Customer Reviews


16 Reviews
5 star:
 (13)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Clearing up any confusion.
There seems to be some confusion about the coverage of this book, so let me (the author) try to clear things up!

This book is ONLY pre-decimal issues 1797 to 1970.

It was the intention to remove the decimal coin coverage from Collectors Coins GB. Decimal coverage was reduced over time. In 2010 the coverage of decimals (which was literally just the...
Published on 17 Feb. 2013 by C. H. Perkins

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars collectors coins book
Little disappointed .Found that the book only had a few different items. should have saved my money for this coin book and brought the next years book.
Published 21 months ago by ladyship


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Clearing up any confusion., 17 Feb. 2013
By 
C. H. Perkins (Kent, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Collectors' Coins GB, Pre-decimal Issues 1797-1970 (Paperback)
There seems to be some confusion about the coverage of this book, so let me (the author) try to clear things up!

This book is ONLY pre-decimal issues 1797 to 1970.

It was the intention to remove the decimal coin coverage from Collectors Coins GB. Decimal coverage was reduced over time. In 2010 the coverage of decimals (which was literally just the last few pages) was frozen and not updated. In the 2011 book it was pointed out that decimals would be dropped in the next edition.

And as planned, in this edition (2012/13) the decimals have been removed. The book now concentrates entirely on the predecimal issues from 1797 to 1970. Prices for pre-decimal coins HAVE been updated and are not frozen.

There have been a huge amount of decimal issues in recent times, e.g. the 29x different 50p coins for the London Olympics! There are enough decimals for an entire book, and as most people collect either decimals or the older pre-decimal coins, that is exactly what I'll do. There will be two separate books, this one for pre-decimal coins and another for the decimals. Currently the title Check Your Change covers decimals in great detail up to 2010 but will be updated very soon to include coins up to 2013.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good Value under a fiver !!, 30 Mar. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Collectors' Coins GB, Pre-decimal Issues 1797-1970 (Paperback)
Full of use full info on Variants of coins of certain years IE minting mistakes and much much more info, with accurate values
not wishful thinking.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 23 Mar. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Collectors' Coins GB, Pre-decimal Issues 1797-1970 (Paperback)
This is an excellent catalogue. I am not interested in the coins monetary value, as this changes up and down, but in the types of coins produced in different years. I'm just a collector of some coins not one that has to have every coins so it is excellent for me and more purposeful collectors.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The reference book for modern pre-decimal British coins., 21 April 2013
By 
MintMark (Hampshire, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Collectors' Coins GB, Pre-decimal Issues 1797-1970 (Paperback)
Any collector of modern (but pre-decimal) British coins should have this book. The layout is clear, the colour photographs are excellent and the values are up to date. Many listed varieties are illustrated and described and each section starts with a commentary about that type of coin and its history. And the price is jolly reasonable!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great book, 15 Feb. 2013
By 
Ms. J. Otter - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Collectors' Coins GB, Pre-decimal Issues 1797-1970 (Paperback)
Wanting a book that covered all pre decimal coins, this one was perfect.all I wanted was an up to date version of an older one I have.this covered all and more of the information I required.
Well recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Interesting Read, 15 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Collectors' Coins GB, Pre-decimal Issues 1797-1970 (Paperback)
Found this book very interesting to look through, nice pictures and details of coins. Would recommend for people with an interest in coins
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars VERY GOOD BOOK, 3 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Collectors' Coins GB, Pre-decimal Issues 1797-1970 (Paperback)
INTERESTING BOOK TO BUY, GOOD QUALITY, BEST BUY, GOOD PRICE FOR COLLECTORS LIBRARY, GOOD AUTHOR AND WELL SAID INSIDE DETAILS
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Well set out reference book for Coin Collectors, 18 Sept. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Collectors' Coins GB, Pre-decimal Issues 1797-1970 (Paperback)
This is an easy book to read, it is well laid out and I refer to it several times a day! Coins through the ages are laid out in a logical order and values in various grades easy to find.
There are also sections describing the coins you may have, variations on them and pointers about the rarer ones.
This is not a book leisure reading, but as a reference, particularly if you are thinking of purchasing a coin, it is invaluable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars EXCELLENT BOOK, 14 Dec. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Collectors' Coins GB, Pre-decimal Issues 1797-1970 (Paperback)
Found this an excellent reference book and would certainly recommend to anyone interested or thinking about collecting coins. Very good value for the money
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Metal Detecting, 5 Aug. 2013
This review is from: Collectors' Coins GB, Pre-decimal Issues 1797-1970 (Paperback)
I found this very useful when grading my coins I've found. I would recommend to anyone who has just started metal detecting.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Collectors' Coins GB, Pre-decimal Issues 1797-1970
Collectors' Coins GB, Pre-decimal Issues 1797-1970 by Christopher Henry Perkins (Paperback - 2 Jan. 2013)
Out of stock
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews