Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


48 of 48 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars COMPREHENSIVE GUIDE TO THE ENERGY BODY
This wonderful book is an exhaustive guide to harmonising the body’s energy vortices with music, colours, gemstones, fragrances, breathing techniques, reflex zone massage plus meditation. The book is very comprehensive in cope, dealing with the full energy system and the subtle bodies: ethereal, astral, mental and spiritual, while explaining the function and purpose...
Published on 6 Mar 2003 by Pieter Uys

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars hard to follow
This book is very interesting but I found it quite complex and hard to follow. However, half way through the book I found the chapters detailing the chakras very useful. The seven chakras were described in great detail and therapies to unblock the chakras giving a steady flow. I am sure there are books which are much easier to follow on this complex subject.
Published 22 months ago by Manjit Ruprai


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

48 of 48 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars COMPREHENSIVE GUIDE TO THE ENERGY BODY, 6 Mar 2003
By 
Pieter Uys "Toypom" (Johannesburg) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Chakra Handbook: From Basic Understanding to Practical Application (Paperback)
This wonderful book is an exhaustive guide to harmonising the body’s energy vortices with music, colours, gemstones, fragrances, breathing techniques, reflex zone massage plus meditation. The book is very comprehensive in cope, dealing with the full energy system and the subtle bodies: ethereal, astral, mental and spiritual, while explaining the function and purpose of the charkas. It explains how blockages develop in the charkas and how to eliminate them, before treating each of the seven chakras in detail.
The astrological associations are dealt with and various therapies for cleansing and activating the chakras are covered in great detail. These include sound, colour, gemstone, and aroma therapies plus colour meditation and different forms of yoga. In addition, there are chapters on chakra breathing, reflex zone massage and physical exercises for releasing blocked energies. The appendix includes tables on the charkas and their associated factors like symbols, colours, elements, hormones, musical tones and aromas.
The text is enlivened with many black and white figures, illustrations and tables, and the book concludes with a short bibliography. The Chakra-handbook is the most comprehensive work on the subject that I have encountered, providing practical information in a simple, easily understood manner. I highly recommend it to practitioners of esoteric healing and to all readers who are interested in familiarising themselves with their own energy bodies for a more fulfilling and abundant life.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful and amazing in every way, 25 July 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Chakra Handbook: From Basic Understanding to Practical Application (Paperback)
I warmly recommend this master-piece to everyone interested in spirituality and the power and beauty of chakras themselves. Shalila and Bodo made an incredible work by putting all of the facts together and writiting this book. They contributed by their work enormously. Words fail me. Amazing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


24 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Must have!, 9 Jun 2005
By 
Graziela Baia (London United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Chakra Handbook: From Basic Understanding to Practical Application (Paperback)
This book is great! Simple explanations say everything! It's nice to read once and to keep it as reference when you need more information on any of the chakras.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Chakra Handbook, 11 Jun 2009
By 
P. Clarkson (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Chakra Handbook: From Basic Understanding to Practical Application (Paperback)
One of the best and most comprehensive books I have read concerning the topic of Chakras and the subtle energy systems.A must read for anyone interested these subjects.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent.., 24 Sep 2011
This review is from: The Chakra Handbook: From Basic Understanding to Practical Application (Paperback)
I have a very basic knowledge about chakras and needed to write about them as to how they could be used in my line of work. I found this book perfect. Lots of knowledge and yet easy to follow.
I would highly recommend..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant book!, 24 Jun 2011
By 
Guess Who (South East England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Chakra Handbook: From Basic Understanding to Practical Application (Paperback)
This is a wonderful book and explains in detail all about the chakras and their connection with body, mind and spirit and its connections with yoga. I love it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars easy to read and to understand. Very useful for beginners., 9 Jun 2011
This review is from: The Chakra Handbook: From Basic Understanding to Practical Application (Paperback)
This book is simple, easy to understand and very useful for beginners like me. it explains withouth excess of philosophy what chakras are, how they work and their caracteristics.
I am very happy that I bought this book.
Ciao :-)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Well written, 13 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Chakra Handbook: From Basic Understanding to Practical Application (Paperback)
in easy to understand language. I now have a far better idea on what the chakras are, what they do and how they react with one another
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Nice handy book on the chakra's, Great presentation, 5 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Chakra Handbook: From Basic Understanding to Practical Application (Paperback)
This is a very great handy book on the chakra's it goes from a nice introduction to the energy bodies and their uses, then going into the chakra's and the purpose for them. the book gives detailed break downs of each chakra and provides seperate chapters for each chakra to really go into depth. the book also uses sanskrit terminology aswell as english terminology to give you a understanding from an authentic point of view. the main thing about this book is that it talks about blockages that can occur in the chakra's and why they may occur. it then goes into the symptoms of a blocked chakra's and the ways and methods you can use to unblock and harmonize the chakra. it does this for all the chakra's. the book also has many practical methods varying from the use of gemstones,colours,sound and aromo techniques to harmonize the chakra's. each technique in the book is broken down and made simple and can be incorporated into your daily life and routine. the book also recommends that you combine some of the therapeutic methods for a effective experience. towards the end of the book it also gives some example guided meditations that you can use to harmonize the chara's.

but one thing i must say is that this books in NOT for beginners, and by beginners i mean people who are very new to spirituality and the knowledge of the divine. this book is for people who are a bit more advanced and have some knowledge of basic spiritual concepts such as reincarnation, karma and the divine spirit that connects us all. for more advanced individuals this books will help you to progress in your spiritual development and harmonize your wheels of life to better the experiences in your reality. this book also mentions the kundalini but doesn't go into detail about it, except say that it is the energy that runs up the spine. so i would recommend to purchase another book specifically about the kundalini such as the book i also purchased with this book called, Kundalini and the chakras: A Practical Manual - Evolution in This Lifetime. i have yet to read this book but will do a review on this when i do. but if you are a beginner to spirituality i would recommend metaphysical books many by a guy named stuart wilde he has a book called "the force" which is a good starting point for beginners, he also has various other books that are good starting point for beginners aswell. i would also to go as far as to recommend beginners to listen to various spiritual teachers that you may find online as they can provide you with a good foundation as they already have the knowledge.

Good points:-
-The books use of pictures and diagrams to explain practices and chakra's
-The book is writtien in quite an artistic style from reading it i can tell that the author was expressing themselves, this is good because it allows a greater understanding rather than just a bland description.
-The book also has an apendix which contains charts containing the KEY information so you can quickly refer to this when ever you like.
-the books also gives Mantra's and vowels to stimulate the chakra's which is good because it can be used at anytime.
-the book cover is nice and colourful, i like the cover.

Bad Points:-
-The book has quite a few spelling and grammer mistakes, not so much that it ruins the book but just enough for you to notice them
-the book touches on various topics, not going into depth so it kind of leaves you with loose ends, it touches on kundalini,reiki,yoga etc but doesn't go into enough detail to be of use.
-Sometimes the author did get ahead of themselves and worded sentences in such a way that you often lose touch with the concept that the author was trying to potray. using intuitive metaphors to describe the divine, such as saying things like "the dance of creation" causing you to stop and think to really take in what was just said in the book, where this could have been avoided if the sentences were worded more simply.

but other than that this is a excellent book for people who are looking to harness the full potential of their energy centers (chakras) and harmonize them for true spiritual development. recommended for people who are a bit more advanced with knowledge of spirituality and the divine.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Wheter you believe or not, 10 Oct 2013
By 
D. Birbeck "Jasperoo" (Portugal) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Chakra Handbook: From Basic Understanding to Practical Application (Paperback)
This is an easy read book on a subjective and complex subject. It makes the subject as easy to understand as it can.I like the style and it does what is says- 'from basic understanding to Practical Application'. All in all a good book to start with if you have an interest in your Chakras..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Chakra Handbook: From Basic Understanding to Practical Application
9.73
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews