Customer Reviews


37 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (14)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars good history except for the introduction
The introduction by David Hatcher Childress is bad history with little relevance to the author's account of the history of the Knights Templars. However once you get past the introduction the history by Charles G. Addison is good and well researched for its time (written in the mid-nineteenth century).
Published on 26 Dec 2009 by Marc Jackson

versus
39 of 46 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars factually incorrect introduction
I was distinctly disappointed in the introduction ~ not only were there several errors in both grammar and syntax, but Hatcher Childress twice quotes the date of Bannockburn as 1324, when in fact it was 10 years ealrier in 1314! Also he states that the day was won by a body of Knights Templar making a final charge late in the day ~ yet the whole content of the rest of...
Published on 2 April 2000 by lloyd.carey@virgin.net


Most Helpful First | Newest First

4.0 out of 5 stars fascinating, 6 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
For an in depth look at the origins and customs of the Templar knights you could not buy a better book, riveting reading once past the rather boring intro.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars brilliant book, 10 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
love this book very easy to read some excellent information for any body interested in this subject i would recommend this book
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great reading, 7 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I chose this rating because I could not put this book down. I loved the historical detail about it. I love history and have visited Malta. I would recommend this if you like history.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Reference, 3 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I purchased this book for background information on the society. It contains a wealth of detail and backs it up with detailed cross references that will enable me to continue my research on this subject.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A History of the Knights Templar, The Church and the Temple, 17 Dec 2012
By 
Anthony V. Shaw (Ilkeston, Derbyshire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A very interesting book but one for anyone interested in the subject. I found it quite a fascinating and informative book
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars OK but heavy reading, 20 Oct 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Ok but a bit of a boring read for a subject that should be full of interesting information.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good read, 28 Nov 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Good read if you are interested in this period of history.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A stirring and informative read, 4 Jan 2012
Several other reviewers have mentioned the introduction - enough said.
Allowing for the date the book was written it seems to give an accurate enough account of the life and times of the Knights Templar, their origins, pursuits and their deaths, with some extra information about the Knights Hospitallers for good measure.
The accounts seem even handed enough to be true at least as far as the Christian side of the equation goes, and I learnt a lot that I had not previously come across. I would like to read it from another source to check it for
veracity and balance.
Overall it was a good read
One thing that was staggering was the sheer numbers of men who were in battle at any one time, and one must ponder the difficulties for any commander in those days even trying to keep command of hordes of tens of thousands of men without radios or cell phones.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 21 Nov 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
my husband bought this so cannot comment on it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 17 Sep 2014
By 
Mr. J. Payne "tsunamijez" (Jersey C.I.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
great history very enlightening
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

History of the Knights Templar: The Temple Church and the Temple
History of the Knights Templar: The Temple Church and the Temple by Charles G. Addison (Paperback - 1 Sep 1997)
£13.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews