Customer Reviews


2 Reviews
5 star:
 (2)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "Empire Publications ... The Leader of Western Movie Books ... Best of the Badmen (2005)", 7 Aug 2007
By 
J. Lovins "Mr. Jim" (Missouri-USA) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Best of the Badmen (Hardcover)
Empire Publishing presents "Best of the Badmen", by Boyd Magers, Bob Nareau and Bobby Copeland telling the inside story in depth about some of the bad guys, the heavy and the villain who rode against the law and the heroes of our B-Westerns era...detailed bios, filmographies and photos galore of 325 actors who played outlaws, bandits and polecats on the big screen and small tube of westerns from the '30s through the '60s...every page has the breath and life as only the authors and these film historians can deliver through pen and paper...many of the chapters interview the actors, directors and other cast members who worked closely with the actors in this wonderful book...this tribute was written from the heart and it shows.

Table of Contents (Chapter, Title and Page Numbers)

Acknowledgments - 5
Dedications - 7
Foreword - 9
Introduction - 17
The Badmen: 20 through 317
The Rest of the Gang: 319 through 342
Bibliography - 343
About the Authors - 345

My favorite villains of all time were and there were three, Harry Woods, Charles King and Roy Barcroft...all three men set the standards for being rotten to the core, and you loved every minute they were on the screen...gave us the impression they were having the time of their lives committing all those dastardly deeds in every scene...please note, on page 8 Johnny Mack Brown gets the drop on the "Best of the Badmen" Harry Woods (left to right), Roy Barcroft and Charlie King in Universal's "West of Carson City" (1938, gotta love it .

BIOS:
1. Harry Woods (aka: Harry Lewis Woods)
(Woods was considered the dean of western heavies)
Birth Date: 5/05/1889 - Cleveland, Ohio
Died: 12/28/1968 - Los Angeles, California (uremia)
2. Charles King (aka: Charles Lafayette King Jr)
(He was the heavy we loved to hate)
Birth Date: 2/21/1895 - Hillsboro, Texas
Died: 5/07/1957 - Hollywood, California (cirrhosis of liver)
3. Roy Barcroft (aka: Howard Clifford Ravenscroft)
(King of the Badmen- one of the nicest people in the business)
Birth Date: 9/07/1902 - Crab Orchard, Nebraska
Died: 11/28/1969 - Woodland Hills, California (kidney cancer)

Hats off to Rhonda Lemons and her staff at Empire Publishing, the authors Magers, Nareau and Copeland putting down on paper without a doubt the best book commemorating the actors and their rare talent that helped make the B-Western great...sharing many facts inclusive within their own individual sections in the book...we now have answers to the many questions about the B-Western era and the actors who chose to play the heavy...If you're into the memories of the B-Western, this is the one you've been anxiously waiting for...another winner from those early days when the western villain made it clear where he stood and Empire Publishing has captured the moment --- all my heroes have been cowboys!

Total Page: 352 ~ Empire Publishing 0-944019-43-6 ~ (11/30/2005)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Best of Books Too!, 14 May 2011
By 
A. W. Wilson - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Best of the Badmen (Hardcover)
My resistance didn't last long. My wife bought me this book for my 66th birthday. For 2 days now I have been leaping in and out, and marvelling at the skill, time involved, and love of the subject that just leaps out of the pages. As a young lad I watched "Champion/Range Rider/Cisco/Lone Ranger?Early Tex Ritter/Eddie dean westerns on a pretty small screen courtesy BBC TV. For some reason it was nearly always the "heavy" that I remember, and looked forward to seeing. At that time it was Glenn Strange,Lane Bradford,Gregg Barton, Dick Curtis, James Griffith,Bob Wilke, Mike Ragan, Don Harvey etc etc that I would look forward to seeing, and even make notes as to which film/series they had been in. I never imagined there would be such a well researched and written book containing(nearly) all my faves (no Chuck Roberson or Alan Hale Jnr but that's totally imaterial) - Heck, Charles Horvath, Boyd Morgan are there, as are 100's of others some known to me some not. For Western fans this is an absolute must. Seek out this book and get it. I can almost promise you won't regret it. I'd love to ramble on and on - top 10 heavies etc, but no - Just get the book and enjoy. LATER....A humble and heartfelt apology! I rellay should read the Introduction before making any comment. So Sorry Authors..You explain quite clearly why Chuck Roberson (and Claude Akins) are not included, and of course it all makes sense. So, still an absolute 5 stars for just about the best book of it's kind..ever. Thankyou. AW 22 May 2011 U/K
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Best of the Badmen
Best of the Badmen by Boyd Magers (Hardcover - 30 Nov 2005)
Used & New from: 69.28
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews