Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


38 of 39 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent training manual and reference book
This is a great book especially if you're just starting off on your sheep journey. You could easily manage a flock of 20-30 head within six months of reading this book. Well worth the money - even for the more experienced sheepster, there are sound tips and good advice.
Published on 16 Sep 2004 by Big Corla

versus
7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A good basic starter book, but not a bible
I bought this book 18 months ago as an absolute beginner sheep-owner, and on the whole, it has been pretty useful. This is chiefly because it is small and therefore not daunting to tackle, and providing concise explanations of techniques and some disesases. But by its nature, it can't be comrehensive, and I have found various internet sites more useful for diagnosing...
Published on 30 May 2009 by Elizabeth Trigg


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

38 of 39 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent training manual and reference book, 16 Sep 2004
By 
Big Corla (Mefein, Kerry, Ireland) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Sheep for Beginners (Gold Cockerel) (Paperback)
This is a great book especially if you're just starting off on your sheep journey. You could easily manage a flock of 20-30 head within six months of reading this book. Well worth the money - even for the more experienced sheepster, there are sound tips and good advice.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A good basic starter book, but not a bible, 30 May 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sheep for Beginners (Gold Cockerel) (Paperback)
I bought this book 18 months ago as an absolute beginner sheep-owner, and on the whole, it has been pretty useful. This is chiefly because it is small and therefore not daunting to tackle, and providing concise explanations of techniques and some disesases. But by its nature, it can't be comrehensive, and I have found various internet sites more useful for diagnosing illness, when a friendly farmer or vet has not been around to advise. I also found that some of the advice was a little biased. This is a useful little book, but it can't be your only source of information.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Clear and easy to follow guide, 28 Dec 2009
By 
Mrs. Jill Barker (Yorkshire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Sheep for Beginners (Gold Cockerel) (Paperback)
This book is very easy to read and understand. It does not bombard you with too much finer detail just the essentials for beginners. Its recommendations are "do-able" for small flock holders.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars a good buy, 6 Nov 2009
By 
E. A. Baker "welsh lady" (n wales) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Sheep for Beginners (Gold Cockerel) (Paperback)
I bought this book for friend of mine who are first time sheep keepers they are very pleased with it they said it has given them a lot more confidence handling the sheep and with hoof care
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great, 26 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sheep for Beginners (Gold Cockerel) (Paperback)
This is an an excellent book and well worth the money. It is written in plain English, suitable for beginners and easy and concise to understand. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sheep for Beginners, 20 May 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sheep for Beginners (Gold Cockerel) (Paperback)
As someone who is after a very small flock of sheep mainly as pets, this is the first book I have read regarding the rearing of sheep, and I'm NOT disappointed. It is set out in layman's language without being patronising and covers all aspect of rearing sheep from what to look for when buying, to grass management and fencing through to slaughter or end of natural life as a pet. I'm so enthralled by it that I'm also going to buy 'the smallholders guide' for information on other aspects of being a smallholder.

If I had to make one criticism it would be the photos could do with updating.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sheep Rearing, 17 April 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sheep for Beginners (Gold Cockerel) (Paperback)
I bought this title for a relative who says he is quite impressed with the simple way things are explained and of course is very happy with it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great advice on sheep keeping, 28 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sheep for Beginners (Gold Cockerel) (Paperback)
Fantastic book for first time sheep farmers. Great advice. Really enjoyed the book but maybe medications advice needs to be updated?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars has the facts, 15 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sheep for Beginners (Gold Cockerel) (Paperback)
gives enough general facts to 'wet the appetite'. I now need to purchase a more detailed book on sheep to get me started...........
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fab book, 7 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sheep for Beginners (Gold Cockerel) (Paperback)
Really enjoyed this book as gives lots of hints for the new owner of sheep
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Sheep for Beginners (Gold Cockerel)
Sheep for Beginners (Gold Cockerel) by Nigel Woodrup (Paperback - April 2003)
10.00
Usually dispatched within 9 to 12 days
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews