuinely informative, and as absorbing to browse through as it is essential for reference. The illustrations by Tugg are...
Published on 4 Nov 2004 by Karen Traviss

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars
Gift for someone else
Published 4 months ago by Odin


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Simply brammers, 4 Nov 2004
By 
Karen Traviss (Devizes, Wiltshire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Jackspeak: A Guide to British Naval Slang & Usage (Paperback)
This is easily the fifteenth copy of Jackspeak that I've bought over the years, and it just gets better with every edition. It's now the standard gizzit that I give Americans so they can understand a bit more of what this Pompey Girl says. Funny, genuinely informative, and as absorbing to browse through as it is essential for reference. The illustrations by Tugg are priceless.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A light hearted dictionary of the Royal Navy's slang, 6 Feb 2001
By 
mwra (Portsmouth, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Jackspeak: A Guide to British Naval Slang & Usage (Paperback)
"Then my oppo told this great dit about the Jimmy - they were in a drop of roughers and ... " If you've ever been confused by Jolly Jack's conversations, here's your chance to find out what it all means.
The author is (was?) a Doctor in the RN and has compiled a fairly comprehensive dictionary of the unusual and inventive vocabulary used by the sailors of today's Royal Navy. As well as explaining the meaning and use of the words he gives some glimpse as to their derivation.
If I have any critique it is that the Fleet Air Arm are over credited as the source of many words though this is probably a reflection of where the author served most of his time. Still, this doesn't detract from the book.
Heartily recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The navy at its best, 25 Aug 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Jackspeak: A Guide to British Naval Slang & Usage (Paperback)
My son is in the "mob" and forever "spinning a dit" so at least I know what he is talking about! The book is full of the best and worst of navy humour and a facinating insight into their constantly evolving language.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Let me spin you a dit, pull up a bollard shippers, 2 Nov 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Jackspeak: A Guide to British Naval Slang & Usage (Paperback)
A book of true entertainment to those who have, and have not, served in the Andrew. Revised several times since it was first published, with a percentage of the profit going to the South Atlantic Medal Association (1982)(SAMA(82)). Doc Rick Jolly spent most of his carear as a Naval Doctor with the Bootnecks and the Waffoos(Royal Marines and Fleet Air Arm). He may be remembered by most as the Doctor in charge of 'The Red and Green Life Machine' (the field hospital at Ajax Bay during the Falklands's War), and was decorated by both the British and Argentine governments.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Jackspeak to Civilian - A unique dictionalry, 4 Sep 2009
This review is from: Jackspeak: A Guide to British Naval Slang & Usage (Paperback)
As a former Royal Navy Officer and colleague of Rick Jolly I may well be very biased. This is an outstanding book detailing the myriad of slang words and terms used by RN and RM service personnel from the various specialisations. Many of the terms are "colourful", historic and rather non PC but all display that unique sense of humour, sometimes black, shown by "Jack", "Royal" and "Jenny". I have often considered that this book should be given to all who join the RN/RM. Always a talking point, often taken to the loo for "a quiet read" and often referred to by new colleagues when I slip into Jack's vernacular, my copy is well thumbed. The cartoons by TUGG are absolutely brilliant and illustrate beautifully the sense and sensibility of many of the terms. Buy this book and a smile will never leave your face, your laughter will annoy people round you and your sides will always ache.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Jackspeak, 18 Nov 2009
By 
J. Firman "Jackie" (Ipswich) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Jackspeak: A Guide to British Naval Slang & Usage (Paperback)
I purchased the "Jackspeak" book for my son, who is joining the Royal Navy.
My son found is book very entertaining, also very interesting.
I have also been looking through the book with much interest!! It is very funny, the different slang for words is so funny.
A must have for anyone joining the Royal Navy or Royal Marines!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 12 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Jackspeak: A Guide to British Naval Slang & Usage (Paperback)
Good trip down memory lane with this one. Arrived well packaged & on time
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent service., 9 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Jackspeak: A Guide to British Naval Slang & Usage (Paperback)
Despatched as promised. Arrived in good time in excellent condition. DON'T KNOW WHAT MORE CAN BE ADDED HERE , A BOOK IS A BOOK
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A master piece of Naval Humour, 7 Mar 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Jackspeak: A Guide to British Naval Slang & Usage (Paperback)
Here is an excellent compilation of all the "special and unique" language of the Royal Navy. It will probably confuse those who have never served but for those that have it will be absolutely fantastic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great for a laugh., 16 Oct 2013
By 
Mrs. M.A. McGillen (Huercal-Overa,Spain) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Jackspeak: A Guide to British Naval Slang & Usage (Paperback)
This is a great book and has kept my husband amused for hours. Well worth a read especially if you are ex-services.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Jackspeak: A Guide to British Naval Slang & Usage
Jackspeak: A Guide to British Naval Slang & Usage by Rick Jolly (Paperback - 31 Dec 2000)
Used & New from: £7.48
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews