Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An essential companion to more academic versions
'Awakening Osiris' mightn't be a literal translation, and for some it might veer too close to New Age territory. But many readers will find it an enlightening counterpoint to some of the drier academic versions. Much of Ellis's writing is genuinely inspiring and moving, which surely the Egyptian texts were meant to be. For all we know she might be closer to the spirit of...
Published on 1 July 2002

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Great poetry but
Inspired poetry but I cant rate it higher because I simply don't believe its what the hieroglyphs say. Its the author's fancies but they are vivid and original.
Published 14 months ago by rose moloney


Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An essential companion to more academic versions, 1 July 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Awakening Osiris: Egyptian Book of the Dead (Paperback)
'Awakening Osiris' mightn't be a literal translation, and for some it might veer too close to New Age territory. But many readers will find it an enlightening counterpoint to some of the drier academic versions. Much of Ellis's writing is genuinely inspiring and moving, which surely the Egyptian texts were meant to be. For all we know she might be closer to the spirit of the originals than anyone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This is an outstanding source of the highest information., 19 Jan 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: Awakening Osiris: Egyptian Book of the Dead (Paperback)
Awakening Osiris is one of the best books I have ever encountered. This is the only time I have seen an established spritual text interpreted with such feeling. Spirit resides in these words. All spiritualities will find a common thread here. Seek the book, The End Times too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars While not a literal translation of the BoD, Ellis manages to, 29 Dec 1997
By A Customer
This review is from: Awakening Osiris: Egyptian Book of the Dead (Paperback)
While not a literal translation of the BoD, Ellis manages to get across the beauty and emotion of the texts. I would use it as a supplement to the Faulkner translation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Essential Egyptian spirituality, 17 Sep 2010
By 
This review is from: Awakening Osiris: Egyptian Book of the Dead (Paperback)
As the other reviewers have mentioned, this is not a hieroglyph by hieroglyph translation, although it is interesting to compare Ellis with the often awkward and spiritually dry academic versions of the so-called Book of the Dead.

This is prose poetry, a personal and beautiful interpretation, written by someone who is clearly in tune with the spirit of ancient Egypt. You can read and enjoy it on several levels -- purely as poetry, or as a prompt for meditation and ritual. It is as relevant as any spiritual text, from any culture and age, and will inspire you, teach you, and be a companion for life.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Osiris Book, 2 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Awakening Osiris: Egyptian Book of the Dead (Paperback)
I purchased this book at a friends request. She is absolutely delighted with it and had to read it as soon as it arrived.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing., 3 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
What an amazing translation of the Egyptian book of the dead, or as it should be known, the Egyptian book of going fourth by day, Beautiful, poetic, profound, and moving, as a practitioner of the craft for the past 38 years, I have studied the esoteric aspect of Egypt, I have the Wallis Budge translation, which is very good, Academic and a little stiff, and very valuable, so I'm not knocking the academic translation. The Normandi Ellis translation is stuff of the heart, it is a book that will always be at my side, I highly recommend this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Great poetry but, 21 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Awakening Osiris: Egyptian Book of the Dead (Paperback)
Inspired poetry but I cant rate it higher because I simply don't believe its what the hieroglyphs say. Its the author's fancies but they are vivid and original.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars beautifully poetic and passionate., 2 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Awakening Osiris: Egyptian Book of the Dead (Paperback)
This is an absolute treasure, translated by a poetic woman, bringing to life the book of the dead and breathing passion into its pages. I bought it thinking i would flick through it and most likely sell it. But now i keep it by my bed and there it will stay forever. Take my advice and Chuck your soft porn '50 shades of puke' and go and get a copy of this if you want to know about the undying flames of passion.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Awakening Osiris: Egyptian Book of the Dead
Awakening Osiris: Egyptian Book of the Dead by E. Normandi (Paperback - 1 Sep 1994)
£12.33
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews