Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars wonderful stuff!, 11 Nov 2005
This review is from: Dragons: More than a myth? (Paperback)
I must admit I had been looking forward to reading this book for a very long time. When it finally landed on my doormat, I tore at the parcel like a kid with a Christmas present and then sat myself down to eagerly read the pages within its lush covers. I can assure you that I was not disappointed. I can fully understand now why it took Mr. Freeman so long to write. It is an extremely in-depth look at all things to do with Dragons. It’s the “everything you ever wanted to know about dragons but were afraid to ask” fieldguide and more! Any budding researcher should always have a copy of this book to hand. If anyone had the intention to write a book of this nature then he is just the man to do it, as he has crossed the globe looking for dragons and their kin! You can say what you like about Richard and C.F.Z but you’ve got to hand it to him… while other researchers sit on their backsides in front of a computer screen, Mr Freeman is in the Gobi desert hunting the death worm, crawling through the caves of Thailand in search of the Naga or laying bait in Loch Morar for the Morag…. the list goes on.
It is a wonderfully written book and I commend Mr Freeman on the fantastic job he has done. I strongly recommend it to anyone with even the slightest interest in monsters and the people who hunt for them. 10 out of 10!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Enter the Dragons..., 13 Nov 2005
This review is from: Dragons: More than a myth? (Paperback)
In the minds of some, someone who accepts – at least potentially – the notion that dragons may be real, flesh-and-blood creatures should seek medical advice, keep taking the tablets and have a lie down in a darkened room. Perhaps their bubbles don’t float all the way to the top, you may opine.
Well, it aint necessarily so. Richard Freeman is a cryptozoologist of international reputation and stature who is probably the world’s greatest expert on dragon lore. For acolytes of winged fire-breathers this book is a must-have. Freeman takes a clinical look at the whole subject of dragons; dragons through history, dragons throughout the world’s cultures and dragons – whatever they may be – in our current era.
The fact is that there are numerous instances of individuals who have been killed or severely injured by zoologically unclassified creatures that, physiologically and temperamentally, match up to the stereotypical image of the dragon or something very similar to it.
I’ve read numerous books on cryptozoology. A disturbing number leave the reader as baffled at the end as they were when they first opened the front cover. Not so with Freeman’s work. It is comprehensive, well written and thought – provoking. It also suggests four possible explanations for the dragon phenomenon. None of them, armchair cryptozoologists will be glad to know, involve the usual clap-trap about hallucinations and hoaxes. Oh, there are hallucinators and hoaxers out there to be sure, but they cannot account for the wealth of evidence put forward by Freeman that there is more – a lot more – to the dragon phenomenon than meets the eye.
Not to be missed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars An absolute must !, 7 Nov 2005
This review is from: Dragons: More than a myth? (Paperback)
I must admit I had been looking forward to reading this book for a very long time. When it finally landed on my doormat, I tore at the parcel like a kid with a Christmas present and then sat myself down to eagerly read the pages within its lush covers. I can assure you that I was not disappointed. I can fully understand now why it took Mr. Freeman so long to write. It is an extremely in-depth look at all things to do with Dragons. It’s the “everything you ever wanted to know about dragons but were afraid to ask” fieldguide and more! Any budding researcher should always have a copy of this book to hand. If anyone had the intention to write a book of this nature then he is just the man to do it, as he has crossed the globe looking for dragons and their kin! You can say what you like about Richard and C.F.Z but you’ve got to hand it to him… while other researchers sit on their backsides in front of a computer screen, Mr Freeman is in the Gobi desert hunting the death worm, crawling through the caves of Thailand in search of the Naga or laying bait in Loch Morar for the Morag…. the list goes on.
It is a wonderfully written book and I commend Mr Freeman on the fantastic job he has done. I strongly recommend it to anyone with even the slightest interest in monsters and the people who hunt for them. 10 out of 10!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Supurb, 4 Nov 2005
By 
O. Lewis (Wales) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Dragons: More than a myth? (Paperback)
This is a truly fantastic book and a modern classic in cryptozoology.
Extensively researched and very well written, this is the first proper scientific research into dragons in over 100 years. An essential reference book for anyone who wants to learn about dragons, zooform phenomena, cryptozoology, mythology, natural history or even how gigantic crocodiles can get. Dragons more than a myth makes fine bedtime reading too if you fancy a chill before you drift off to sleep. The Illustrations by Mark North add an extra dimension to the book and, extra fun can be had spotting hidden pictures within them as well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars More than a textbook - a book for academics and dreamers, 11 Oct 2005
This review is from: Dragons: More than a myth? (Paperback)
Richard Freeman has amassed a phenomenal range of reports of large reptile-like animals from around the world and put them together as a very readable textbook. He concentrates on the reports normally considered to be of myths and legends and then gently moves them into the real world with explanations of how the reports may have originated. He does so in a believeable and logical way.
In fact this is really a dual book, it is a textbook with a good index, where if one was visiting say The Gambia or Thailand one could look up what the local dragon legend was, but it is also a good read.Everytime that I have looked something up I have found what I wanted and then finished the chapter.
I would advise any serious herpetologist or explorer to read it urgently -it will broaden your mind and open up possibilities that modern academic training tends to suppress.Just having read it will improve your report writing. To Folk-lorists if you don't read it you will have missed what may be the most important text of decade.
Chris. M. Moiser
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Dragons - from fiction to fact, 26 April 2012
By 
Neil Arnold (Kent, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Dragons: More than a myth? (Paperback)
Richard Freeman has written a book that has, for so many years needed to be written. Books on dragons are few and far between, especially books that stretch beyond the myth of fairytale and examine evidence and eye-witness accounts of alleged real dragon sightings.

No stone goes unturned here as Freeman goes on a quest to far away exotic lands, down into inky black waters, and through many a steamy jungle to find if dragons, of a flesh and blood nature actually existed. The idea of dragons goes way beyond the fantastic tales of fire-breathing, leather winged beasts, and Richard is a dab hand at analysing some classic stories, from Scotland's Loch Ness to obscure confrontations with possible prehistoric survivors. All manner of scaly horrors are highlighted, bringing fiction into reality, examining archetypes, and detailing modern beliefs and encounters.

At almost 300 pages, 'Dragons: More Than A Myth ?' is a vital book for cryptozoology, and will interest anyone who has an eye for dinosaurs, mythology, and dragon slaying!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Here Be Dragons, 5 Dec 2005
By 
Michael B. Williams (Australia) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Dragons: More than a myth? (Paperback)
When the map reads: ‘Here Be Dragons’, no one knows better than cryptozoologist Richard Freeman that the creatures lurking beyond the map’s edge are much more than myth and legend – they are flesh-and-blood.
Would-be explorers, naturalists and budding cryptozoologists will be thrilled by the legends and lore contained within Freeman’s dragon ‘bible’, for wont of a better description. He relates tales from every corner of the globe, taking the reader on a dark and wild ride through the reptile kingdom.
Freeman is as good as his writing, leaving his comfy armchair behind for the harsh challenges of the jungle and desert in his hunt for proof that dragons are real.
He catalogues numerous instances of strange human deaths at the claws of unknown, dragon-like cryptids – from a fog-bound sea off the Florida coast to a rural village in the wilds of New Guinea.
Lavishly illustrated by the talented Mark North (sure to be in demand after his efforts on Dragons), Dragons: More than a Myth? is a handsome tome and a worthy addition to any Fortean library.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 'Dragons' definitely more than a myth., 19 Nov 2005
By 
lisa dowley (North Staffordshire) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Dragons: More than a myth? (Paperback)
I am quite sure that if you open up a dictionary and look up the word ‘Dragon’ it would read ‘See Richard Freeman’.
This long awaited and much anticipated seven year labour of love is by no means a disappointment. It is packed full of informative, well researched knowledge which is presented in an ‘easy reading format’ and the hidden images add a humorous touch.
In fact it is quite clear that Mr Freeman has limitless knowledge on this subject and that this book is a condensed version of his thoughts and views which have been combined beautifully with his theories and factual information.
If you are embarking on a research project, serious about your Dragons be it in a mythical, factual or just a little curious of this subject matter then this is a must have for any Dragon enthusiast be they expert or a curious novice.
When your parents told you that 'there were no such things as Dragons' they did indeed lie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars arn't ya gonna eat me?, 9 Dec 2007
By 
Mr. R. J. Paul (Devonshire UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Dragons: More than a myth? (Paperback)
Hasn't anybody here noticed the number of 'typos' in this book? It's full of them. You'd think that nowadays these typos would show up straight away on a spell/grammar checker. This text should have been proof-read for sure before being published. I have a few other niggles. There are hardly any photos of any monsters, some of them reported to be good, so I am wondering why not..copyright? Despite the recent popular/science enthusiasm that birds are 'avian dinosaurs', they arn't, they're birds, and no doubt this idea will change in due course like a fad. The authors idea that Mokele Mbembe is a giant monitor lizard is in my humble, silly, as monitors don't graze on vegetation, as far as I'm aware, they eat lizards and insects/carrion etc. so scale that up. Another niggle is that no dinosaur-monster is considered able to have survived, by the author, despite birds surviving and living ooparts like the coelacanth, and then silence of opinion regarding many pterosaurs reported flying about.
The general anti-christian stance also got up my nose. Despite all this, it's fairly entertaining, the early chapters, including the paranormal stuff, and pterosaurs, but drags on a bit with the lake monsters, and dosn't go into what they could be, re. the fossil record hardly at all, so dissapointing there. I don't really think it justifies the top marks given in these reviews, but it's not bad at all really, as not much is written about dragons. It could be a lot better though. It has the feel of being run off on a photocopier with a bit of cut and paste. We're spared the medieval fairy tale stuff, except for the intro chapter, and that's good, but most of the 19th cent. accounts are a waste of space as they always seem to lose all the evidence, if they ever had any, toss baby monsters back into the pond, or in a skip, that sort of thing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Dragons: More than a myth?
Dragons: More than a myth? by Richard Freeman (Paperback - 12 Jun 2005)
£12.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews