Customer Reviews


8 Reviews


3 star
0

2 star
0

1 star
0

 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Secretary hand ABC, 20 Feb. 2010
By 
Mr. Donald Vincent "OU history society" (Redditch, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: A Secretary Hand ABC Book (Paperback)
A very good book for the beginner ona very difficult subject. The examples of wills etc. given were most useful. One could check one's work in progress.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very useful for palaeography beginners, 14 Dec. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Secretary Hand ABC Book (Paperback)
I'm studying palaeography as part of my university course, and I've found the book useful in identifying letter forms and working out the differences between certain letters. Also has example documents in the back plus transcriptions, which are useful for practice! Not suitable for teaching yourself palaeography in itself, but great for providing some extra help as part of a structured course.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent book for beginners, 30 Oct. 2014
By 
Mrs. E H. Jenkins (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Secretary Hand ABC Book (Paperback)
Excellent book for beginners. Small drawings alert you to the words written underneath in secretary hand, to familiarise beginners with the characters , letters and abbreviations.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good reference book, 5 Nov. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Secretary Hand ABC Book (Paperback)
Very good to use as a quick reference if in difficulties with old texts and also useful to familiarise yourself with the general styles of the period beforehand.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars How the written English language developed., 1 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Secretary Hand ABC Book (Paperback)
A great help when reading dry and dusty (literally) old documents written in English, not necessarily as we recognise it today.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars So useful, 19 Jun. 2015
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Secretary Hand ABC Book (Paperback)
So useful - and an essential if you are transcribing a document written in Secretary Hand. Clear and easy - no bothersome, wordy explanations, just pictures and examples. I love it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Used by our group all the time. We are ..., 1 April 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Secretary Hand ABC Book (Paperback)
Used by our group all the time. We are transcribing baptism records from the 1500's and could not be without this help.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 10 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Secretary Hand ABC Book (Paperback)
excellent
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

A Secretary Hand ABC Book
A Secretary Hand ABC Book by Alf Ison (Paperback - 31 Dec. 1982)
Used & New from: £4.50
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews