Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


83 of 84 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars 3 books for the price of one
In the 260 pages of text this book contains, you'll actually get 3 books.
The first one is mostly Tad James' work and discusses the notion of "time line therapy", which are essentially NLP techniques in which a time line is used (the basic idea it to look for part occurrences of a problem that announces itself today, and "change" one's subjective...
Published on 20 Sept. 2001 by Amazon Customer

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars Two Stars
Hard work to read
Published 5 months ago by Tim Savidge


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

83 of 84 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars 3 books for the price of one, 20 Sept. 2001
By 
Amazon Customer (Eeklo, Vlaanderen (Belgium, Europe)) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Time Line Therapy and the Basis of Personality (Paperback)
In the 260 pages of text this book contains, you'll actually get 3 books.
The first one is mostly Tad James' work and discusses the notion of "time line therapy", which are essentially NLP techniques in which a time line is used (the basic idea it to look for part occurrences of a problem that announces itself today, and "change" one's subjective experience, in order to live one without the problem - for instance, if one has a phobia of mice, go back to the first experience you had of being scared of mice, etc). You'll find more extended versions of the ideas discussed in this part in other NLP books, such as Bandler's Magic in Action, his "Using your Brain for a change" or the book "Magic demystified" by Lewis & Puchellic.
The second and the third part are mostly Wyatt Woodsmall's work. The second part deals with meta-programs, and borrows heavily on the MBTI (see Myers' "Gifts Differing) and on the work of Leslie Cameron and her students (such as Rodger Bailey) - a more extended version of that work can be found in "Words that Change Minds". In the part on "values" you'll find the Graves model, which in meanwhile also has a full book dedicated to it, namely "Spiral Dynamics" by Don Beck and Christopher Cowan.
Unless you are already specialized in the topics covered in this book, you'll find them introduced in a readable way here. That by itself makes this book a good place to start. Afterwards you can always find more precise information in to the other books I referenced here.
The only reason why the book didn't get 5 stars is because it fails to quote some of the sources they got the material from, especially in the area of meta-programs. The fact that nobody filed a claim against the authors for that is probably the best proof that this material in now in "the public domain".
Patrick E.C. Merlevede -- co-author of "7 Steps to Emotional Intelligence"
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


27 of 28 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A good place to start to explore TLT, 12 April 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Time Line Therapy and the Basis of Personality (Paperback)
As described in another review above this is essentially three books within one cover.
The first provides an insight into the practice and application of TLT and is an easy read. It is informative and straight forward without oversimplifying the subject.
The second and third cover Meta Programs and Values in a more clinical way and are more what one would consider reference works.
For those new to the subject I'd say this was a good place to start.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


30 of 33 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This is THE book for Meta Programs and Values, 9 Mar. 2004
This review is from: Time Line Therapy and the Basis of Personality (Paperback)
It’s useful to read an explanation of Time-lines from a different angle. Very interesting are the connections between “Anglo-European” time and Through Time and “Arabic” time and In Time. Perhaps “pre-“ and “post-industrial time” would be better labels. It makes one wonder about the stressful obsession with time in the industrialised world vis-à-vis the ancient, more natural approach to time.
This is the book for Meta Programs and Values among all the literature I’ve read so far. It’s fascinating and explains these concepts very well. I feel some experiments coming on.
The therapy transcript at the end is also really interesting. This is the first time I’ve encountered NLP taking a client back into the womb and into karma and past lives.
Another helpful point is that, having never studied Gestalt therapy, I finally understand the meaning of the word “gestalt”, at least when used in NLP. Some clients, when ask to pick a specific memory, come up with a generalised image of many memories collapsed together – particularly if they are Through Time. I find I get this a lot and it has made some techniques difficult for me in the past.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Started me on an enlightening path!, 20 May 2010
By 
N. Horwood (Surrey, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Time Line Therapy and the Basis of Personality (Paperback)
This book was the first I read on Time Line work as a pre-requisite to further study in becoming a Master Practitioner of NLP, Time Line Therapy(TM) and Hypnotherapy. I found it laid things out in a generally logical and understandable way and really made me begin to realise how such techniques can impact people, when used correctly. If this book had not been so written, I may not have done the training and found how truly impressive the techniques are.

4 stars - simply because it could do with an update, to show the improved modern scripts for TLT as now taught by Tad James and people such as David Shephard here in the UK. The method has moved on somewhat since the book - and although the principal still holds true, there have been 'tweaks' to the scripting and methodology.

A very worthy read!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Time Line Therapy, 31 Oct. 2010
By 
C. M. Worthington (Lancs, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Time Line Therapy and the Basis of Personality (Paperback)
I used this book on recommendation from a Time Line Therapy trainer before I did a course. It was extremely useful and will be a great source of reference for me in the future as a I develop my own skills as a Practitioner.

It is easy to read and well set out so it flows nicely.

It really is learning from the experts who have written it - the next best thing to being with them!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing Book, 20 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Time Line Therapy and the Basis of Personality (Paperback)
For anyone either studying or practicing hypnotherapy this is a must, easy to read and packed with extremely useful information
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 29 Mar. 2014
By 
D. (London, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Time Line Therapy and the Basis of Personality (Paperback)
On time & just as described. Thank U!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Two Stars, 28 Nov. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Time Line Therapy and the Basis of Personality (Paperback)
Hard work to read
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 36 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Tedious and Out of Date, 17 July 2006
By 
Mr. Ross Maynard (Glasgow, Scotland) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Time Line Therapy and the Basis of Personality (Paperback)
I am sorry, I really do not understand the other reviews for this book. This is the original book on Time Line Therapy, but, I am afraid, I do not like it at all. The Time Line Therapy scripts are out of date, and I find the stuff on meta-programs and values immensely tedious. There is much better coverage of all this elsewhere. This is one of the worst (of many) NLP books I have read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 27 Mar. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Time Line Therapy and the Basis of Personality (Paperback)
excellent book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Time Line Therapy and the Basis of Personality
Time Line Therapy and the Basis of Personality by Wood (Paperback - 1 Jun. 1989)
£27.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews