Customer Reviews


73 Reviews
5 star:
 (56)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


38 of 38 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Full marks for this modern fairy tale with a twist.
Princess Elizabeth is a modern day gal in love in the good old fashioned way with Prince Ronald until the dastardly dragon burns her castle to the ground and carries off her beloved. Despite everything she owns being burnt to ashes, she dons a paper bag and sets off to find the dragon and free Ronald. With great cunning Elizabeth outwits the conceited dragon and releases...
Published on 5 Dec. 2000 by janegambarotto@onetel.net.uk

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not the same
I love this story and there are great pictures, but sadly the story has been unnecessarily simplified for the board book version and is not a pleasure to read so we have gone back to a paper copy.
Published on 6 Dec. 2012 by JMF


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

38 of 38 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Full marks for this modern fairy tale with a twist., 5 Dec. 2000
Princess Elizabeth is a modern day gal in love in the good old fashioned way with Prince Ronald until the dastardly dragon burns her castle to the ground and carries off her beloved. Despite everything she owns being burnt to ashes, she dons a paper bag and sets off to find the dragon and free Ronald. With great cunning Elizabeth outwits the conceited dragon and releases Ronald, only to be told that he is not interested in her as she is not dressed in her regal finery and smells of smoke. Elizabeth, unlike the Prince, is able to see beyond the superficial and therefore decides that she won't marry him after all. The story is suitable to be read to children of around 5-7 age group, younger girls tend to be a little confused at the non-traditional ending. The tale is told with great wit, the characterization of the dragon is superb and the illustrations are delightful. This is altogether one of those rare gems; a story a parent can enjoy reading as much as the kids enjoy hearing it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Paper bag princess, 7 Oct. 2005
This review is from: The Paper Bag Princess (Munsch for Kids) (Paperback)
This review is by Class 3/2 from Westfield First School Hertfordshire
The Paperbag princess is an adventurous story for all ages! The story is funny, with lots of action and it is not like any other Princess story because Elizabeth is very brave and clever. We start in a castle and end in a cave. You will have to see if it is a 'happy ever after' by reading the book yourself.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One more single woman, 8 Jan. 2011
This review is from: The Paper Bag Princess (Munsch for Kids) (Paperback)
I bought this book as a present for a friend's daughter. At five years old she's perhaps a little young to read it herself but she can certainly understand it when it's read to her. I bought it because she wants to be a princess when she grows up and this book challenges the stereotypes of beauty and female submission. In this story the princess is the one who does the rescuing, and when the rescued prince rejects her because she's wearing only a paper bag - all her fine clothes having been burned by the dragon - she tells him where to get off.

I think it's a strong idea for young children and would heartily recommend it.

When I told a different friend about this book and that I had given it to a five year old, she commented, "Well done, you've just created another single woman in the world!"

Which I thought was funny!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Paper Bag Princess saves and dumps her abuser, 15 July 2011
Great book. My three year old loves it, which I'm very glad about, as it stars a confident, clever princess who saves the prince she loves. The prince is, in my daughter's words, "really very rude" on being saved, so she dumps him.

We talk about it, and she understands the main messages - you don't have to put up with abuse and that women can be clever, brave heroes who save the day.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fabulous book about courage and a girl's independence!, 2 Jun. 2002
By A Customer
This is a book that I buy for every friend who has a newborn girl. There are great messages about self-esteem, being resourceful and brave, and liking yourself just the way you are. It's one of my very favorite books ever. Great to encourage independent thinking in little girls.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Book Review of the Paper Bag Princess by Robert Munsch., 21 Oct. 2004
By A Customer
At the beginning of the story Princess Elizabeth wants to marry Prince Ronald. Then a dragon came and burnt their castle down. The dragon took Prince Ronald to his cave and he also burnt all her clothes. She looked for some clothes but could only find a paper bag!
Princess Elizabeth really wanted to find her prince. She found them in a cave and then saw the dragon! Read it yourself to find out what happened next.
We liked this book because it was really exciting when Princess Elizabeth knocked on the door, because we didn't know what would happen. It was interesting when the dragon flew around the world in ten seconds. It was very funny when the princess didn't have any clothes!
We give this book 10/10.
By Classes 6 and 7 at Whitfield School.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must for all daughters, neices etc., 29 Mar. 2000
By A Customer
The book disposes of the stereotype princess and teaches that girls can be resourceful and brave without losing their femininity. Children will love it from age three and appreciate the humour as they grow older
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the Best, 5 Oct. 2009
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is an all time favourite, a great little story well illustrated. If you have a young daughter, buy it for her. If you don't, buy it anyway. OK, it's a PC tale, even to the extent that no dragons are harmed, but the final page brings a smile every time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Nice twist but unbending and uncompromising, 6 July 2013
By 
Sarah Durston (London) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Paper Bag Princess (Munsch for Kids) (Paperback)
I was pointed towards this book by a number of feminist websites who advocate it as a good book for young girls as it isn't the usual princess fare. In the story, Princess Elizabeth is going to marry prince Ronald until a dragon comes and burns down her castle, burns her clothes and flies off with Ronald. Elizabeth must dress in the only clothes she can find (a paper bag) and go and rescue her Prince. She manages to outsmart the dragon but because Ronald is critical of her appearance she decides she won't marry him.

I understand the appeal of the book; this is a princess who goes and gets what she wants but I found the ending a bit too abrupt and thought that she could have been a little less rude! I don't know if it is good to turn round and call someone a `bum' even if they have just insulted you; I would prefer to teach my children to rise above the comments made about them and maintain their dignity.

It's better than the usual pink princess rubbish but I would still rather the book had remained positive in tone!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Not just for girls!, 24 Jun. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Paper Bag Princess (Munsch for Kids) (Paperback)
This book is fantastic, the message in it is clear. I have read many reviews on this (prior to buying) which say this is a must read for girls. I'd say indeed it is, but equally so for our sons to read. The message is clear and doesn't have to be genderised. The value of a person is in their actions not in their attire or social position.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Paper Bag Princess (Munsch for Kids)
The Paper Bag Princess (Munsch for Kids) by Robert Munsch (Paperback - 3 Sept. 2009)
£3.61
Usually dispatched within 1 to 2 months
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews