Customer Reviews


16 Reviews
5 star:
 (15)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Highly recommended, 6 Jan 2004
This review is from: Sound Design: The Expressive Power of Music, Voice and Sound Effects in Cinema (Paperback)
I was recommended this book by a number of tutors at my college. It is an excellent book for understanding the implications, uses and deign of sound for film. It also serves as a good reference book, and I find that when I am stuck for an idea, referring to it helps to get the ball rolling again. I'd highly recommend it to anyone who is seriously interested in filmaking,including directors, as it also gives ideas on how to marry sound and image. It is very practical and easy to read, and a must for anyone interested in making good films.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Outstanding, 24 Oct 2004
This review is from: Sound Design: The Expressive Power of Music, Voice and Sound Effects in Cinema (Paperback)
This book underpinned my thesis into sound design. David Sonnenschien writes very clearly and with great enthusiasm. Moreover, he encourgaes the reader to contact him, which in my case provided useful primary research. Ultimately, what i gleaned from this book lead to me lecturing at university and has helped distinguish me now i work within the Film and TV industry.
Buy it and potentially bore your friends rigid with wonderfull facts. Excellent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great book, 4 Nov 2008
By 
This review is from: Sound Design: The Expressive Power of Music, Voice and Sound Effects in Cinema (Paperback)
This book is incredibly insightfull and enjoyable to read. As mentioned previously in a review, this book will also benefit directors as it gives some amazing ideas and 'stratagies' for combining sound and image. If you are interested in foley effects, or any kind of film/music projects, then i cannot reccommend this book enough. It gives many examples for foley ideas ( for example, obi-wan's light sabre is tuned to C major, while Darth Vaders is in a minor key') and is littered throughout the pages with insider info from directors and sound designers. Buy buy buy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sound Design Book Reveiw, 4 Dec 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sound Design: The Expressive Power of Music, Voice and Sound Effects in Cinema (Paperback)
Sound Design by David Sonnenschien:

This written work is in so many different way's such a help to either experienced or up and coming Creative Sound designers with handy tips and shortcuts, It is easy to follow and gives a great insight into the though processes involved in making sound productions and how the simplest of things can be made into some weird and and wonderful sounds.

As I am studying Creative Sound Production at University it was already on my must read\purchase book list on the subject matter, a decision that I am glad I made to purchase the book as it has helped me in so many ways to understand the subject and how to use basic everyday items in my creative sound processes and projects.

It Is a must but book, well written and informative, I would recommend in deed I have recommended the book to the university faculty to be added to the departments or universities library for future use by other likeminded students.

Raemond Cook BA(Hons) Creative Sound Production
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Invaluable buy it!!, 6 April 2010
By 
Mr. R. Jones (Swansea Uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Sound Design: The Expressive Power of Music, Voice and Sound Effects in Cinema (Paperback)
If you want a book that combines practical and useful guidance when approaching sound design then this is it. Sonnenschien's informative and direct writing style makes it a 'can't put down' read. Basically - 'this is what to consider - then this is how to achieve it'. There is also an obvious love for the subject and that is inspirational.

I am studying for an Msc in advanced music production and I found this to be invaluable reference source and cannot recommend it enough.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 11 Jun 2009
By 
David Gibson "Davros" (Ssh-yt creek) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Sound Design: The Expressive Power of Music, Voice and Sound Effects in Cinema (Paperback)
Brilliant - no need to say any more. If you want to have an interest in sound design, in any form, or even if you just like film - buy this book. You won't regret it. 5 star.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent book for sound designers and musicians, 23 Nov 2011
This review is from: Sound Design: The Expressive Power of Music, Voice and Sound Effects in Cinema (Paperback)
This is the best book I have found about sound design so far.
It helps you to think out of the box in the creative processes of music and sound design for films.
It makes you stretch your imagination to find usable sounds even in the most common objects and places found around you.

It has a little bit of psychology for sound design which help in terms of emotional impact and narrative coherence.

A five stars without doubt....this is the 3rd time I am reading it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very, Very Good Book!, 25 May 2011
This review is from: Sound Design: The Expressive Power of Music, Voice and Sound Effects in Cinema (Paperback)
It took me a few months to read this book because its not the kind of book you read without taking notes. This book is so detailed that i prefer to call it a course. I've been designing broadcast sound for about 8 years and this book pretty much let me know how little i know. There's an immediate difference in the way i work now and a renewed boldness to take on more challenging jobs. I'm a professional Audio Post Engineer and i would recommend this book for anyone in the same field, any would be sound designer and even music producers. Excellent!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Perfect for University Essays and written C/W, 26 Jan 2011
By 
A. Alexander (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Sound Design: The Expressive Power of Music, Voice and Sound Effects in Cinema (Paperback)
I bought this for my uni course - TV post production. During the Sound Design module, I barely put this book down. Very useful as a reference in written coursework and essays. I'm glad I bought it rather than using the library copy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Highly Valuable Source of Information, 21 Feb 2010
By 
This review is from: Sound Design: The Expressive Power of Music, Voice and Sound Effects in Cinema (Paperback)
I thoroughly enjoyed this book and have taken lots of valuable information from it. Having never done any sound design work before, I found the techniques for laying down the foundations of the sound design most useful - especially the visual maps, and David Sonnenschein's background in psychology seems to reflect in his writing style, which gives the book a fresh outlook on the whole concept of sound design.

This book is a must have for anyone who is interested in the creative uses of audio, not just sound design.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Sound Design: The Expressive Power of Music, Voice and Sound Effects in Cinema
8.39
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews