Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 70% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
20
4.6 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£24.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 10 March 2000
Over 20 years old, this book still remains one of the modern classics that no contemporary astrologer can afford to be without. Just about every serious astrologer I've ever met has got a copy of this on his or her shelf!
For most of the book, Robert Hand explores the meaning of every possible combination of planetary transits, including those to the ascendant and midheaven (astrologers using Chiron however, will have to look elsewhere). The introductory chapters about the interpretation and timing of transits are well worth a read, and these are followed by a case study of Nixon and the Watergate scandals in the early 1970s. Then its on to a chapter for each planet and the transits it makes to all the others.
Hand's interpretations are full of psychological insights, but the nature of specific events that may occur are also covered. For the first few years I had this book I tended to focus on the more obvious long-term transits of the outer planets (Jupiter, Saturn, Uranus, Neptune, Pluto) but eventually I became just as intrigued by the uncanny accuracy of the "insignificant" daily or even hourly transits of the Sun, the Moon and Mercury. The smallest and the largest life cycles have their part to play.
Buy this book and prove or disprove predictive astrology for yourself!
0Comment| 30 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 July 2006
First written in 1976 this book has never been bettered. It is not an introductory text and assumes some knowledge of astrology. It gives a comprehensive, easily accessed guide to the archetypal meanings of various transits. It gets the balance right mostly between the cookbook approach and the varity of outcomes allowed by meshing and clashing archetypes. Over 500 pages long but concise this is a reference book rather than bedtime reading. My copy became worn through repetitive use.
0Comment| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
The book is a bristling star,there was no clear and complete work on transits. The radical chart and secondary progressions are considered of prime importance.The TRANSITIONS were used only for daily and weekly fore-cast to general mass.Here in this book ROBERT HAND brings these transitions to individual radical horoscope in exacting and eliciting the results. In past no one tried to draw the attention and focus a searching light on this hazy and dim area. Now all can confidently use this for a an qualified and elevated study to fill the vacume.It is very much useful to a beginner as well to a professional.I feel it is amust on the table for both. I applaude and appreciate the out standing work done by ROBERT HAND.
0Comment| 17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 October 2003
Over 20 years old, this book still remains one of the modern classics that no contemporary astrologer can afford to be without. Just about every serious astrologer I've ever met has got a copy of this on his or her shelf.
For most of the book, Robert Hand explores the meaning of every possible combination of planets in transit to each other, this being one of the most commonly used techniques of astrological prediction. In addition to the planets, the ascendant and midheaven are also included but astrologers using Chiron will have to look elsewhere. The introductory chapters about the interpretation and timing of transits are well worth a read, and these are followed by a case study of Nixon and the Watergate scandals in the early 1970s. Then its on to a chapter for each planet and the transits it makes to all the others.
Hand's interpretations are full of psychological insights, but the nature of specific events that may occur are also covered. For the first few years I had this book I tended to focus on the more obvious long-term transits of the outer planets (Jupiter, Saturn, Uranus, Neptune, Pluto) but eventually I became just as intrigued by the uncanny accuracy of the "insignificant" daily or even hourly transits of the Sun, the Moon and Mercury. The smallest and the largest life cycles have their part to play.
Buy this book and prove or disprove predictive astrology for yourself!
0Comment| 16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 March 2002
I have had this book on my shelf for years and consult it often -
it crystalises, in simple language, the possible outcomes and effects of planetary influences on us, and encourages the broadening of outlook when trying to assess a chart - a rock in a potentially rough sea of interpretation -
Along with "Planets in Aspect" by the same author, it should certainly be amongst the books that any budding astrolger owns.........
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 January 2015
This is the 3rd time I have bought this book, originally in 1980's again in 2009 and now. I gave up astrology for religious reason. Robert Hand's books are very interesting and worth having. In depth interpretations of the planets transit. I would recommend it to any studying Astrology.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 November 2013
This is an essential cookbook of astrological combinations, I think it is used on the astrodienst website for daily transits and you can look them all up in this book for free, once you have bought the book that is.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 May 2007
Why oh why didn't I buy this book sooner! Its a must have. Even though so much is available on the internet, especially by this author, there is nothing like a good old fashion book. I highly recommend.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 June 2009
A very Good Reference Book for any Astrologer.It gives in-depth descriptions of the major transits and how they are likely to manifest in your life,and much more.Each Planet is discussed and its aspects with the other major Planets and angles ( Ascendant and Midheaven)covered in detail.I definately Recommmend buying this book.It is a must-have Reference book.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 December 2012
The wruiter obviously knows his stuff and writes with a great deal of authority and almost in a fatherly style. Very confident and sure of himself and his authority. It's certainly the best and most authoritative work that I have read on the subject and says meaningfull things that hit home frequently.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)