Customer Reviews


37 Reviews
5 star:
 (25)
4 star:
 (11)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


58 of 58 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant
An interesting, informative and well written book by a man obviously passionate about the subject. Contains sections on things like which woods to use, which tools to get and how to achieve razor sharp chisels and knives. The projects start out fairly simple and progress in complexity with some great tips and beautiful examples along the way. A must-have for any budding...
Published on 29 April 2010 by James Byron Sipson

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not for the real novice!
Bought as christmas present and took a peek.... Good book but perhaps a little confusing for introduction to wood carving!
Published 4 months ago by Edna May


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

58 of 58 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 29 April 2010
By 
James Byron Sipson (Lincolnshire , UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
An interesting, informative and well written book by a man obviously passionate about the subject. Contains sections on things like which woods to use, which tools to get and how to achieve razor sharp chisels and knives. The projects start out fairly simple and progress in complexity with some great tips and beautiful examples along the way. A must-have for any budding wood carver.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


42 of 42 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars New to Wood Carving?, 14 Oct. 2010
This review is from: How to Carve Wood: A Book of Projects and Techniques (Fine Woodworking Book) (Paperback)
This is a very good book for people new to carving in wood. It identifies the tools you are likely to need but doesn't push you to buy everything that's out there. It provides good advice on how to sharpen your tools and which woods are best for various types of carving. It provides some basic projects for the four different types of carving: whittling, chip carving, relief carving and sculpture. A very useful book for beginners.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great book, 13 Jun. 2011
By 
Martin Brocklebank (Milton Keynes UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: How to Carve Wood: A Book of Projects and Techniques (Fine Woodworking Book) (Paperback)
This book tackles all the would be problems faced by a new wood carver. It really is helpful and it is written in easy to understand language. Nearly everything has been covered and I now feel more confident in my wood carving to tackle some bigger projects.
A good Buy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good - but American, 27 Oct. 2011
By 
Amanda (Dereham, Norfolk, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: How to Carve Wood: A Book of Projects and Techniques (Fine Woodworking Book) (Paperback)
I bought this book to help me to take up wood carving; for starters I needed advice on everything from tools to wood. There's plenty of advice on these topics in this book but it's all relevant to the American market which doesn't exactly suit what's available in the UK. For advice on more universal topics such as design, the actual carving and say, tool care, it's very good indeed and makes a good starting point for anyone wanting to try wood carving.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


35 of 37 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars xmas present, 3 Jan. 2010
By 
M. G. Langley (Wrexham. Wales) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: How to Carve Wood: A Book of Projects and Techniques (Fine Woodworking Book) (Paperback)
Was bought as a present for my brother. He says it is the best woodworking book he has ever seen.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Useful reference book, 27 Feb. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: How to Carve Wood: A Book of Projects and Techniques (Fine Woodworking Book) (Paperback)
This book is great for beginners such as myself. I have done a little carving a while back and needed something to renew my interest. This is highly recommended for both beginners and skilled persons alike. It shows basic and leads up to the more ambitious projects if you want to go there. A really useful reference that can be called on for ideas and technical information whenever necessary from tools to instructions. If you want a book with a wealth of info about carving wood; buy it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Highly recommended, 5 Sept. 2011
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: How to Carve Wood: A Book of Projects and Techniques (Fine Woodworking Book) (Paperback)
Really good book, very helpful especially when you are a true novice like me. Shows you different techniques and styles and tells you the right tools to purchase for hat particular style.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Good Introduction to Woodcarving, 29 July 2011
By 
Amazon Customer (Perthshire, Scotland) - See all my reviews
This review is from: How to Carve Wood: A Book of Projects and Techniques (Fine Woodworking Book) (Paperback)
A very good introduction to woodcarving which includes sections on choice of woods, selection of tools and the importance of sharpening. The projects progress rapidly from simple to very complex with little in between, but effectively introduce a wide variety of woodcarving methods from whittling through chip carving and on to relief, wildlife, lettering and architectural carving. One star deducted because of the jump from basic to advanced techniques without allowing for the consolidation of skills along the way.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great information, 27 Jun. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: How to Carve Wood: A Book of Projects and Techniques (Fine Woodworking Book) (Paperback)
I was very satisfied with this purchase. Generally I purchase books in Kindle format but for this I bought the physical version. It was a previously owned book but arrived in near perfect condition. It contains plenty information for the beginner. There are sections on tools, sharpening, woods, finishes and various techniques. I didn't quite agree with the sharpening methods described as I had been taught to sharpen my tools differently. For that reason I have only given four stars, although I'm sure that the method described works perfectly well. All in all I am satisfied with my purchase and feel that its value will increase as I work my way through the projects.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not for the real novice!, 10 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: How to Carve Wood: A Book of Projects and Techniques (Fine Woodworking Book) (Paperback)
Bought as christmas present and took a peek.... Good book but perhaps a little confusing for introduction to wood carving!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

How to Carve Wood: A Book of Projects and Techniques (Fine Woodworking Book)
£13.19
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews