Customer Reviews


27 Reviews
5 star:
 (19)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


46 of 47 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars NFTS
Shot-by-Shot is a compilation of essential mise-en-scene basics for film directors and cinematographers. At first glance, much of the information is obvious to anyone with basic directing experience, but the apparent simplicity is deceiving. As a tutor at the National Film and Television School, I have found it useful for advanced apprentice filmmakers--if you have...
Published on 20 Nov. 1999

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Some useful bits, but rather outdated
Not a bad book, but could do with a new edition. As this was written in the 90's there are some large chunks of info regarding the use of computers for editing/visual effects/story boarding that are almost cringe worthy.

On the plus side, many of the techniques talked about are timeless, I definitely learned a few things while reading it, and began to consider...
Published on 6 July 2011 by Mr. Peter Gomer


Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not good enough, 8 Dec. 2011
This review is from: Film Directing Shot by Shot: Visualizing from Concept to Screen (Michael Wiese Productions) (Paperback)
This is a book about all the types of shots, but it has a serious problem. The writer doesn't explain the emotional meaning of all those shots. If you read this book, you will know the positions and angles that a cameraman uses; but you won't know nothing about when, and why, employ this angles. Katz doesn't talk about the art of direction and the connection between the script, the characters, and the camera shots.

If you want to learn the complicated art of the direction you must read other more interesting books, like "Film Directing Fundamentals" by Nicholas Proferes, "Cinematic Storytelling" by Jennifer Van Sijll, "The The Five C's of Cinematography" by Joseph V. Mascelli and "Hichcock" by Francois Truffaut (an absolute classic). Also you can analyze an Hitchcock's movie "shot by shot". Any movie of Hitch is a master class.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars very practical, 1 July 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Film Directing Shot by Shot: Visualizing from Concept to Screen (Michael Wiese Productions) (Paperback)
I read the book from school libraray and i thought it is one of the must-read book for those who wants to make film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars It is an old book but the principles of shot ..., 15 Oct. 2014
This review is from: Film Directing Shot by Shot: Visualizing from Concept to Screen (Michael Wiese Productions) (Paperback)
It is an old book but the principles of shot visualising and shot composition have not and will not change. I found this book immensley helpful. I bought the Kindle version and as soon as I had read it, I bought a hard copy. Money well spent!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars interesting, 21 Feb. 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Film Directing Shot by Shot: Visualizing from Concept to Screen (Michael Wiese Productions) (Paperback)
Nice way to see how concepts are put into frame. Quite technical with its attempt to justify variations on its own theme and how different situations require different view points with examples of films to assist.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Useful but Clinical, 31 Mar. 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Film Directing Shot by Shot: Visualizing from Concept to Screen (Michael Wiese Productions) (Paperback)
This is a well thought out and well presented book, showing you how to visualise from script to screen. The diagrams and pictures are clean and well explained. My only problem with this book is the clinical nature of the writing and how the creative process of filmmaking is over simplified as merely visualising the script. It's also quite heavy going. Having said that, I do feel it is an essential book for any potential director out there and for anyone really interested in how film works. It is showing its age now as things have moved on considerably in terms of technique, style and technology but it is still a very good book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Informative Book, 28 Feb. 2011
This review is from: Film Directing Shot by Shot: Visualizing from Concept to Screen (Michael Wiese Productions) (Paperback)
I was exceptionally impressed with the author's style of writing. This book doesn't have colourful pictures or attractive lay outs but It's incredibly informative. A filim maker must read this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Keep it with you, 16 Mar. 2014
By 
Martyn Chalk "StChalkstar" (Oxford) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Film Directing Shot by Shot: Visualizing from Concept to Screen (Michael Wiese Productions) (Paperback)
I swear by this book, and have bought it as a gift, many, many times. I've read it cover to cover but generally use it as a reference manual. Probably the most important book I own.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars was a very nice buy, a new one latest print, 11 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Film Directing Shot by Shot: Visualizing from Concept to Screen (Michael Wiese Productions) (Paperback)
3 times cheaper than in my country! was a very nice buy, a new one latest print, it's like a bible for next few months!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars film directors book, 30 Nov. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Film Directing Shot by Shot: Visualizing from Concept to Screen (Michael Wiese Productions) (Paperback)
This book has everything you need to know about making movies, it has helped me so much
its a must have!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars very good, 2 Dec. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Film Directing Shot by Shot: Visualizing from Concept to Screen (Michael Wiese Productions) (Paperback)
clear and easy to use this book is a good tool to learn as you go event while working on your first project
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Film Directing Shot by Shot: Visualizing from Concept to Screen (Michael Wiese Productions)
£16.99
Usually dispatched within 9 to 12 days
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews