Customer Reviews


26 Reviews
5 star:
 (18)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


31 of 31 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Invaluable if travelling to Uganda
I went to Uganda October/November 2003 and found this guide to be completely up to date. I was armed with both the Bradt Guide and Lonely Planet East Africa Guide and there is really no comparison - the Bradt edition is a real must for anyone going to Uganda - be it for a back packer or safari traveller. The information about wildlife, travel, roads and particularly...
Published on 7 Nov. 2003 by Ray Wright

› See more 5 star, 4 star reviews
versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Very out of date....get the new one.
This review may seem very unfair considering that when buying the book we always knew it would be significantly out of date, however, we didn't have a lot of other choice. I found that the book contradicted almost all the information we received from local people. The lay out was extremely confusing....for example fort portal and surrounding areas didn't even vaguely...
Published 20 months ago by K_eds

› See more 3 star, 2 star, 1 star reviews

‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

31 of 31 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Invaluable if travelling to Uganda, 7 Nov. 2003
By 
Ray Wright (Birmingham, West Midlands United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
I went to Uganda October/November 2003 and found this guide to be completely up to date. I was armed with both the Bradt Guide and Lonely Planet East Africa Guide and there is really no comparison - the Bradt edition is a real must for anyone going to Uganda - be it for a back packer or safari traveller. The information about wildlife, travel, roads and particularly accommodation, be it camp sites or luxury lodges is spot on and completely accurate. The Lonely Planet Guide is too sparse in the particular information about Uganda as it covers other countries in East Africa, whilst the Bradt Guide is Uganda specific. There is no real alternative guide available for anyone travelling to this wonderful country - buy it!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Well done Briggs (again), 7 Nov. 2003
By 
Andrew Roberts (Hassocks, W Sussex United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Another excellent Bradt guide to Uganda. I live in Uganda, working mostly with the national parks, and can vouch that the travel information is very accurate and very up to date. This book has new stuff for everyone, residents and tourists alike. It is the one I send my visitors up country with. Briggs has found a host of places I never knew existed and his 'grey boxes' scattered throughout the book describe a wide variety of fascinating background info which is new to me. Buy it and come and visit Uganda!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Invaluable, 1 Dec. 2005
By 
The Bradt Guide to Uganda is a mine of useful and interesting information about the country. I used it throughout my recent trip to Uganda. Other guides may include more photographs, but Bradt is the best for detail, accuracy and interest. The publisher also operates a free email update service.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars You won't do better, 31 Mar. 2007
By 
K. Mills (France) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
If you are interested in visiting Uganda, this is THE guide; up-to-date, accurate and very easy to read. It is more than a guide book in that it can be browsed for pleasure in its own right. I like to think that I know the country reasonably well, but this book is full of fascinating information and each edition that comes out tells you something new.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brillaint, 15 May 2009
From the other reviews i see i am not the only one who found the Bradt guide unbelievably helpful and far better than the lonely planet version. The key is in the details and that is this guide all over.
Like many African countries people know very little about Uganda, but when you read a book such as this put together by genuine experts you realise just quite what is there. Thanks Bradt for turning my 'great' trip into quite frankly an eye-opening trip of a lifetime.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent and comprehensive guidebook to Uganda, 4 May 2011
By 
F. Morselt (Netherlands) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
We have made a self-drive camping holidays to Uganda and Rwanda earlier this year, and used this Bradt Uganda guidebook to plan and conduct our itinerary. By writing this guidebook, Philip Briggs has shown again that Bradt guides are among the best guidebooks to cover the African continent.
Philip writes knowledgeable and with enthousiasm even on small community based tourism activities.
Apart from the guidebook, we have found Philip's website where he archives updates and feedback from travellers very useful.
Very recommended!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An excellent Travel Guide, 13 Jan. 2008
By 
D. Muir "DM" (Hull, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
The Bradt Travel Guides are always useful. However, the Guide to Uganda (5th Edition) has proved to be very reliable.
Bradt can be relied on to keep there travel guides up-to-date but I also receive the interim e-mail updates and these are well worth reading. Subscription is simple, just send an e-mail to the author (Philip Briggs) or keep an eye on the website.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars absolutely brilliant, 18 Aug. 2004
By A Customer
basically, this is the best travel guide book that I've ever had the pleasure of using.
comprehensive information on where to stay, and to eat, which is ideal for independent travellers.
the advice about driving is invaluable, if you're lucky enough to hire a car, this book tells you everything you need to know about the state of the roads, and the maps are clear enough for you to drive around the country with it alone. Lonely planet in comparison is less than 2/3 the size, with consequently less information
you'll regret it if you take any other guide book
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars The best guide book on Uganda, 17 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Uganda is my second home and I visit about three times a year for work. Although I know Uganda well, I still use this book - it is the best guide book on Uganda. HOWEVER, out of 470 pages, it has only 3 pages on Teso (in north eastern Uganda) and it isn't even listed in the index, although Kumi and Soroti are in the index!! And yet Teso has so much to offer tourists, especially the more discerning tourists who want to get off the beaten track and get to know Ugandans and their way of life and rich culture. It is also home to some rare birds, including the endemic Fox's Weaver. The information on places to stay is very scanty and out of date. Let's hope the next edition will have a proper section on Teso. But in the meantime, check out Homestead Tours (a community-based tourism project) on [...] for more information. Teso is a good stopping off point on an excellent alternative tour around Uganda which takes in Jinja, Sipi and Mount Elgon and Murchison Falls National Park, with possibiliities of chimpanzee tracking in Budongo Forest and a visit to Kidepo NP.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent travel guide!, 5 Jun. 2009
By 
N. Simoes - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This guide has excellent background information on Uganda, and the best ways to make you enjoy your time there!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Guide to Uganda
Guide to Uganda by Philip Briggs (Paperback - 13 Jan. 1994)
Used & New from: £0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
     
 
Customers who viewed this item also viewed
Uganda (Bradt Travel Guides)
Uganda (Bradt Travel Guides) by Philip Briggs (Paperback - 10 Sept. 2013)
4.8 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (9)   
Buy new£17.99
In stock

Uganda - Culture Smart!: The Essential Guide to Customs & Culture
5.0 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (2)   
Buy new£6.95
In stock

Lonely Planet East Africa (Travel Guide)
Lonely Planet East Africa (Travel Guide) by Lonely Planet (Paperback - 13 July 2012)
4.0 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (5)   
Buy new£16.59
In stock