Customer Reviews


52 Reviews
5 star:
 (40)
4 star:
 (11)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


45 of 45 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great reference book!
For the technical side of brewing this book covers what you need to know! I also have the "complete joy of homebrewing" which is also a great book and lot of fun to read, but to be honest it is not as up to date as this book. I recommend this book together with "designing great beer" - with this set you'll be able to brew the most common types of beer with very good...
Published on 21 Jun 2008 by K. Møller

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars I like it but it has one major fault for me
I like it but it has one major fault for me, for such a large information packed book the font size is too small for me, this is a great dip in book, which would really suit a hardback option with larger type.
Published 3 months ago by S. King


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

45 of 45 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great reference book!, 21 Jun 2008
By 
K. Møller (Denmark) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: How to Brew: Everything You Need to Know to Brew Beer Right for the First Time (Paperback)
For the technical side of brewing this book covers what you need to know! I also have the "complete joy of homebrewing" which is also a great book and lot of fun to read, but to be honest it is not as up to date as this book. I recommend this book together with "designing great beer" - with this set you'll be able to brew the most common types of beer with very good results.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars How to Brew - book review, 9 Jan 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: How to Brew: Everything You Need to Know to Brew Beer Right for the First Time (Paperback)
This is a very comprehensive book, with a mine of information about home brewing. It is written in an engaging style, which makes it easy and interesting reading.

The main criticism that I have relates to the fact that it is aimed exclusively at American readers. British readers need to be aware that a US gallon is significantly less than an imperial gallon - or alternatively stick to the metric units only. Also, some of the ingredients (particularly hop varieties) are very hard or impossible to come by in the UK.

I appreciate that this is hardly the author's fault, as he may not have been aware that his book would sell abroad. It would be nice if an international edition of this excellent book could be published.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


31 of 32 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars It's the Brewing Bible, but can scare off newbies!, 18 Mar 2009
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: How to Brew: Everything You Need to Know to Brew Beer Right for the First Time (Paperback)
This book really is the beer homebrewers bible but the sheer volume of complex (to a new person) information could scare off.
Suggest don't buy the book quite yet - just buy a brewkit with the money instead, get the bug to take it to "real" brewing and THEN buy this book!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


61 of 64 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent homebrew book!, 24 Oct 2007
By 
Frazer Kennedy (Sheffield, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: How to Brew: Everything You Need to Know to Brew Beer Right for the First Time (Paperback)
The title really does say it all with this book!

I've been brewing for a few years now, and upon getting this book my beers have leapt forward from being usually OK (but still very obviously homebrewed), to being beers that I would be happy to receive in a pub or beer festival...honestly!

This book contains just about everything you could need for any stage in your brewing life. Everything from the beginner's standard 'can and kilo' brews, right up to full grain and everything in between.

Ingredients, methodology, techniques, equipment, recipes - its all here.

(My only slight criticism is that it is doesn't contain details on 'kegging' your beer, but this is really fairly simple and info can be easily found online for this if you wish.)

Basically this is the only beer homebrew book you will need - I highly recommend it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must for every home brewer, 10 Oct 2009
By 
Machtelt Garrels (Belgium) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: How to Brew: Everything You Need to Know to Brew Beer Right for the First Time (Paperback)
I've had access to the on-line version of this book before, and since I've evolved to a more-than-occasional brewer I sort of felt obliged to buy the book that learned me so much about one of my favorite drinks.

At first, I only used the book to get down to the practical side of brewing beer. I feel that if you follow the author's advice and if you can just bring yourself to be patient, things can't go wrong, not even if you want to go through the whole brewing process instead of just starting from a malt extract. The book does what it promises in the subtitle.

But this book also contains detailed explanations about all the processes involved in brewing, so that you understand about the chemics involved. This might seem a bit boring at times, but it helps you to understand where you can tune the process and how you can create your own beer style. This understanding is exactly what you need after you've tried brewing a couple of times, it worked, and now you want to try something different.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars if i could have all the money i have spent on beer i would spend it all on beer., 13 Mar 2010
This review is from: How to Brew: Everything You Need to Know to Brew Beer Right for the First Time (Paperback)
I am very new to brewing and wanting to build up the fullest possible picture of how to make the best beer and chose this (based on other reviews). It is without hesitation worth every penny. I read it all and compulsively got another batch on the go It does make you realise that you can take the home brewing hobby as far as you want to and it will show you how to optimise what you are doing. Be aware though if you are a kit brewer it may cause you to want many new pieces of equipment like boilers, mash tuns and many other random stuff you never thought you would spend your pennys on. saying that though you do get out what you put in and the sky is the limit from the ground up, I am just trying to resist running before I can walk.

Get it, be inspired and get your mates round and drink till sun rise.

This book along with a more recipe orientated book is really all you may ever need (at least for now).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The ultimate homebrew reference, 12 Nov 2009
By 
N. Rowntree (Gloucester, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: How to Brew: Everything You Need to Know to Brew Beer Right for the First Time (Paperback)
After having previously purchased Brew Your Own British Real Ale (Camra) which was a great book for novice to intermediate brewers I wanted to know more about the actual brewing process and the chemistry involved in each of the ingredients. This book is the only reference guide you will ever need as it goes into great depth to cover all aspects of brewing. The book is written by a US author and as such in places it can be slightly slanted to US style beers but on the whole the techniques are fairly generic and very easy to understand. The chapters start off with the basics and end with more information that you'll ever need to complete your brews, including a handy troubleshooting guide to assess why your beer didn't quite turn out as you expected!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars THE "bible", 13 Aug 2010
This review is from: How to Brew: Everything You Need to Know to Brew Beer Right for the First Time (Paperback)
If you read this and listen to the Brewing Network podcasts the only way you can make anything other than excellent beer is to not do as they tell you! Yes it's American but metric units are included and I've had no trouble brewing to that. Also contrary to popular belief, perpetuated by the awful American beer sold in this country, the US is now home to the best beers in the world, so trust an American author on this subject. If you weren't aware of this you'll find plenty of British and European styles to brew in this book. Also it'll open your eyes to fermentation temperatures, proper liquid yeast and yeast pitching rates which really go together to make a beer better than you can buy. Go into most "old-boy" home brew shops here and ask for liquid yeast or a yeast starter flask and you'll get a blank look; this is why homebrew has such a poor reputation here. Luckily some of the better shops and internet suppliers are getting with it so everything in this book is available to the UK homebrewer. Buy it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good scientific detail, 13 July 2009
By 
C. Collins (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: How to Brew: Everything You Need to Know to Brew Beer Right for the First Time (Paperback)
In depth view of brewing, if you are interested in the nitty gritty. Written by an American so slightly different brewing style than in the UK.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Simply, This is the best HB book available..., 3 Jan 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: How to Brew: Everything You Need to Know to Brew Beer Right for the First Time (Paperback)
I've been brewing for the last 20 years and made some great beers in that time, but I've also made some that were not so great. This book changed all that. It made me take a step back in my hobby, re-think a given procedure and polish my act to the point that I now can brew beers that are on par, if not better, than those offered from the top shelf, consistently. Mr Palmer makes it easy for the non-brewer to get started from the offset and for the more advanced, points to practices that we could adopt to better advantage. It does not cater for kegging, but this is a minor issue as there are so many ways to keg and force carbonate lagers/beers. The science sections are very in-depth and are explained well in a language that the non-chemists among us can understand...

I also bought Designing Great Beers: The Ultimate Guide to Brewing Classic Beer Styles and am now creating clones of some of the worlds great beers. Bear in mind that this book does not teach home brewing to the novice, it works in tandem to the above enabling you to make your own recipes and replicate any beer on the shelf once you have learned to recognise a certain beers characteristics...

With these 2 books, you should be able to create top notch beverages, everytime...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

How to Brew: Everything You Need to Know to Brew Beer Right for the First Time
£11.89
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews