Customer Reviews


5 Reviews
5 star:    (0)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4.0 out of 5 stars A must for VOX FANS / COLLECTORS
Despite being rather too heavily directed at a US market it does have some good information, but is missing so very much from the UK.

The lack of service procedures, internal photos, parts lists, circuit diagrams etc makes it nothing more than a reprinted sales brochure in many way.

It could have been oh so much better.
Published 2 months ago by Mr. D. A. Jeffreys

versus
1.0 out of 5 stars Very poor quality... rip off at over 20 quid all in.
I hadn't realised when I ordered the book that this was a reproduction of the 'original' edition - now out of print and this one is poor in comparison with the original which I have seen. Poor photos, cheap printing – the title doesn’t even line up on the spine! The publisher “Bold Strummer” has done this before – producing a shoddy Gibson...
Published 5 months ago by SpudMurphy


Most Helpful First | Newest First

4.0 out of 5 stars A must for VOX FANS / COLLECTORS, 7 May 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Vox Story (Guitar History) (Paperback)
Despite being rather too heavily directed at a US market it does have some good information, but is missing so very much from the UK.

The lack of service procedures, internal photos, parts lists, circuit diagrams etc makes it nothing more than a reprinted sales brochure in many way.

It could have been oh so much better.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Very poor quality... rip off at over 20 quid all in., 7 Feb 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Vox Story (Guitar History) (Paperback)
I hadn't realised when I ordered the book that this was a reproduction of the 'original' edition - now out of print and this one is poor in comparison with the original which I have seen. Poor photos, cheap printing – the title doesn’t even line up on the spine! The publisher “Bold Strummer” has done this before – producing a shoddy Gibson Guitar reprint. I’ll do my homework more thoroughly next time.
Caveat Emptor.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good value, 15 Dec 2013
By 
G. Crisp "Crail" (Bristol UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Vox Story (Guitar History) (Paperback)
Agree generally with the other two comments. Overall print quality is acceptable - just. Great information, but is doesn't mention the very early Vox guitars with the curved headstock, one of which I have in my loft.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Vox story book - A4 size., 27 Oct 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Vox Story (Guitar History) (Paperback)
Not quite a bible sized (which incidentally does exist) type book in terms of pages and weight but is more than satisfactory to explain how this Brit company started from nothing and became very big with its AC30TopBoost model.

Vox started with an AC15, then to an AC30, then to AC30+variants, then to AC50, AC100/120s, Venue and beyond.

Printed in the uSA in 1993 it mentions all the important Brit and USAican groups from 1958-93 that bought into the Vox sound from Shadows; Beatles; Stones; etc, Queen; U2; the Jam; the Smiths.

If all you just want is a good overview type book then this book should suffice with 168+ of (near) A4 sized pages of text and pictures.

Includes some advertising posters and details of various Vox instruments as well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Vox Story - Book review, 19 Jan 2010
This review is from: The Vox Story (Guitar History) (Paperback)
I would certainly recommend this book to anyone interested in Vox amps and musical instruments. The full history of the company in its many manifestations is covered, as well as information on the various amp, guitar and keyboard models produced, along with their better known users. I am personally interested in the JMI Vox AC30 amplifiers and wanted to learn more about them and especially how to recognise and date the various incarnations floating around out there. After all, you would't want to inadvertently buy one of the American built versions of this great British amp, now would you?

I hadn't realised when I ordered the book that the 'original' edition was now out of print and this one looks like a good quality copy. This point will be of interest to collectors, but less so to people like me who was more interested in the content. It is the only reason I deducted one star.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Vox Story (Guitar History)
The Vox Story (Guitar History) by Dick Denney (Paperback - 1 Jan 2006)
Used & New from: 19.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews