Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Amazing tale of survival against the odds and environment, 29 Aug 2002
This review is from: Survive the Savage Sea (Paperback)
A tatty copy of this book languished in our bookshelf for 20 years prior to reading.
The book tells the true story of the Robertsons, a scottish family who gave up everything and decided to sale around the world. 500 miles of the pacific coast off South America the small family yacht is holed by a school of whales and sinks. The family is forced to abandon ship and survive in an inflatable life raft and small dingy. The tale takes the form of a very accurate diary of the day to day struggle.
With precious little water and food the survival skills of the father (and author) are pushed to the limit in the 38 days that the family seeks to navigate a route to dry land. Detailed descriptions of the search for food and water by various means will interest both sailors and 'land lubbers' like myself. The gruelling hardship and discomfort experienced by the family make this a particularly good read while lying in a comfortable bed or by a pool - probably not book to be taken on a cruise holiday!
A very good read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must for any seafaring traveller and compelling for others, 17 Mar 2000
By A Customer
A diary of events encountered by six survivors who last 33 days at sea in tropical conditions. A non-seafarer myself, I struggled to put this book down. It contains much to prepare seagoers for the trials of survival and the value of a determination to live.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sea fever, 1 Oct 2010
This review is from: Survive the Savage Sea (Hardcover)
This is one of the best tales of the sea I've ever read. Against unbelievable odds, Dougal rescues his entire family after killer whales sink his schooner in the middle of the night and in just a few minutes.
It's a fantastic story of courage, splendidly illustrated with sketches and photos from the event.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Survive the savage sea, 8 Oct 2009
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Survive the Savage Sea (Sailing Classics) (Paperback)
Interesting reading BUT a bit out of date now. Hope the final pages regarding safety procedures and raft designs have been noted by manufacturers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fabulous..., 7 Feb 2002
By A Customer
Very great book and true tale all about surviving at sea...not a dull moment. Have plenty of water and food beside you when you read it because their tales of thirst and starvation will only make you hungry. Easy to read in one or two days and very enjoyable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Outstanding, but with a few points to add from my own point of view, 26 Aug 2011
By 
Nothern Climes (Yorkshire, UK.) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Survive the Savage Sea (Hardcover)
By all means read this book - above all, it's a fantastic adventure. However, it also makes you consider just who might be sharing your life raft whether you like it or not, as well as valuing the simpler things in life (drinking water for example) in a very powerful way.

Do NOT be tempted to look at the map of their travails on pages 8-9! I made this mistake and it made the story very predictable. Yes - I know they got rescued so that much is known, but I didn't want to know every other significant point in summary (as detailed on the map), until after I'd got to that point in the prose.

A final point that annoyed me personally is that Dougal Robertson was not shy of criticising (or praising) others in this account; especially the former on poor Robin, the unfortunate, only non-family member caught up in the disaster.

I know I cannot begin to imagine the hardships and emotional toll such an event caused, but I definitely felt sorry for Robin in his depiction, and got the impression that the tale was rather one-sided in Dougal's favouritism towards his family.

As a matter of further interest, this book inspired me to purchase "The Grab Bag" by the Howorths, for when I sail again in the future.

Both books being useful and very interesting.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars An essential read for anyone sailing offshore. The bravery ..., 27 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Survive the Savage Sea (Sailing Classics) (Paperback)
An essential read for anyone sailing offshore. The bravery of Robertson and his family and crew oozes through his narrative which is both awe-inspiring and sobering given that we could only know their story because the family survived. The author delves deep into more than just grab bag contents, dinghy adaptations and fishing tactics. It's his insight into someone suppressing the fear of not reaching shore that makes this book so compelling.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Interesting but honest?, 27 Jan 2014
This review is from: SURVIVE THE SAVAGE SEA (Hardcover)
I have heard that one chap who was picked up and was on board tells of a different story....a bit like Captain Phillips. All is not what it sometimes seems perhaps?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars christmas present,from wife, 17 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Survive the Savage Sea (Sailing Classics) (Paperback)
I agree with her struggle to put it down but if she does I will continue reading it as it seems V-good!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars captivating, 23 Jun 2013
This review is from: SURVIVE THE SAVAGE SEA (Hardcover)
thiis true account of the Dougal family's 38 day struggle to survive stranded in the Pacific ocean on a tiny dinghy is simply captivating. The narrator, the father, Douugal, uses all his wit and will to survive dehydration and starvation and endless danger. Quite extraordinary.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Survive the Savage Sea (Sailing Classics)
Survive the Savage Sea (Sailing Classics) by Dougal Robertson (Paperback - 25 Jan 1994)
9.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews