Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Incredibly Insightful
I am a trained actor who has worked within the film and television industry and am about to direct my third short film. Directing is something quite new to me. This book took me to new heights as i searched for a deeper sense of understanding of what makes for great, playable direction; the key to guiding actors towards truly wonderful performances, unforgettable films...
Published on 11 Aug 2004 by briskiboy

versus
4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Wordy and Utopian
The book has a lot of ideas to offer, and the writer is very knowledgable. Unfortunately, most of it is theory, with little concern for practicality.
The teachings in this book would work perfectly in an ideal world where all actors are excellent, they all think the same and the time available in your production is limitless. The reality is that many of the methods...
Published on 23 May 2011 by Yarasmodai


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Incredibly Insightful, 11 Aug 2004
This review is from: Directing Actors: Creating Memorable Performances for Film and Television (Paperback)
I am a trained actor who has worked within the film and television industry and am about to direct my third short film. Directing is something quite new to me. This book took me to new heights as i searched for a deeper sense of understanding of what makes for great, playable direction; the key to guiding actors towards truly wonderful performances, unforgettable films and enough ammunition to accomodate every angle you need when directing fianlly begins.
Each and every element of this book is connected seamlessly, developing with your own learning curve. Well written. Beautifully constructed, it rings on so many bells that tell you in no uncertain terms exactly what you can find within yourself to make you a great director if only you will take the time to invest in it. I have only had this book 2 days and i am starting to read it over for the second time to cement its principles to my approach. I now see so much inner life within my script and cannot wait to get into my next rehearsal. If you are a director and think you know how to communicate with actors on yours and their terms then you might just need to wipe the slate clean and start again. And you wont regret it. I assure you. I urge both would be actors and directors alike to indulge themselves.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars useful not only for film and TV!, 14 Dec 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: Directing Actors: Creating Memorable Performances for Film and Television (Paperback)
I bought this book as a first time theatre director and also an aspiring film director. i loved the no-nonsense approach, and Weston's realistic impressions of what actors and directors really feel. I found it very useful, and I think that many of the techniques are equally useful for the stage as well as for the screen. I certainly found them so.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This is an EXCELLENT book on the subject!, 23 Mar 1998
By A Customer
This review is from: Directing Actors: Creating Memorable Performances for Film and Television (Paperback)
Judith does a masterful job of educating on the fine art of communicating effectively and constructively with actors. Many of her insights and recommendations translate very easily into the "real" world, allowing you to not only practice these techniques more frequently, but also hone you communication skills with those around you. A series of "quick fixes" are offered up that are effective ways of getting you to think "outside of the box", and each is elaborated on and folded into more in-depth techniques. All in all, one of the best of MANY books I have read on directing and communicating with actors!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A down to earth approach, 16 Feb 2011
By 
JB Moussa (North East, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Directing Actors: Creating Memorable Performances for Film and Television (Paperback)
Directing Actors is a very practical guide on how to bring out the acting in your talents. Judith Weston tells you about the misconceptions and takes time to describe the character of an actor. As well as listing the wrong ways to talk to your actors, the book wanders into the realms of personality and understanding people, an essential since making a film is all about understanding both your characters in the script and the characters who are playing those roles.

She teaches you how to give FACTS and PRACTICAL TASKS to your actor, instead of simply telling him what emotion you want. There are a couple of wonderful true stories dotted here and there in each section, which really explain the relationships between a director and an actor and get across the point Judith is trying to make.

There are a couple of occasions where 'blocking' is mentioned, a technique that I believe is going out of date recently. However, Directing Actors is such an encompassing, rich read that I would strongly recommend it to actors and directors alike.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Wordy and Utopian, 23 May 2011
This review is from: Directing Actors: Creating Memorable Performances for Film and Television (Paperback)
The book has a lot of ideas to offer, and the writer is very knowledgable. Unfortunately, most of it is theory, with little concern for practicality.
The teachings in this book would work perfectly in an ideal world where all actors are excellent, they all think the same and the time available in your production is limitless. The reality is that many of the methods mentioned in the book cannot be used in real life.
Another annoying thing is how the writer makes her point in one sentence and then writes eight additional paragraphs just to add more pages to the book. It becomes very tedious after the first two chapters to have to read monotonous and useless repetition after every point.
It is an interesting book and there are definitely things to be learnt (but not followed dogmatically), although overall it could have been a quarter of the length.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Information, 15 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Directing Actors: Creating Memorable Performances for Film and Television (Paperback)
This is different from all the other books on directing, as it just covers working with actors. I didn't realise, before reading this book, just how much work was needed to get the performance you require from your actors. It is very in depth, and explains all the problems that can occur, and all the preperation you need to do before you start to shoot. Very much written from an actors perspective, so you know what actors are looking for, so you can get good interaction and a good working relationship. This is the book you want if you want to get a great performance and not just want to know where to point your camera, to get good shots.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Real Resource for Directors, 17 Mar 2006
By A Customer
This review is from: Directing Actors: Creating Memorable Performances for Film and Television (Paperback)
This is a fabulous book. It is truthful, honest, informative, focussed, insightful and intuitive.I have been a director for nearly 15 years and this book has helped me to focus all that I've learned, and more importantly given me new ways to apply all that I've learned, in an enormously thorough way. If you are relatively experienced or not, if you are directing actors, you should read this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars An original but strange view on directing actors and treating a script, 17 Feb 2012
This review is from: Directing Actors: Creating Memorable Performances for Film and Television (Paperback)
While being a well-written and thorough representation of _A_ method, Weston's concept has two big problems:

Problem 1: Treatment of the Script

Although the director should have the final say on how a script is treated and sculpted into a film, Weston's approach is very likely to throw away a lot of what the scriptwriter had in mind; i.e. the outcome probably has little to do with the original idea.

Problem 2: Treatment of Actors

Moreover, Weston's methods do not utilize the skills and craft of an educated and experienced actor. Weston's gimmicks are possibly helpful when directing kids, amateurs, and extras, but treating an actor like a child who doesn't understand (and, according to W's view, doesn't have to understand !!) the film, the scene, or the character in total, is foolish and, at the same time, arrogant and disrespectful towards actors and their craft.

In sum: Using Weston's methods will result in a film that is not as good as it could have been, if one had used a different approach on directing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars i am very happy with it, due to the correspondance to the expectations, 1 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Directing Actors: Creating Memorable Performances for Film and Television (Paperback)
i am very happy with it, due to the correspondance to the expectationsYOU ARE ASKING TO MANY WORDS TO DESCRIBE THIS, NO ONE HAS TIME
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Book review, 24 May 2010
By 
Mr. Kp Mackin (UK - England - Manchester) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Directing Actors: Creating Memorable Performances for Film and Television (Paperback)
The book arrived a day before the final due date which was great.

The book is an excellent read for anyone starting out in the film industry, especially new directors.

Great product, great service.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Directing Actors: Creating Memorable Performances for Film and Television
11.19
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews