Customer Reviews


14 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good directory of writing
I was struggling to develop a style for writing icing and this book had so many different alphabets and ideas it has been great. I put a plastic sheet over the pages and practised loads.
Published on 8 May 2009 by Mrs. L. M. Sambrook

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Quite old fashioned
The book was exactly as desribed and I am not commenting on that at all. Just didn't realise it was quite as dated as it was, but hey should still learn something from it.
Published 21 months ago by Stephafie


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good directory of writing, 8 May 2009
By 
This review is from: Writing in Icing (Hardcover)
I was struggling to develop a style for writing icing and this book had so many different alphabets and ideas it has been great. I put a plastic sheet over the pages and practised loads.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Eddie Spence's wonderful work, 1 Aug 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Writing in Icing (Hardcover)
This is a wonderful book full of pages of different piping styles, very clearly laid out with no fuss and no pretence. It's not a fancy book marketed with lots of modern styling and flattering photography, but it's a good honest book with an explanation of how to pipe at the beginning, and then clear pages of script, all of them covering the whole alphabet and all numbers and all of them photographs of actual piped work. Moreover, this is mostly the uncredited work of Eddie Spence MBE, master of Royal Icing. Eddie taught at Mary Ford's for many years and it is mostly his designs that were used in the book. If you are a fan of Eddie, don't miss it, you will see nice letters piped in his typical style, some simply, some with flourish, scrolls, trails and flowers and you will love it. It's a collectors' book which will never be re-edited and once it's gone it's gone. Get it now.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars writing in icing, 2 Nov 2011
This review is from: Writing in Icing (Hardcover)
Amazing book for any cake maker, the writing styles are very clear and easy to follow, have made all my cakes look far more professional and a cleaner finish. A must have to finish the prefect cake.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent book, 18 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Writing in Icing (Hardcover)
Found this book excellent as gave loads of examples of different writing styles. It gives the whole alphabet & numbers so that you can write any message all in the same font style. Makes the finishing touch to all cakes. Very pleased with my purchase & condition of book is exactly as described.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars loved it, 14 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Writing in Icing (Hardcover)
Seeing this book avaliable reminded me of when i borrowed it of my tutor to do royal iced writing loved the book then so when i saw it i had to buy it been in the catering industry as a pastry chef and having a boyfriend at ther bakery occationally i like to to cakes in my spare time for friends and family and new it will be handy to have for me and my boyfriend .

especially the section of the anniversary names and numbers

Bex
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Writing in icing, 13 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Writing in Icing (Hardcover)
Excellent book wish I'd had it on my course it would have been a great help. I will definitely use it for future projects.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 28 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Writing in Icing (Hardcover)
A very good tutorial book, oldie but goldie at an excellent price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars ok, 20 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Writing in Icing (Hardcover)
The Book in itself is good and useful for what i bought it for. However the cover of the book was badly damaged and looked like it had been used many times previously. delivery took around a week
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic!!, 4 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Writing in Icing (Hardcover)
The book was everything I expected and more I was like a child in a toyshop looking through it. The delivery was quicker than anticipated too so that was a nice surprise so on the whole an excellent service...thank you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Quite old fashioned, 27 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Writing in Icing (Hardcover)
The book was exactly as desribed and I am not commenting on that at all. Just didn't realise it was quite as dated as it was, but hey should still learn something from it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Writing in Icing
Writing in Icing by Mary Ford (Hardcover - 26 Mar 1987)
Used & New from: 0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews