Shop now Shop now Shop now Up to 70% off Fashion Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Amazon Fire TV Amazon Pantry Food & Drink Beauty Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars9
4.8 out of 5 stars
5 star
7
4 star
2
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item
Share your thoughts with other customers

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 29 May 2003
This book covers the period in church history commonly known as the 'age of the early church fathers'. It describes the lives of, and the events surrounding the lives of, famous men such as Augustine and Jerome and also many other not so well-known men. What I found especially helpful was the fact that the author not only provides insights to movements within the church, but also to the various philosophies and sects in that day. Particularly interesting to British readers is a section in the book which relates the spread of the gospel to Britain and the establishing of a church there.
Readers of this book are assumed to have little or no previous knowledge of church history. The author has set forth the book in straightforward and non-technical language which is not only extremely helpful but also a pleasure to read. I would highly recommend this book to anyone interested in the early days of the church.
0Comment12 of 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 December 2008
I have to admit I walked past this book several times when in my local Christian bookshop. The spine just looked a bit weird. A thin-faced bearded man peered out from below the bold yellow writing of the title. I was later to find out that it was Athanasius of Alexandria who so piercingly scared me off to another corner of the shop. The cover just isn't very inspiring and looks a little as if it was designed by a high school media studies student.

But don't let that put the reader off. Prior to reading this book, I had no interest and little or no knowledge of the early history of the Christian Church. This was very quickly changed and Needham has an easy to read conversational writing style which lends itself to a simplified but unabridged account of early Church history. He skilfully guides the reader through the web of names and events, separating the heroes from the heretics. A helpful section at the end of each chapter summarises the characters mentioned and includes significant writings from a few of the most important. An introductory chapter is included to explain dates, timelines and Roman numerals which is helpful for the reader if all he got in History class was detention.

Some readers may be put off a little by Needham's anti-paedo baptism digs but it's a small complaint in an otherwise thoroughly adequate introduction to Christian history.
11 comment3 of 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 December 2007
Despite not looking forward to studying Church history, this book has made it startling easy and interesting. The sort of book I would actually pick up and read for pleasure as well as study.
0Comment3 of 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 October 2013
Would consider this solidly "between Sunday school and seminary". I knew very little about the early church fathers and the early controversies such as Docetism and Arianism. This is very well laid out to give one a high level view with just enough detail. Now can zero in on areas that I would like to pursue in depth. This was the author's stated intention and he accomplished it admirably.
0Comment1 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 April 2014
Easy to read, informative, interesting, a useful tool for evangelistic purposes, and most importantly, its inspiring. I admire the authors heart for making this book easy to read. I love it. And i believe that it is a book that many Christians's today must read. There are not many who realize how did the church get to where it is today;.
0Comment1 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 September 2014
I was introduced to this series of books when I was doing church history at theological college (WEST the finest theological College in the UK). As such don't think I could have had a better introduction. I always been very keen on church history but these books made reading about it is an incredible amount of fun and I actually took the each volume on holiday with me to read! This particular volume gives a very clear and readable insight into the early church. What emerges is the vitality of many parts of the early church and also the struggle and confusion in some parts of it of trying to be biblically orientated. What is particularly helpful is that Nick Neeham includes extracts of the writings of some of the main figures in the early church who he has mentioned in the text. All in all this is a very good book a very reasonable price and if you are thinking about getting a book on Church history, this will be one of the best places to start!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 November 2014
So often Christians who speak of what they know, by grace, lack the patience in their witness and testimony (toward those who stand where we once stood) of Nick Needham..
To such, the early pages of this book will seem uninspired perhaps, yet it appears as a wonderful remembrance of Gods sovereign plan to raise up a people for Himself from every tribe and generation.
To the new seeker after Christ, it is a wonderful confirmation that the journey is well spent.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 June 2015
Excellent book by a very knowledgeable man. I know nick as a lecturer. He has an easy reading narrative with appropriate primary texts at the end of each chapter. This is one of three with the other two to come to bring church history to date. As far as I know this is the only one brought out in kindle format. The second book covers medeival history, next one the Protestant reformation. As said anther too to come God willing
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 August 2014
Fascinating book, well written, informative, entertaining, full of spiritual insight and with some funny moments.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse