Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Listen in Prime Learn more Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.9 out of 5 stars23
4.9 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£4.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 7 April 2012
I got turned onto this book from John K's blog, and it does not disappoint. The book teaches the importance of construction in animation and it's helped me a great deal in my general drawing also.

The majority of this book can be found in his other book though, Cartoon animation, which I got after reading this and seeing how good it was. So if you want to get the other book, that one does have this stuff in however it has very slightly different illustrations.

I personally prefer this one though, it's short simple and it's full of character.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 April 2009
This book is helpful with my Book illustrating course as it show how to draw different character. It was also recommended by the course Tutor.
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 October 2014
Marvellous. A real must-have for anyone involved in animation, however experienced. Head over to John Kricfalusi's website to nab some of the original pages that were cut from the reissue of this (because of copyright infringement IIRC).
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 September 2013
I love it, large pages with simple explanations. I also liked little manual on hoe to prepare your own animation table-which is really handy and much better than buying something pricey in the shops :)
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 April 2013
A lovely, beautiful book to look at and learn from. Full of wonderful pictures and great for something starting out in the illustrattion/animation industry. Well recommended
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 March 2013
This book, although smaller than expected, covers a lot of animation basics so is perfect for beginners and those wanting to refresh their knowledge :)
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 April 2016
It's okayish - the drawings are good and a lot of them but not much explanation. I was surprised at how thin the book felt... I wouldn't exactly rave about this one - not quite what I was expecting. It might make one minor point with very little text followed by lots of diagrams. If you're a total nohoper like me then its not always obvious as to what or how todo what he's going on about.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 March 2015
This is an easily understood paperback book that explains and illustrates beautifully not only how to animate cartoons, but drawing movement in itself. Even if one doesn't intend to draw for animated films, this gives also some valuable information which can be employed in illustration of books. Excellent value for money!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 February 2016
Very good small book for reference from one of Disney's great Animators . I would also recommend the larger version by Preston Blair 'Cartoon Animation'. The book was quickly delivered also.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 February 2014
I found this book very useful and inspiring, easy to follow and use. I would recomend it to any animation beginner.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse