Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (1)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (10)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Not a Sadcase
For a Villa fan, this is a good read about a particularly talented football administrator who, through working for the club he grew up supporting, went on to reach the higher points of the football world.

I'd ask that you are not put off by the ramblings of the biggest hypocrites in football, namely fans of AFC Groundrobbers / AFC Kingston/ AFC we walked away...
Published 19 months ago by Nom de plume

versus
38 of 40 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars rubbish book
This is possible the worst book I have ever read. PLease do not buy it, it is an absolute waste of money.
Published on 24 May 2011 by richardb


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

38 of 40 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars rubbish book, 24 May 2011
This review is from: Stride Inside the Villa (Hardcover)
This is possible the worst book I have ever read. PLease do not buy it, it is an absolute waste of money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


48 of 51 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars This guy is an idiot, 24 May 2011
This review is from: Stride Inside the Villa (Hardcover)
This is the cretin who was part of the three-man "independent" commission who did the FA's dirty work for them and sent Wimbledon FC off to become the MK Dons, the first football franchise.
One of the more infamous parts of the commission's 'findings' was this all-time nugget of stupidity: "Furthermore, resurrecting the Club from its ashes as, say, 'Wimbledon Town' is, with respect to those supporters who would rather that happened so that they could go back to the position the Club started in 113 years ago, not in the wider interests of football."
Unless any of his books include an abject apology for being so wrong and so out of touch with the real footballing world, I think it's safe to dismiss anything he has to say on any subject.
Fortunately for all football supporters, this bozo is now out of football after being sacked by Lerner.
I wish him a happy retirement thinking about what a mess he left behind, and going to MK Dons games with his free season ticket courtesy of Pete Winkelman.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


33 of 35 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars The views in this book are not in the wider interests of Football, 24 May 2011
By 
Carl Meyer "Carl Meyer" (Carshalton, Surrey) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Stride Inside the Villa (Hardcover)
One of the worst front covers I have ever seen. Disgusted! Steve Stride's views are Not in the wider interests of Football. Do not buy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


31 of 33 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Utterly incompetant, 24 May 2011
This review is from: Stride Inside the Villa (Hardcover)
A hopeless read from start to finish. I would rather take out my eyes and nail them to a wall than read this again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


31 of 33 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars DONT BUY, 24 May 2011
This review is from: Stride Inside the Villa (Hardcover)
I would not even bother to entertain anything written in this book as "IT IS NOT IN THE WIDER INTERESTS OF READING"

How can someone write a book when they dont even know what they are talking about? maybe his 2 mates can become a 3 man commision and get this book off of amazon and franchise it to the dustbin outside The FA HEADQUARTERS!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


42 of 45 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Once upon a time, 24 May 2011
By 
D. J. Growns - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Stride Inside the Villa (Hardcover)
With most books, it's nice to read a short description of the book so that you can decide if you will like it before you buy.

Thankfully, with a book by Steve Stride you don't need that because let's face it, with a book by Steve Stride you know exactly what you are going to get. What you will get is a book that appears on the surface to have been written by Steve but actually has been written by Steve and two of his mates - a sort of three man commission.

And as with all things involving Steve and 3 man commissions, this one wil be equally short-sighted, one-sided, ignorant of all the facts and lacking in moral judgement.

Steve Stride - you are not in the wider interests of football.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


30 of 32 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars what a farrago of nonsense!, 24 May 2011
This review is from: Stride Inside the Villa (Hardcover)
What possessed the publishers to commission this turgid, badly written, ill-informed, pompous tract? I see that it is the only book Mr Stride has written and I sincerely hope it will be his last. If he has anything more to say on the subject of football, it should be an apology to the fans of Wimbledon FC for his part in the decision to move their club to Milton Keynes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


30 of 32 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars How did this even get published?, 24 May 2011
This review is from: Stride Inside the Villa (Hardcover)
One of the worst decisions ever made. To buy this book. It is truly poor in the widest sense and contains nothing of interest in regards to football.

Don't waste your money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Absolute Dross - Do not buy this book, 27 May 2011
This review is from: Stride Inside the Villa (Hardcover)
I would like to be able to say that this book is the worst that I have ever read, but frankly it just isn't that good. The writer of this drivel clearly knows nothing about football and is NOT IN THE WIDER INTERESTS of English literature.

Do not even consider buying this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Still cannot believe it., 3 Aug 2011
By 
This review is from: Stride Inside the Villa (Hardcover)
I still cannot believe that such an appalling book can have been written by anyone with even a semblance of intelligence. Fortunately the appalling sales figures have proved it to be not in the wider interest of making wood pulp. Nine years on and non the wiser why he even bothered.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Stride Inside the Villa
Stride Inside the Villa by Steve Stride (Hardcover - 31 Aug 1997)
Used & New from: 0.74
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews