Customer Reviews


22 Reviews
5 star:
 (15)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


33 of 34 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Praise for an essential guide to a dying language
Scott Dobson's essential guide to comprehension of one of the most elite languages in the modern world is without compare. Phrases such as "Has anyone anyone," often abbreviated to "gizatab" speak volumes for the evolution of this pearl among languages. Other phrases, such as "Wor gran wuz gannin tappy-lappy doon the lonnen whan she couped hor...
Published on 12 Aug 1999

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars How to Speak Geordie
An re-issue of Scott Dobson's classic. Still a good and amusing read after all these years.

Malcolm Parkin
Published on 23 Oct 2010 by Malcolm Parkin


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

33 of 34 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Praise for an essential guide to a dying language, 12 Aug 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: Larn Yersel' Geordie (Paperback)
Scott Dobson's essential guide to comprehension of one of the most elite languages in the modern world is without compare. Phrases such as "Has anyone anyone," often abbreviated to "gizatab" speak volumes for the evolution of this pearl among languages. Other phrases, such as "Wor gran wuz gannin tappy-lappy doon the lonnen whan she couped hor creels", bear within them such evocative poetry, that they bring to mind the nordic sagas from which Geordie grew. Mr. Dobson deserves the Nobel Prize for his contribution to basic human understanding. How else could we, mere mortals hope to understand the textual intricacies of such romantic tales as those of Geordie Broon from Bedlington? For example, Geordie Broon from Belinton brok his leg at work. The Doctor, who wuz english and couldn't taak proper kem to see yim and asked "Well George my good man, can you walk yet?" To which the stalwart Geordie replied, "Work? Ah cannat even walk yet, nivver mind work!" I rest my case: what more need be said? Scott Dobson, - GENIUS!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Another gift to be reminded of home, 5 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Larn Yersel' Geordie (Paperback)
Another gift to remind my nephew of home since he is working away for the next 3 or 4 years.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Tickle your Tonsils, 3 Mar 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Larn Yersel' Geordie (Paperback)
I think you should gargle with Newkie Broon as suggested then perhaps to may be able to All Frank Graham's books are very good
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars best!!, 11 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Larn Yersel' Geordie (Paperback)
as it is described .. thanks a lot for the offer!!!!!! just as best as it had to be! :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Comedy gift, 4 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Larn Yersel' Geordie (Paperback)
Perfect token gift for a wannabe Geordie to try and learn the language - absolute crease watching a southerner try their best Geordie out!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Geordie Classic, 1 Jun 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Larn Yersel' Geordie (Paperback)
First book by old Geordie Author very much tongue in cheek but an excellent reed have purchased many of these books over the years and sent them far and wide always well accepted and a boon to folk trying to come to terms with the Geordie dialect as they trty to taak proppa
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars How to Speak Geordie, 23 Oct 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Larn Yersel' Geordie (Paperback)
An re-issue of Scott Dobson's classic. Still a good and amusing read after all these years.

Malcolm Parkin
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Point of view of a non-Geordie, 27 Feb 2009
By 
B. Scattergood "Brian Scattergood" (Caerau, Maesteg, S Wales) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Larn Yersel' Geordie (Paperback)
I first read this book in the early 1970s. I'd just moved to North Northumberland (Blyth) in my early teens, and was introduced to this book by Mona Hindle, the previous owner of the house that my family was moving into.

I haven't read it since then, but I still recall an extract:
"Divvent drop yer dottle on the proggy mat"

I remember "dottle" as being the ash hanging on to the end of a lit cigarettte, and a "proggy mat" being a mat comprised of strips of material sewn to a hessian backing.

"Divvent" is Geordie for "Don't".

This book was highly amusing to me at the time that I first read it. I was similarly amused when I moved to South Wales and read the book "Talk Tidy" by John Edwards.

I hope this helps you in your interest in regional languages of Britain.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars great for a good laugh, 21 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Larn Yersel' Geordie (Paperback)
purchased as a present has caused great hilarity with reciepients living in the south and were not offended by geordie humour.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A GREAT RESOURCE!, 25 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Larn Yersel' Geordie (Paperback)
I have a lot of friends in the North East ... it's nice to talk to them in their own dialect :-)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Larn Yersel' Geordie
Larn Yersel' Geordie by Scott Dobson (Paperback - Oct 1986)
£3.50
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews