Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beyond the limits of human capacity
Maurice and Maralyn Bailey wrote a book about an incredible adventure at sea, but most of all they proved that as a team, humans can face the worst and adapt to the most hostile environment. Sure, few of us would have had the physical and moral strength to spend six months on a leaking live raft drifting out into the vast Pacific, without any hope to be seen or found one...
Published on 5 Nov 2009 by Hans G. Hoser

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Just OK
Interesting story but not told particularly well in my oppinion. Of course the authors are survivors and not novelists but I didn't find this as good a book as it should have been. Their story is amazing but their telling of it isn't!
Published 13 months ago by D, G and H


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beyond the limits of human capacity, 5 Nov 2009
By 
Maurice and Maralyn Bailey wrote a book about an incredible adventure at sea, but most of all they proved that as a team, humans can face the worst and adapt to the most hostile environment. Sure, few of us would have had the physical and moral strength to spend six months on a leaking live raft drifting out into the vast Pacific, without any hope to be seen or found one day. But the Baileys showed us that it is possible. After several months, when they "had become part of the sea", both were convinced that they could have lived on that way forever, they didn't expect anything from the outside world anymore. Their story teaches us a lesson about humans, our unbelievable resources and our capacity to adapt - as a team. For those who think that +200 pages about drifting in a 2 m2 live raft might become monotonous, be assured that you'll enjoy every page!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An Exciting Read!, 27 Dec 1998
By A Customer
This review is from: 117 Days Adrift (World of Cruising) (Paperback)
I read this book in one sitting; it's quite a gripping experience to re-live the experience as the Bailey's hold out for an unparalleled 118 days in a rubber dinghy and raft in the middle of the Pacific. Will few supplies and slowly failing equipment, they keep improvising and somehow mentally hold it together long enough for the 8th (!) passing ship to finally spot them after almost 4 months adrift.
The only criticisms I have of this book are that they leave a few questions unanswered. Such as, did they not have a radio?! (Perhaps not standard in 1973?)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Heart warming, down to earth, 9 Aug 2012
By 
stew (Radstock, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This true story is such a wonderful antidote to the kind of Hollywood razzmatazz that editors and film makers so often feel is necessary to 'spice up' a real life narrative.
It reads as if it was written by a real person not a ghost writer and there are no distracting rhetorical flourishes. that said it is very well written and is a superb story. I suppose it fits into the survival story genre, and as such is an inspiring read. I'm not giving much away as the suspense is kind of spoiled by the title - no surprises there! However it's such a riveting, fascinating read that I have gone back to it many times over the years.
This story is one of quiet heroism, a gutsy, inventive tale of ordinary people finding themselves in extraordinary circumstances.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars good book, 22 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Another amazing book of incredible human resourcefullness and determination to survive !!
My only diappointment was that this book is too short (less that 200 pages from memory?) . I would have loved for them to elaborate a bit more on the journey before they had to abandoned the yacht. Maybe the authors intentions are to write another book in the future, in which they cover this?
All in all this is still well worth a read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Just OK, 7 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 117 Days Adrift (Hardcover)
Interesting story but not told particularly well in my oppinion. Of course the authors are survivors and not novelists but I didn't find this as good a book as it should have been. Their story is amazing but their telling of it isn't!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars survival, 10 Oct 2014
This is the remarkable story,written from their diaries of a couple,who set sail from Panama in 1973 for the 10 day voyage to the Galapagos Islands but after 6 days their yacht was hit by a whale and sank but they were lucky to escape with a dinghy and raft.
Although they sited several ships it was 117 days before they were rescued by a Korean fishing boat.
It was remarkable how they managed food (turtles and fish) and water(rain) but they were badly affected by sunburn and blisters.
A first class read with excellent illustrations-deserves 10 stars.
A good example of human fortitude.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Story - A must for anyone thinking of cursing, 29 July 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: 117 Days Adrift (World of Cruising) (Paperback)
I've read this book a couple of times. An amazing tale of not only how they servived physically but mentally.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A classic in sea survival, 16 May 2011
They were ordinary middle age couple (not some sportsmen or military personnel) and they survived 118 days from the sea without any help. They invent and improvised many ways to catch fish and provide enough drinking water.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Best book I ever read, 6 Aug 2014
Best book I ever read. Could not put it down. You might think what on earth would one find to write about whilst adrift at sea, but this book is rivieting and opens your eyes to man's endurance and will to stay alive.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Riveting, 12 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Riveting. It was fascinating how their life simply resolved to food and the possibility of rescue.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

117 Days Adrift (World of Cruising)
117 Days Adrift (World of Cruising) by Maurice Bailey (Paperback - 31 Dec 1992)
Used & New from: £0.45
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews