Customer Reviews


16 Reviews
5 star:
 (14)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A "must have" book for the sovereign collector
This book is indeed a "must have" for your library if you collect, or are interested in, British gold sovereigns.

The number and quality of illustrations (both colour and b&w) is impressive, and the text shows Marsh's vast knowledge of this superb coin. Stories along the way are interspersed with mintage figures and other facts surrounding the history,...
Published on 17 Sept. 2007 by A. P. Price

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars The book was somewhat disappointing as it was published in ...
The book was somewhat disappointing as it was published in 2000, and I had hoped for a later-dated one as it was a gift for my Grandson who is developing an interest in the subject
Published 1 month ago by Mrs Carol Crowther


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A "must have" book for the sovereign collector, 17 Sept. 2007
This review is from: The Gold Sovereign: Golden Jubilee Edition (Hardcover)
This book is indeed a "must have" for your library if you collect, or are interested in, British gold sovereigns.

The number and quality of illustrations (both colour and b&w) is impressive, and the text shows Marsh's vast knowledge of this superb coin. Stories along the way are interspersed with mintage figures and other facts surrounding the history, production and dispersion of the sovereign.

His own rating system goes into great detail as to how common (or not) a particular coin is. As I own one of the rare sovereigns listed in the book (1908-C), I was particularly interested to see what was written about this particular coin.

Much detail on varieties, die numbers etc are included.

All in all - this is a great book!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An excellent book on British gold coins 1816-1975, 21 Feb. 2000
By A Customer
This book, and its companion on the Half-Sovereign (same author) are aimed at the specialist collector and the coin dealer. It gives various photographs of significant types as well as some indications of likely market prices. This second edition has substantially more material than its predecessor.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


30 of 32 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sovereign collectors must have this book!, 30 Jun. 2003
This review is from: The Gold Sovereign: Golden Jubilee Edition (Hardcover)
This book is fantastic.
This is the "must have" book for anyone intersted in Sovereigns.
There are details here that you will find nowhere else. The author has collected sovereigns for some 40 years and with his easy style, use of anecdotes, reports of hoards and discoveries, etc., tells a good tale.
It is well-illustrated with good colour photographs sharply printed. Rarity ratings are given, along with advice on collecting, notes on how many of rare issues the author has seen and examined, of considerable interest if one is interested in collecting sovereigns.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must for any serious sovereign collector, 25 Sept. 2011
This review is from: The Gold Sovereign: Golden Jubilee Edition (Hardcover)
I've been collecting/dealing in sovereigns for over 15 years, and this book is one of the best resources for any serious sovereign collector or investor. Well-written and researched, collectors will appreciate the level of detail Michael Marsh has put into the book. He has covered everything from known die numbers for each relevant date, all seven mints, sovereign memorabilia, sovereign patterns, and so on. He has also covered the moderns right up to 2005. Well-illustrated and well-written, and overall, a great, technical read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An absolute must for every collector, 14 Mar. 2011
This review is from: The Gold Sovereign: Golden Jubilee Edition (Hardcover)
If you are collecting Sovereigns, then this is what you need. Imho the very best book when it comes to one of the most important oins in history. Extremely well done and with a lot of informations. Very handy, so you can take it with you to coin fairs. I know I do :D

So in short: If you collect sovereigns or are interested in them, then better get the book now! ( you can thank me later ;)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Golden oldies, 14 Aug. 2010
By 
J. C. Parry "Jarp Cry" (North Wales) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Gold Sovereign: Golden Jubilee Edition (Hardcover)
This book is a very good index for Gold Sovereign collectors, it gives good information on coin value based on coin quality and not on current cost. If you are looking for a book that is purely for Sovereigns then this is it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The absolute and essential guide for sovereign students and collectors, 2 Jun. 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Gold Sovereign: Golden Jubilee Edition (Hardcover)
The work of Michael Marsh has no parallel in its discovery of pricey varieties and its cataloguing them. This is an anniversary edition with all that you'll need, and as more up to date pricing, check out Spink, Heritage, Stacks, and Goldbergs archives to name but a few.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent for collectors, 24 Jan. 2014
By 
S. Williams - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Gold Sovereign: Golden Jubilee Edition (Hardcover)
Bought this for my Dad who loves his coin books especially sovereigns as likes to read about dates, prices etc. He is very happy with this book and has got all of the collection but this one was the last one he produced.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars The book was somewhat disappointing as it was published in ..., 29 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Gold Sovereign: Golden Jubilee Edition (Hardcover)
The book was somewhat disappointing as it was published in 2000, and I had hoped for a later-dated one as it was a gift for my Grandson who is developing an interest in the subject
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Gold sovereigns, 20 Jan. 2011
This review is from: The Gold Sovereign: Golden Jubilee Edition (Hardcover)
This is an excellent book. I acquired very good knowledge from it.
Earlier i sold some rare sovereigns in less value due to lack of knowledge.
I suggest every dealer must buy this book.

Every person knows.
No knowledge without college.
No life without wife.
similarly without this book. we are zero in this sovereigns business.
pardeep kumar
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Gold Sovereign: Golden Jubilee Edition
The Gold Sovereign: Golden Jubilee Edition by Michael A. Marsh (Hardcover - 11 Feb. 2002)
Used & New from: £11.50
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews