Customer Reviews


15 Reviews
5 star:
 (13)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


56 of 56 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Not an ordinary knitting book.
Elizabeth Zimmermann did not write ordinary knitting patterns, she wrote letters to knitters, and so her books do not read like any other knitting book. Gone are the rather dry instructions you would normally find, and instead we have Elizabeth's wonderful conversational tone, full of wit and wisdom. This one is a collection of the newsletters she wrote from 1958-1968 and...
Published on 14 Nov. 2008 by Mrs. Z. L. Reynolds

versus
16 of 19 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars A few words of commentary and some reprints
IMPORTANT: my review is about the actual contents of this book . It consists of a series of reprints (photostats) from E.Zimmerman newsletters. Very poor quality copies. They are interspersed with some editorial commentaries.
What a pity!
As for the knitting/shaping/pattern information which E.Zimmerman includes in her newsletters:
IF you CAN decipher...
Published on 5 Nov. 2011 by A. M. Henderson


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

56 of 56 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Not an ordinary knitting book., 14 Nov. 2008
By 
Mrs. Z. L. Reynolds "surfingbernard" (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Opinionated Knitter (Hardcover)
Elizabeth Zimmermann did not write ordinary knitting patterns, she wrote letters to knitters, and so her books do not read like any other knitting book. Gone are the rather dry instructions you would normally find, and instead we have Elizabeth's wonderful conversational tone, full of wit and wisdom. This one is a collection of the newsletters she wrote from 1958-1968 and has colour photos added which is a real treat as all the other EZ books have only black and white pictures. Above all, EZ invites us and encourages us to think for ourselves. Her words are never scornful towards the 'blind follower', but the way EZ looked at it, these are simply knitters who do not yet know that they can design their own knitting and she provides plenty of instruction for those of us who are not quite ready and need a bit of 'hand holding'. Of course the lovely digressions are there, and with lovely pictures, making this a book to pick up any time with a cup of coffee rather than a book you pick up only to browse patterns. The patterns themselves are classics, yet often unexpected, and her instructions are full of unusual techniques which you may never see anywhere else. I have all of her books (I was hooked after the first one) and this one is joint favourite with Knitting Around, although you would be doing yourself a huge favour if you bought any of her books. I would also recommend the DVDs- these are worth their weight in gold- but sadly they are not stocked by Amazon at the moment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The opinionated knitter, 31 Oct. 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Opinionated Knitter (Hardcover)
It was worth every penny, even though it was the most expensive book I have ever brought.
Zimmerman makes you think what have I been doing all these years. Her way is so effective and simple. The tomten jacket is the nicest quickest and easiest thing I have ever made. The BSJ is now on the needles and I just love it. These two jackets alone have so many variations that from just these 2 patterns alone hundreds of different jackets can be made and no 2 alike.
This book is an absolute must.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This book will change your knitting life for ever ...., 3 Dec. 2009
By 
Ms. Jill Shepherd "wrigglefingers" (Rainy West Country) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Opinionated Knitter (Hardcover)
Just the best book I've read on knitting ever. EZ's delightfully conversational style and her explanation of her way of thinking are so simple that it all seems perfectly obvious. Before I read this book I struggled and fought with patterns, yarn and needles making knitting a deeply frustrating process. This text of this book has been updated by EZ's daughter Meg Swansen and her insights after many years of teaching the method are also invaluable. My copy of this book is battered beyond belief and yet everytime I pick it up I learn something new. Why haven't you got a copy yet, hmm?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A 'must have' for every dedicated and creative knitter., 6 Nov. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Opinionated Knitter (Hardcover)
I ordered this book not knowing anything about Elizabeth Zimmermann and how she has revolutionised knitting in the US. I really wanted it for one of her patterns, the baby surprise jacket. I was pleasantly surprised to discover that it not only tells of her life, an interesting one by all accounts, but has many of her original designs. Also, it gives the knitter a formula for calculating the number of stitches and size of needles that even I can understand and use to create jumpers in whatever yarn You choose. The book was quite pricey however it is a useful addition to my collection of knitting books of which many just give patterns. She talks you through the work in a friendly, chatty style that makes you think that your mother is right by your side giving advice. It may be an old book but it's still very usable and helpful today.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Highly recommended., 13 Nov. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Opinionated Knitter (Hardcover)
A beautiful chatty book with patterns written in an unconventional way sometimes. Some patterns may take a little working out as they are not written row by row, BUT you will find support groups for the garments online. (Ravelry is also a good place to find help.) This woman was a GENIUS and I cannot imagine how she came up with the pattern for the BSJ, even though its origins are explained. Would give this as a special gift to any keen knitter.
Be aware though that delivery took about 6 weeks for me - I guess it was in reprinting. I know it's very popular.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 19 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars A few words of commentary and some reprints, 5 Nov. 2011
By 
A. M. Henderson (Wales) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Opinionated Knitter (Hardcover)
IMPORTANT: my review is about the actual contents of this book . It consists of a series of reprints (photostats) from E.Zimmerman newsletters. Very poor quality copies. They are interspersed with some editorial commentaries.
What a pity!
As for the knitting/shaping/pattern information which E.Zimmerman includes in her newsletters:
IF you CAN decipher it- is interesting, valid and -probably applicable now, just as it was at the time of writing.
What was the BIGGEST disappointment for me: there were no transcripts. For a book costing so much -this is simply not acceptable- hence 2 stars for non-existent editing.

If the same book is ever re-published, editors: PLEASE-make some effort, and re-type, re-chart and generally tidy up the old newsletters. Include them, by all means, ALONG the properly written and charted designs.
I will be the first to award it full five stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars EZ: The Opinionated Knitter, 5 Mar. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Opinionated Knitter (Hardcover)
This book is wonderful as an insight into a knitting legend; you can almost feel EZ's encouragement from the pages, and feel that you have gotten to know her through the pages of her personal notes. Patterns will be referred to as and when, I am sure. Absolutely lovely. The book arrived in the advertised condition, well before estimated date of arrival. Would recommend seller and author wholeheartedly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars What a wonderful book by a wonderful writer, 1 Mar. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Opinionated Knitter (Hardcover)
What a wonderful book by a wonderful writer. Her patterns are idiosyncratic, and may not suit a novice knitter, but her style is such that you cannot help but learn something, no matter how experienced a knitter you are.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Baby Surprise Jacket, 15 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Opinionated Knitter (Hardcover)
Book was delivered very promptly, just finished the first BSJ in anticipation of the arrival of our first Grandchild - I hate the making up stage - only 1 seam , yay! Sure I will try some of the other patterns too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic., 9 Jun. 2014
By 
Mrs. Christine A. Edwards (Burnley Lancashire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Opinionated Knitter (Hardcover)
Contains the pattern for the surprise baby jacket. I have been searching for some time. Now I can't wait to knit it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Opinionated Knitter
The Opinionated Knitter by Elizabeth Zimmermann (Hardcover - 30 Jan. 2005)
£19.48
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews