Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen in Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.9 out of 5 stars22
4.9 out of 5 stars
5 star
20
4 star
2
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item
Share your thoughts with other customers

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 24 October 2004
This book underpinned my thesis into sound design. David Sonnenschien writes very clearly and with great enthusiasm. Moreover, he encourgaes the reader to contact him, which in my case provided useful primary research. Ultimately, what i gleaned from this book lead to me lecturing at university and has helped distinguish me now i work within the Film and TV industry.
Buy it and potentially bore your friends rigid with wonderfull facts. Excellent.
0Comment|15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 January 2004
I was recommended this book by a number of tutors at my college. It is an excellent book for understanding the implications, uses and deign of sound for film. It also serves as a good reference book, and I find that when I am stuck for an idea, referring to it helps to get the ball rolling again. I'd highly recommend it to anyone who is seriously interested in filmaking,including directors, as it also gives ideas on how to marry sound and image. It is very practical and easy to read, and a must for anyone interested in making good films.
0Comment|18 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 November 2008
This book is incredibly insightfull and enjoyable to read. As mentioned previously in a review, this book will also benefit directors as it gives some amazing ideas and 'stratagies' for combining sound and image. If you are interested in foley effects, or any kind of film/music projects, then i cannot reccommend this book enough. It gives many examples for foley ideas ( for example, obi-wan's light sabre is tuned to C major, while Darth Vaders is in a minor key') and is littered throughout the pages with insider info from directors and sound designers. Buy buy buy!
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 December 2010
Sound Design by David Sonnenschien:

This written work is in so many different way's such a help to either experienced or up and coming Creative Sound designers with handy tips and shortcuts, It is easy to follow and gives a great insight into the though processes involved in making sound productions and how the simplest of things can be made into some weird and and wonderful sounds.

As I am studying Creative Sound Production at University it was already on my must read\purchase book list on the subject matter, a decision that I am glad I made to purchase the book as it has helped me in so many ways to understand the subject and how to use basic everyday items in my creative sound processes and projects.

It Is a must but book, well written and informative, I would recommend in deed I have recommended the book to the university faculty to be added to the departments or universities library for future use by other likeminded students.

Raemond Cook BA(Hons) Creative Sound Production
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 April 2010
If you want a book that combines practical and useful guidance when approaching sound design then this is it. Sonnenschien's informative and direct writing style makes it a 'can't put down' read. Basically - 'this is what to consider - then this is how to achieve it'. There is also an obvious love for the subject and that is inspirational.

I am studying for an Msc in advanced music production and I found this to be invaluable reference source and cannot recommend it enough.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 May 2011
It took me a few months to read this book because its not the kind of book you read without taking notes. This book is so detailed that i prefer to call it a course. I've been designing broadcast sound for about 8 years and this book pretty much let me know how little i know. There's an immediate difference in the way i work now and a renewed boldness to take on more challenging jobs. I'm a professional Audio Post Engineer and i would recommend this book for anyone in the same field, any would be sound designer and even music producers. Excellent!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 February 2010
I thoroughly enjoyed this book and have taken lots of valuable information from it. Having never done any sound design work before, I found the techniques for laying down the foundations of the sound design most useful - especially the visual maps, and David Sonnenschein's background in psychology seems to reflect in his writing style, which gives the book a fresh outlook on the whole concept of sound design.

This book is a must have for anyone who is interested in the creative uses of audio, not just sound design.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 November 2011
This is the best book I have found about sound design so far.
It helps you to think out of the box in the creative processes of music and sound design for films.
It makes you stretch your imagination to find usable sounds even in the most common objects and places found around you.

It has a little bit of psychology for sound design which help in terms of emotional impact and narrative coherence.

A five stars without doubt....this is the 3rd time I am reading it.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 June 2009
Brilliant - no need to say any more. If you want to have an interest in sound design, in any form, or even if you just like film - buy this book. You won't regret it. 5 star.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 February 2010
Its a lot more interesting than what I predicted. The book discusses the process's a sound designer contributes within film and gives tips for people interested in sound design.

Their are many useful tips in the book such as this one. `Often you will need several minutes duration to cover the entire scene, and you may have much less than that for an adequate background recording. The solution is to loop the sound, but the point connection sometimes jumps levels or timbre, making it stand out. If your ambience is very constant with no attacks, peaks or decay (no bird chirping, horn blowing, etc.), then you can transfer it twice, once normal and once in reverse. When you attach the ends of the normal to the reverse into a loop, there will be no jump at all'.

The book shares some very interesting points which I find very inspiring, with quotes from professional sound designers and other hints for possibilities whilst working in film. Each chapter varies from creating the sound to working with the director and how everything is moulded together to create the end product.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)