Customer Reviews


36 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:
 (6)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars I was never bored reading this book and learned a lot !
This book has two parts: Eight Sabbats for Witches' and 'Witches Way '. The first part of the book ' Eight Sabbats for Witches ' gives a more detailed insight of working in a coven.Detailed explanation of how to do the ritual for each of the eight sabbats, and a detailed explanation of the opening and closing rituals and the great rite. A good source of information...
Published on 15 Dec. 2001

versus
62 of 66 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Whoops...
I made the mistake of thinking this was equally applicable to the solo Witch. I was wrong. This is really coven oriented, although it does have many useful reference points for all Witches. However, the book has a 'coven is better' attitude to Witchcraft which I really don't like, and hardly mentions the solo Witch. It really should be the Gardnerian Witches Bible, as...
Published on 15 Aug. 2001 by sticky_wicked@hotmail.com


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars I was never bored reading this book and learned a lot !, 15 Dec. 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: The Witches' Bible: The Complete Witches' Handbook (Paperback)
This book has two parts: Eight Sabbats for Witches' and 'Witches Way '. The first part of the book ' Eight Sabbats for Witches ' gives a more detailed insight of working in a coven.Detailed explanation of how to do the ritual for each of the eight sabbats, and a detailed explanation of the opening and closing rituals and the great rite. A good source of information for those of us planning to join a coven one day , and for solitaries who are curious of how working in a coven is like.
The second part of the book ' Witches Way' contains lots of information about the witches tools, casting the circle, raising power, healing, and a lot more. I like the way the Farrars write - clear, simple and personal.( it seems that they are talking to you while you read the book ).Footnotes, and appendices provided additional information which are very helpful specialy for beginners. Reading this book increased my knowledge about the Craft a great deal .It made me feel good to be a woman. It made realise that the Earth itself is alive, not just a pale blue planet revolving around the sun. It made me realise the power I have in myself , in my mind and in my heart. This book is definitely one of my treasured books on the Craft.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


31 of 32 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars By far the best..., 7 Jun. 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: The Witches' Bible: The Complete Witches' Handbook (Paperback)
...book on the Old Religion I've ever read. Unlike many of the 'how-to' guides on the market today 'The Witches' Bible' is highly intelligent, poetic, practical and extremely readable. It was one of the first books recommended to me when I was starting out six years ago, from a member of an old Witch family, and it contains far more information than could be found within most of the more 'modern' books. As I solitary, I had no problem adapting the rituals; the chants and songs were inspiring, and the second part of the book contains information specifically for the solo witch. Amazing value for money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


62 of 66 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Whoops..., 15 Aug. 2001
This review is from: The Witches' Bible: The Complete Witches' Handbook (Paperback)
I made the mistake of thinking this was equally applicable to the solo Witch. I was wrong. This is really coven oriented, although it does have many useful reference points for all Witches. However, the book has a 'coven is better' attitude to Witchcraft which I really don't like, and hardly mentions the solo Witch. It really should be the Gardnerian Witches Bible, as thats essentially what it is, more traditional Witchcraft than Neo-Wicca. I also resent the view on skycladding. The very essence of the Pagan religions are that they are open and non-dogmatic, and here you have some know-it-all saying skyclad workings are better and your magick wont be as good if you don't? I would rather be outside in nature, wearing clothes, than stuck inside a house skyclad. Definitely one for the Gardnerians and probably Alexandrians, but perhaps not for eclectic, more modern influenced Wiccans.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Not for the feeble minded, 28 Dec. 2006
By 
J. C. Chamberlain (Manchester, Cheshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Witches' Bible: The Complete Witches' Handbook (Paperback)
If you are looking for a book that details the complete histories of the Sabbats as well as valuable information regarding certain types of rituals (not spells) then this book is ideal.

This is not a book for a beginner or someone vaguely looking at witchcraft, it is a no frills book that gives the facts. It strongly focuses on Celtic coven magic but it's much more valuable then that.

The most important thing i take from this book is that it has helped me prepare on a greater level for each of the Sabbats.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 18 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Everybit worth the long read!, 15 May 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: The Witches' Bible: The Complete Witches' Handbook (Paperback)
Yes, it was a long book, and it does seem intimidating because of the many footnotes throughout, but I'd advise anyone to stick at it. It IS very coven orientated, but I gained a huge amount from it even though I'm a solitary witch. It's packed full of information, not just about witchcraft, but from where the traditions of today came from. Most of all, I found the info on how Christianity was introduced over the top of the old pagan beliefs facinating - you'll be shocked at the whole history! It's true there's sometimes too much info to handle, and even now I feel the need to read it again to let it sink in, but anyone who disgards this book purely due to it's factual content is missing out! I'd much rather read this book 10 times and learn something historical than read another airy-fairy book about the craft, which doesn't really tell you anything you haven't already read in a hundred other books. Read it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Maybe one of the few you need....*****, 1 Sept. 2003
This review is from: The Witches' Bible: The Complete Witches' Handbook (Paperback)
A very in-depth and well-researched book. Lots of information
from basic to advanced.
Celebrations and the calender year through history of the different schools of witchcraft.To candle magik and astral projection.
Theres alot here to get through, but is useful as a reference guide as well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The definitive guide to Witchcraft, 23 April 2001
By 
Daniel Griffith "Chattering Magpie" (Derbyshire UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Witches' Bible: The Complete Witches' Handbook (Paperback)
This book has been around sometime as Eight Sabbats and the Witches Way. Two great books for the price of one is truly great value. This book is not a beginners guide, don't buy this if your into Teen Witch. This book is for the more serious and experienced practioner of magick and the religious aspects of the Craft. The rites are dramatic and can be complicated, it takes confidence and experience to adapt them for personal use. This is certainly true if you are a solitary. This book gives indepth background to the sabbats, their history and folklore. It is a classic and stands head and shoulders above much that has been published in recent years.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars WItch Craft Theory or bordom?, 13 Mar. 2003
This review is from: The Witches' Bible: The Complete Witches' Handbook (Paperback)
One the whole this is a fantastic book. Clearly outlining the Thoery and practice of this traditional branch Modern Witch Craft. The Ritual description and explination are fantastic.
One critiscim, which isnt really a criticism, is the shere detail and complexitiy. For the beginner it can all seem a bit danting, and as is expected it inly deals which a specicfic branch of Wicca, however it is a book I would highly recomend reading in conjunction with other and it takes some of the flash and spin away from more modern and 'teen focused'titles.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An interesting insight to a fully working coven,, 8 May 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: The Witches' Bible: The Complete Witches' Handbook (Paperback)
but I found this book very unusual (for me) about the way it has such quite ridiculously long rituals, without really explaining about why. I enjoyed exploring the other usages of Wicca, but I do feel that this book isn't really for non-Gardnerians, unless they are studying Wicca as a second- or third-degree Witch. I enjoy learning about all aspects of the Craft of the Wise, so this made quite interesting reading. It makes useful reading...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Possibly my favourite Witchcraft/wicca book, 5 May 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: The Witches' Bible: The Complete Witches' Handbook (Paperback)
You can't go wrong in buying this book. The information is abundant, and it is styled in an intellectual manner. This book isn't for beginners, and Lord knows we already have enough books devoted to them. Wicca 202 books are a rarity nowadays, with eclectic "easy bake" witchcraft becoming more and more popular. This book keeps the Alexandrian and Gardnerian interest alive and kicking, keep Wicca traditional.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Witches' Bible: The Complete Witches' Handbook
The Witches' Bible: The Complete Witches' Handbook by Stewart Farrar (Paperback - 30 Jan. 1997)
Used & New from: £3.63
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews