Customer Reviews


14 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great read!
Well, what an excellent read! After craft brewing at home for 21 years I'm now "plating out" and "sloping" like the best of them! Home kitchen has turned into a yeast lab! I have saved more than the cost of the book by culturing my yeasts only after a couple of months.
A most informative book; a must for the seriously geeky craft brewers who particularly want to...
Published on 13 Feb 2011 by martinrich

versus
1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars A treatise on yeast
Let me be clear. This is a well researched and technically excellent book. If you are doing a degree in brewing it must be essential reading surely. For the average home brewer though at least half the book is irrelevant, on setting up your own laboratory to grow yeast, and the rest over the top. I can honestly say that I know of no home or micro brewer who has used a...
Published 6 months ago by Stephen


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great read!, 13 Feb 2011
This review is from: Yeast: The Practical Guide to Beer Fermentation (Brewing Elements) (Paperback)
Well, what an excellent read! After craft brewing at home for 21 years I'm now "plating out" and "sloping" like the best of them! Home kitchen has turned into a yeast lab! I have saved more than the cost of the book by culturing my yeasts only after a couple of months.
A most informative book; a must for the seriously geeky craft brewers who particularly want to move on from dry yeasts into a whole new world of real brewery yeasts.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great book without too much science, 21 Nov 2011
By 
Robert "R. Broad" (Arlington Heights, IlLINOIS, United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Yeast: The Practical Guide to Beer Fermentation (Brewing Elements) (Paperback)
This is a great book for any level of brewer. It takes you through the basics for brewing beer at home, from starting and maintaining a yeast farm all the way up to what you would need to run a professional brewery, including procedures and equipment.
We use this as a constant reference and now have many of our favourite yeasts on slants in the fridge!
This is definitely not a text book, but a very practical book for hands on brewers, which suits the hobby/profession perfectly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must for the serious brewer, 8 Jan 2012
By 
J C "jc" (loughborough) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Yeast: The Practical Guide to Beer Fermentation (Brewing Elements) (Paperback)
Excellent book, suitable for all levels, some of the information went over my head and some info will be implemented in my next brew, recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars EXCELLENT BOOK!, 19 Jan 2011
By 
L. De Rose - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Yeast: The Practical Guide to Beer Fermentation (Brewing Elements) (Paperback)
A really good book! Very well written and containing a lot of valuable information about the fascinating world of brewing yeast. The author has also included how to perform both simple tests as well as very complex ones using specific lab equipment. It is also worth noting the section about how to set up your own lab.
However, the only downside is that the writer, being the owner of White Labs (one of the world's principal producers of brewing yeast), cannot resist promoting his own products by discouraging the reader from experimenting with his own yeast slurries; although admittedly yeast is a very delicate organism.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Taking me to the next level, 22 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Yeast: The Practical Guide to Beer Fermentation (Brewing Elements) (Paperback)
I started with Brewferm kits, went to all grain, brewing Belgians and started double decocting because it sounded cool. I bought this, read it and now I'm rinsing my yeast and have just bought an aquarium kit to help oxygenate my wort. It's a fabulous and fascinating book, even if you don't brew. Yeast have to be one of the most wonderful lifeforms on Earth. I'm on my second read now, can't recommend it highly enough. It really is all about the yeast and how to look after the little ones. One thing which I found nice is that Chris chats constructively about using Wyeast, one of his competitors in the nice supportive way that seems to exist in the brewing community.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars good book, 1 July 2012
By 
Armel Prieur "armelp" (Belgique) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Yeast: The Practical Guide to Beer Fermentation (Brewing Elements) (Paperback)
good book, well received in good time, the book is new and the subject well documented, it's written by one of the most usefull creator of yeasts for beers
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Very Technical, but Worth the Effort, 26 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is a very technical book, and for all the claims from the authors of "only delving into scientific stuff when necessary", its all technical. Having said that, it merits four stars because it does tell you pretty much anything and everything about yeast, including history, nature and nurture, and even goes on to explain how to set up your own brewery lab. How fermentation plays a such a big part in brewing, and exactly how it plays that part, was a revelation in many ways. Carbon dioxide and alcohol are what yeast produce during a successful fermentation and probably what you want for your brew, but its all the other things that are happening or can happen (good and bad) that are well worth the effort to learn about.

Although some parts are very dry and technical, its generally written in a very readable style. Full of very good information and insight, that should be of help to brewers of all shapes and sizes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Highly Informative, 27 Mar 2014
By 
Mr. J. P. Atherton "mr_road" (London, UK.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I am 70% of my way through this wonderfully written book.
It is very detailed, broad and engrossing. If you ever wanted to know all about yeast and how these little critters turn dull water into wonderful beer this book is for you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great book, very insightful, 30 Jun 2011
By 
D. Watson - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Yeast: The Practical Guide to Beer Fermentation (Brewing Elements) (Paperback)
Who would have thought you could write so much on yeast and keep it all, I got this when I decided to make my own yeast bank and I dont regret it, helps you appreciate just how important yeast are to the finished product!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Every brewer should have this., 1 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Yeast: The Practical Guide to Beer Fermentation (Brewing Elements) (Paperback)
Aimed at homebrewers and pros, this is a book that you need to read if you want to make excellent beer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Yeast: The Practical Guide to Beer Fermentation (Brewing Elements)
Yeast: The Practical Guide to Beer Fermentation (Brewing Elements) by Jamil Zainasheff (Paperback - 10 Dec 2010)
£14.88
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews