Customer Reviews


48 Reviews
5 star:
 (36)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


108 of 109 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars also wonderful
I'd read the author's previous book "The Coconut Oil Miracle" years ago and the information was buried under the avalanche of further reading I've done since. Recently several books took me back to coconut and I got both this book and the previous one, by the same author. As far as I can tell, all the information from the previous book is also in this one, which includes...
Published on 9 Dec. 2009 by D&D

versus
1.0 out of 5 stars One Star
not for me
Published 1 month ago by B. Mutimer


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

108 of 109 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars also wonderful, 9 Dec. 2009
By 
D&D - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Coconut Cures: Preventing and Treating Common Health Problems with Coconut (Paperback)
I'd read the author's previous book "The Coconut Oil Miracle" years ago and the information was buried under the avalanche of further reading I've done since. Recently several books took me back to coconut and I got both this book and the previous one, by the same author. As far as I can tell, all the information from the previous book is also in this one, which includes further information about the healing powers of coconut meat, milk and cream. I would therefore suggest getting this book, rather than the earlier "The Coconut Oil Miracle", although both are excellent.

Coconut oil, milk, juice, flesh, leaves and burlap from its tree have all been used for centuries by tropical inhabitants. The author offers good, informative details about the miracle of coconut. Much information is given on the health benefits (yes BENEFITS) of saturated fats and the "smear" campaign of the vegetable oil industry. In fact coconut oil can help weight loss for the obese and weight gain for the over-skinny as well as reduce heart disease and many, many other health problems: it may prevent and even reverse all sorts of things from inflammation to infections. And allergies. And skin conditions, including fungus.

The only drawback in this book is that the author seemed to elevate coconut as the sole reason islanders are healthy. Many modern insults, like vaccinations and the adoption of a Western diet, are involved in the increasing health problems worldwide, not JUST the omission of coconut oil. It is accepted that islanders' health has degenerated, but ignoring coconut oil is not the only reason. However, this is a minor drawback.

Unfortunately, I can't say I noticed much improvement in myself. I had much better success using coconut oil for 'oil pulling', as explained in Fife's book of the same name - worked immediately for me, to sooth an abscessed tooth, and has long-term systemic benefits (I think any good oil would do for this technique, however.)

LATER NOTES: I eventually was diagnosed, by a metabolic specialist, with severe adrenal dysfunction and serious low thyroid issues. The thyroid issue had been getting worse for 2 decades, whilst "standard" medicine denied I had either, repeatedly assuring me all their tests "proved" this. Turns out you have an 80% likelihoode of one or both, if you have a chronic health issue. - thyroiduk[dot]org[dot]uk offers a list of the very few thyroid sympathetic doctors in this country.

It's also worth knowing about "Oil Pulling" and "Coconut Therapy for Pets", both by Fife, and "The Calcium Lie II" an intriguing book plausibly claiming to explain the root cause of most illnesses.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


33 of 33 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The healthiest of all oils?, 9 April 2011
By 
Oliver! "Tea house warrior" (Saltaire, West Yorkshire, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Coconut Cures: Preventing and Treating Common Health Problems with Coconut (Paperback)
I've heard before that coconut oil is good for you, but could not say why exactly.

This book provides all the answers, and even more. It looks into the use of coconut oil from both scientific and practical point of views. Detailed explanations why you should use this oil and not the refined commercial oils are mixed with real-life testimonials when people with different ailments healed themselves with coconut oil.

Since reading this book I ordered 6 jars of virgin coconut oil and use it for cooking or as a cream (good for sunburns or as an after-shave) and can confirm that it is so much better even if compared to quality olive oil (I was not using refined vegetable oil like sunflower etc for a while). Most notable effect was that kids have a much better appetite and seem to enjoy rice with vegetables much more if it has coconut oil added.

I would recommend everyone to read this book and start using coconut oil (and bin all refined oils) - you will feel a difference!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very Interesting reading, 26 Feb. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Coconut Cures: Preventing and Treating Common Health Problems with Coconut (Paperback)
I have read this book and now going to pass it on to a family member, I would recommend this as a good informative read for anyone that is interested in alternative medicine. I do like using coconut oil for cooking and have purchased the Organic Coconut Butter. I use the oil on my skin with excellent results. Ten out of ten for coconuts.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


89 of 94 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Because of coconut oil's tendency to increase HDL, the cholesterol ratio improves and thus decreases risk of heart disease, 24 Jan. 2008
By 
Carmell Landings (Kent) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Coconut Cures: Preventing and Treating Common Health Problems with Coconut (Paperback)
The Coconut Cookbook by Bruce Fife is a highly acclaimed book about coconut oil. Bruce Fife provides all the answers about commons myths and misconceptions about coconut oil. Eating coconut oil on a regular basis can reduce your chances of suffering a heart attack! Coconut oil is composed of a group of unique fat molecules known as medium-chain fatty acids. 'Though they are technically classified as saturated fats, this fat can actually protect you from getting a heart attack or suffering a stroke. A much more accurate way to judge heart disease risk is to separate the two types of cholesterol. Therefore, the ratio of the bad to good cholesterol (LDL/HDL) is universally recognized as a far more accurate indicator of heart disease risk. Because of coconut oil's tendency to increase HDL, the cholesterol ratio improves and thus decreases risk of heart disease.

People who traditionally consume large quantities of coconut oil as part of their ordinary diet have a very low incidence of heart disease and have normal blood cholesterol levels. This has been well supported by numerous studies. The research shows that those people who consume large quantities of coconut oil have remarkably good cardiovascular health. Research has demonstrated that medium-chain fats in coconut oil protect against heart disease and may one day even be used as a treatment to cure it.

Coconut oil consumption has many factors associated with a reduced risk of heart disease compared to other dietary oils namely:
* Improved cholesterol readings
* Lower body fat deposition
* Higher survival rate
* Reduced tendency to form blood clots
* Fewer uncontrolled free radicals in cells
* Low levels of blood and liver cholesterol
* Higher antioxidant reserves in cells
* Lower incidence of heart disease in population studies.
From this evidence alone coconut oil should be viewed as heart healthy or at least benign as far as heart disease is concerned.

But there is another factor, that is even more important, that reveals coconut oil as not simply a benign bystander but a very important player in the battle against heart disease. So remarkable is it, that it may soon become a powerful new weapon used against heart disease. Heart disease, stroke, and atherosclerosis account for nearly half of all the deaths in the United States. Statistically, one out of every two people you know will die from one of these cardiovascular conditions. In countries where people eat a lot of coconut products cardiovascular disease is much less frequent. It appears that by simply using coconut oil in you daily diet in place of other oils you can achieve a remarkable degree of protection from heart disease and stroke. I would also recommend The Coconut Oil Miracle (Previously published as The Healing Miracle of Coconut Oil) by Bruce Fife.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars So many good uses., 3 Mar. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Coconut Cures: Preventing and Treating Common Health Problems with Coconut (Paperback)
Still reading this book , but highly recommend, so many uses and ideas. I now have virgin coconut oil and using it. So far all good and nothing to loose by trying.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Coconut Cures, 2 Aug. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Coconut Cures: Preventing and Treating Common Health Problems with Coconut (Paperback)
Coconoil - Original Virgin Coconut Oil - 460 g
This book is highly illuminating. We are now taking coconut oil in generous amounts on toast instead of butter and I am finding a big improvement in my digestion of wholemeal wheat products.
We are also rubbing coconut oil into skin lesions with the hope of improvement. We have purchased Coconoil from you which is manufactured by traditional methods, an essential quality.
Coconut oil appears to have all the qualities for treating many health problems and especially diabetes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The lost secret to good health, 19 Sept. 2011
This review is from: Coconut Cures: Preventing and Treating Common Health Problems with Coconut (Paperback)
Anyone who takes their health seriously has got to buy this book. The coconut is a cure all for most conditions.
You may not need the doctor so much. It is better than any anti-ageing product on the market for skin and hair.
And if you want to lose weight, get rid of eczema, moles, unsightly marks, this will help you.
I used to love eating coconut, and decided to find out whether it was actually any good for your health.
I was pleasantly surprised. Bruce Fife has done an excellent job bringing us the benefits of coconut. We need more like him who will investigate the miracles of herbs, plants and vegetables. Then hopefully we will never need a Doctor again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Coconut myth, 26 Aug. 2011
By 
Maurice (Stockholm Sweden) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Coconut Cures: Preventing and Treating Common Health Problems with Coconut (Paperback)
Plenty of useful information that needs to be tried out. Although the author
seem to be slightly biased. A miracle cure for everything is a bit exaggerated.
The cholesterol reference is out of date so these comparisons do not apply any longer.
Well worth reading but the book needs to be revised now because the new findings mentioned above.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Love the Coconut cure..well explained it has earned the 5 Star, 28 Jan. 2011
This review is from: Coconut Cures: Preventing and Treating Common Health Problems with Coconut (Paperback)
Since this book I use it all the time..cooking - body.. So much ignorance about being fattening..when you read this book you will see the opposite, .. and see your appetite being under control.. The sad thing is that , mistaken belief has replaced this nature miracle with -low fat hydrogenated oil.. really so easy to have a healthy option...read this book .well worth your time and money
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Well worth a read, 17 Mar. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Coconut Cures: Preventing and Treating Common Health Problems with Coconut (Paperback)
I found this book full of interesting facts about the nutritional value of coconuts and coconut oil. I have since started using coconut oil in all of my cooking, its delicious as well as nutritious. I wish I had had it when my children were young.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Coconut Cures: Preventing and Treating Common Health Problems with Coconut
£12.44
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews