Customer Reviews


15 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Thoroughly recommended by Royal Navy
This little book is the benchmark for all Seaman Officers in the Royal Navy and my dog eared copy is never far away. Clear, concise and utterly thorough the novice and the expert will find this book useful for learning and re-learning.
Published on 15 April 2006 by William Lyons

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Didn't cover what was expected
Bought under the assumption it was more to do with the regulations for lights and shapes but more of a quiz book for naval officers
Published 11 months ago by D. Grierson


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Thoroughly recommended by Royal Navy, 15 April 2006
By 
William Lyons (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: A Seaman's Guide to the Rule of the Road (Paperback)
This little book is the benchmark for all Seaman Officers in the Royal Navy and my dog eared copy is never far away. Clear, concise and utterly thorough the novice and the expert will find this book useful for learning and re-learning.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Boxy but Good, 9 Oct 2009
By 
C. Jacoby (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Seaman's Guide to the Rule of the Road (Paperback)
Straightforward, no nonsense approach to COLREGS. You're doing well if you can remember it all on just one run-through. Despite lots of diagrams and short explanations, it's a bit dry, but this is a guide that you'll probably have to dip in to now and then to refresh your memory, so that's no drawback. Appears to contain everything you need to know on this subject.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars If only all manuals were this easy to follow..., 7 July 2009
By 
C. C. Weaver (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Seaman's Guide to the Rule of the Road (Paperback)
Having trained in the Royal Navy in the Mid-1970's using this little gem, I found it had hardly changed and is still the most concise book on the subject. Worth buying a new copy though, as it includes the latest amendments. A true Classic for practical seamanship, whether a yachtie or a VLCC Skipper.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars If you buy no other book for your YM or day Skipper - but this one, 5 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Seaman's Guide to the Rule of the Road (Paperback)
It's the best way of learning the rules of the road without working at it ! Just re-read it two or three times and light, mark or right of way will be fixed in your mind. It helped me get 100% on the collision regs for my YM theory.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Didn't cover what was expected, 10 Dec 2013
By 
D. Grierson "alexia" (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Seaman's Guide to the Rule of the Road (Paperback)
Bought under the assumption it was more to do with the regulations for lights and shapes but more of a quiz book for naval officers
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars this book is very good, 21 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Seaman's Guide to the Rule of the Road (Paperback)
even for those who already know the rules this book is very good ... puts us new problems and new ways to see the rules helping to realize them!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars essential reading, 18 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Seaman's Guide to the Rule of the Road (Paperback)
a real step by step guide with good reviews and tests to help you plough through one of the more info rule heavy sides of yachting. a must have
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A must buy for anyone going to sea if they don't know the Collision Regulations, 17 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Seaman's Guide to the Rule of the Road (Paperback)
I bought this book as a gift for a friend who was taking his RYA Day Skipper exam. When I was struggling to learn the Collision Regulations many years ago someone pointed me towards this book. It uses programmed learning . It is simple to read and the short sentences and illustrations make it quick and easy to work through the book. After two readings I had learned all of the regulations. Over the years I occasionally skim through it just to brush up on my knowledge. I have yet to find a quicker way of learning the Collision Regulation. Several pages were marked and I returned it for a replacement using Amazons excellent free service. It was replaced within a week. Only got to pay your taxes now Amazon!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Worth Every Penny, 20 Jan 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Seaman's Guide to the Rule of the Road (Paperback)
An excellent book; comprehensive cover of collision regulations, day shapes and lights and a method of learning them all; if you read through this a few times you should have no problems with the relevant RYA courses.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars R.O.R, 2 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Seaman's Guide to the Rule of the Road (Paperback)
having just started a coastalskipper course this is one of the most importantant books required for all of your rules of the road information
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

A Seaman's Guide to the Rule of the Road
A Seaman's Guide to the Rule of the Road by J.W.W. Ford (Paperback - 1 Aug 2003)
£12.50
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews