Customer Reviews


18 Reviews
5 star:
 (15)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars EXCELLENT
As an ex matelot who served 23 years in the RN I found this a marvellous read. Although primarily a dictionary of slang and containing a lot of words more applicable to Marines and F.A.A. it still provides a lot of entertainment. If you do not like vulgarity it is not for you.I have even loaned my copy to non-servicemen/women who have thoroughly enjoyed it.
Published on 14 Jun 2000 by jparker594@aol.com

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars condition not good
Condition not as expected cover has cup mark on it has been used as a mat. Contents will no doubt be enjoyed by ex submariner.
Published on 24 Nov 2012 by LL


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars EXCELLENT, 14 Jun 2000
This review is from: Jackspeak. The Pusser's Rum Guide to Royal Navy Slanguage (Paperback)
As an ex matelot who served 23 years in the RN I found this a marvellous read. Although primarily a dictionary of slang and containing a lot of words more applicable to Marines and F.A.A. it still provides a lot of entertainment. If you do not like vulgarity it is not for you.I have even loaned my copy to non-servicemen/women who have thoroughly enjoyed it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good Prosperity stuff, 12 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Jackspeak. The Pusser's Rum Guide to Royal Navy Slanguage (Paperback)
I am ex Navy plus I think the author gave me a hang over cure when he was on the Hecate
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars old sea dog, 30 Nov 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Jackspeak. The Pusser's Rum Guide to Royal Navy Slanguage (Paperback)
Having spent a life time a sea and read this book I can only say that this is the penultimate vocabulry for the whanabee seaman,
yee all split the main brace,havast yee all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars shipmates of royal navy vitalled and nonvitalled, 10 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Jackspeak. The Pusser's Rum Guide to Royal Navy Slanguage (Paperback)
IF YOU CAN IMAGINE RUNNING UP LAUNDRY HILL IN HMS GANGES IN BLEAK WINTER MORNINGS .WE WERE FRESH RAW RECRUITS CALLED NOSSERS .THE BONEHEADS (GUNNERY INSTRUCTERS ) IN THERE BLACK GAITERS AND PEAK CAPS AND THE FAMOUS WOODEN BATTERN ,THERE BOOTS WERE LIKE MIRRORS AND IF YOU WERE DONE FORE ANY THING THEY WOULD TEACH YOU WHAT FORE .THE SHINY BOOTS WOULD CONNECT WITH YOUR SHINS ,IT HURT ...THERE NOT ALLOWED TO HURT YOU ANYMORE.... I AM LOOKING FORWARD TO GETTING MY BOOK .YEH THE TOT IS STILL AROUND I BELONG TO THE R.N.E.B.A. AND WE GET TOGETHER EVERY YEAR ITS GOOD FUN AND WE CELEBRATE WITH UP SPIRITS I HAVE BOUGHT ON AMAZON SMALL MINITURES OF 15 YEAR OLD RUM HOPE THIS HAS VOICED TO SHIPMATES THATS ONE THING NO ONE CAN TAKE AWAY YOUR MEMORIES SO LONG SHIPMATES MICHEL ETASSE GUERSEY NICK NAME FLASH BASED HONKONG 1971 -1973 WANCHI CHINA FLEET CLUB ROSEMARY TOWERS MARRIED QUARTERS HAPPY DAYS......GUERNSEY C.I.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars All members and ex members of the Royal Navy and Royal Marines should have a copy, 30 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Jackspeak. The Pusser's Rum Guide to Royal Navy Slanguage (Paperback)
This book reflects the service humour and comraderie in the Senior service and makes good relaxing reading for anyone interested in service life. The illustrations by Jack are also as ever, highly amusing if the reader understands the source of the humour. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good reading, 29 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Jackspeak. The Pusser's Rum Guide to Royal Navy Slanguage (Paperback)
I am ex Royal Navy and bought this book for a friend so she could have a laugh reading a different landguage.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great, 7 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Jackspeak. The Pusser's Rum Guide to Royal Navy Slanguage (Paperback)
Being an ex naval person, I learned a few new words which I hadn't heard of while I was serving
Well worth a read and as a reference
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Essential Book of Maritime Humour, 23 May 2013
By 
Mr. M. Parker "Bluegrasser" (Farnborough, Hampshire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Jackspeak. The Pusser's Rum Guide to Royal Navy Slanguage (Paperback)
I "swallowed the anchor" a long time ago, and reading this book bought back a great many memories, good and bad, and gave me many, many laughs. It should be mentioned that the cartoons are also brilliant. For anyone who has served at sea or just values Britain's great naval heritage this book is a gem, and cannot be recommended too highly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Very funny, 26 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Jackspeak. The Pusser's Rum Guide to Royal Navy Slanguage (Paperback)
Being current RM,this book is really interesting and funny,loads of stuff Ive never heard of in the corps. Great buy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars condition not good, 24 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Jackspeak. The Pusser's Rum Guide to Royal Navy Slanguage (Paperback)
Condition not as expected cover has cup mark on it has been used as a mat. Contents will no doubt be enjoyed by ex submariner.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Jackspeak. The Pusser's Rum Guide to Royal Navy Slanguage
Jackspeak. The Pusser's Rum Guide to Royal Navy Slanguage by Rick Jolly (Paperback - 10 Mar 1989)
Used & New from: £20.42
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews