Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars24
4.5 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

I can only agree with the previous reviewer. The book fills a gap in the market as far as British coins are concerned. Many of the books on the subject are extremely short of both information and also adequate identification tools, be they drawings or photographs.

This book tells you virtually everything you need to know on the subject. It also gives you the values for coins in their different states of preservation, something the new collector does not always grasp. As with most things, both old and new, condition is everything. There are literally thousands of relatively old coins that can be purchased quite cheaply and that is simply because of their poor condition.

The book is a must for every collector and could save you quite a bit of money in the long run through making the wrong purchases.
0Comment|10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 November 2007
A fantastic coffee table reference book,in an excellent size.All you need to know about British coinage for the last 200 years.It is in an easy to understand format for expert or beginner.Highly recommended.
0Comment|14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 October 2007
Fantastic book.Tells you everything you could possibly want to know about GB coins whether new to the hobby or an old hand.Very clear and precise pictures and descriptions.Am looking forward to publication of the new 2008 edition next week.Don't waste money on inferior publications this is all you need!
0Comment|11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 24 January 2010
If you already own a Collector's Coins from a previous year then there is no point buying this one. Gold coins have been updated, but not silver (which increased in value twice as much as gold since last edition) ... otherwise there are just a tiny few updates and misprint corrections. The modern decimal coin values are ludicrous and bear zero relation to actual current prices.
It is a shame that no effort has been put into tracing current price data, the 2009 edition was my most frequent reference .. the book is sturdily manufactured and does not fall apart like others do ... it is also much lighter so you do not get tired handling it all day.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 April 2009
Once again, I was on the hunt for a book which would give me a guide on coin values after inheriting a box load of them, from all over the world, including British and Channel Island loose change of varying years.
As I had already bought Collectors' Banknotes: Treasury of the Bank of England' it seemed common sense to buy this one too.
Photographs are great. It makes identifying coins much easier because they are in colour and with much clarity.
It is an 'easy to follow' resource book and would recommend it absolutely!
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 August 2009
This book is good reference for coins from 1797 onwards. If you're after values for coins before 1797, then I recommend Coins of England 2009 by Spink. Even so, the Rotographic book does have extra information over the Spink book including coin weight and circulation figures, which can prove useful. It also has a lot info on varieties, as well.
I've given it 5 stars for value and info, though I would also give the Spink book 5 stars. It's possible to get the Spink book cheaper than listed on a certain online auction site. I have both books as they overlap each other with regards the information. All in all the Rotographic book is a useful guide. Recommended.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 April 2010
I have used this referance book in the past and found it packed with useful information great buy would recommend and find this latest book better thanever
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 4 May 2008
Well presented, good value and well worth the purchase. Unlike some books on the subject it's not stuffy, pretentious or academically challenged. Give it a try - an easy to follow guide. I believe the author does a good book on Roman coins as well e-books.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 May 2007
In my opinion, a must have reference book for both experienced and amateur collector's. Covering the values of British coins from 1797 in ascending order of face value, saving a great deal of time and frustration when trying to evaluate a series of coins covering more than one Monarch. The addition of the coin denomination at the top of each page adds to ease of use. A great deal of well researched information is given throughout, very useful when trying to identify grades and rarity. Of added interest is the information given on mintage, size, weight and metal with full colour imaging throughout.

In my experience of coin collecting (spanning over 50 years) this book is like a breath of fresh air. A marvelous companion when attending auctions or coin fairs due to it's handy size. The information contained within this book makes it worthy of a space on any coin collector's shelf.

I would highly recommend this book. F. McKernan (independent numismatist).
0Comment|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 October 2010
This book arrived in very good condition and well within the timescale offered. I am finding it most useful in acertaining the value of some coins I have for sale.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.